We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal every time.”

Irises Cafe and Wine Bar
Ranked #14 of 129 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: American, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Walking distance from City marina, many gluten-free options, seasonal outdoor seating, made-from-scratch menu featuring local beef & produce, great burgers, steaks, seafood & salads, martini night Wednesday & live music Thursday & Friday
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good meal every time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is our Thanksgiving place. They have as good a buffet as any place in the area that day. We also go at other times for the regular menu. It's always good, including the specials. Also, their bakery, Delish, is next door and very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ocnorth_western
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    51
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“come for the food- stay for Jay and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Sure, the body needs food but music is "food for the soul" and in that regard you can overindulge every Thursday night when "JAY AND FRIENDS" make musical magic happen from 7 to 10. Jay Lesage, singing solo, is a class act at the keyboard and he attracts talent like you wouldn't believe. A trio soon becomes the "magnificent seven" when the ladies with harmony to spare grab a mic and soon you've got a full course of classical flute gone modern, guitar better'n most and more great music than the soul can digest in just 3 short hours. AND NO BREAKS !! YAY !! These folks know how to have fun and it's very infectious. Bon appetit music lovers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top notch resturant. One of the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wednesday nite is Martini nite can get busy but can be a great time. Resturant serves excellent fare the food is high quality and the menu changes regularly. We enjoy stopping in for nice romantic dinner and also going with freinds to listen to live music on Fri and Sat

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STEPHENW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top pick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been to martini night and snack hours with the girls, chicken nachos and sweet potato fries with wasabi are not your ordinary nachos and fries!

I also go regularly with my boyfriend, we love the drink selection and the atmosphere. Watched some live music at the bar one night, nice touch! My personal favorite is the lamb burger and Malbec. Irises is the place to go!!

Helpful?
Thank Kbhikes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sorry, but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was looking forward to coming to dinner here with some friends on a nice early summer evening; we could've have eaten outside but chose to not brave the elements, which quite a few people were. Nothing was particularly bad, but neither was anything, from the atmosphere to the service and the food, particularly above average. The food was well prepared but not all that tasty, the music was too loud, and ironically the AC was blasting so it was colder inside than out. Even the music, which might have been more appealing to the restaurant's bar crowd, was pretty loud and frankly, not all that good. Iris's has a nice location in downtown but they need to improve the elements that make a restaurant special.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irises Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Irises Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing