We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston Lake NY
1 review
“Great relaxing stay.”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

The room was neat and clean. We stayed in the suite with hot tub. The hot tub was large, clean, and relaxing. The staff was extremely friendly. We had a problem with our vehicle when ready to depart. They offered a jumpstart and offered us our room until our vehicle was ready. This hotel was by far one of the best ones we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwileone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    210
    59
    16
    26
See reviews for
301
222
26
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed here for one night in December 2009 when we were passing through the area. It was right off I-87, with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The front desk staff was welcoming and friendly, and the room was great! It was spotlessly clean, and the sliding door made it really easy to take care of our dog. We were a little anxious about traveling with a pet but the hotel made it a breeze. The bed was really comfortable and there were tons of pillows. Breakfast the next morning was great too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iztravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Beware. If you post a bad review, the owner of this motel will contact you and harass you. I took down my first review, but I am writing another one.

I went to Plattsburgh for the weekend with my 2 teenage daughters, and 1 of their teenage friends. The amenities in Plattsburgh are nothing great, and this seemed to be one of the better choices. We were so wrong.

The room we were placed in was right across from a boys hockey team. They were so loud and noisy and no employee would stop them. Not only were they loud, but the parents were smoking and drinking beer in the hallway.

I will admit it. I smoke. I smoked one single cigarette in the bathroom with the fan on, and then I went outside as my daughters their friend were complaining. One cigarette could not cause such a stench that the linens had to be dry cleaned. Give me a break. I was charged $350 dollars because of that fake charge. They will steal your money. The manager was very rude when I called to ask about the suspicious charge. I did not recieve any phone calls, all I got was a 350$ dollar charge on my credit card bill.

My guess is that they saw me smoking outside and abused that.

This place is shady, and for the nearly $500 we spent there ($350 unwillingly, have you).. we could have stayed in an actual hotel, not a motel. I will never be staying there again. It already smelled when we came in, the decor is outdated, and I would much rather stay at a Mariott or HIlton in Burlington just across the water.

Keep in mind, this is just my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Very conveniently located off I87. Comfortable, clean bed. A beautiful large indoor pool with all of the ammenities...towels, chairs, games for the kids. The breakfast was more than decent. A huge variety of foods to choose from. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAN1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My family and I stayed here with another family and we booked poolside rooms (4 adults and 4 children total). There is an indoor heated pool and they have rooms that have a balcony door that opens directly to the pool area. I read all the reviews ahead of time and was aware that this hotel allows pets, but was not aware that pets are allowed in ALL rooms (i would expect that they would have designated rooms set aside for those traveling with pets due to allergies, noise, etc.). I guess it's my fault for not asking when I booked the room...just assumed that dogs would not be allowed in poolside rooms since the door from our room opens to a balcony in the pool area. My youngest son is allergic to dogs and cats and suffered the entire night. The person staying next to us had a dog in their room and a few times even brought him out to the pool/deck area outside our balcony door. My son is also very afraid of dogs and would not leave our balcony to go down the steps to the pool because the dog was right at the entrance to the pool. When I questioned the desk at check out, they said their policy is to try to keep dogs on first floor rooms if possible, but they will allow them in any rooms. Personally, I think poolside rooms should not allow pets at all since other travelers should not have to contend with a pet in the pool area. I wonder if they would allow pets to attend the continental breakfast as well??

All in all, a great hotel and we had no other complaints other than the pet problem and the fact that the pillows were the worst I have ever encountered. I will be sure to bring mine from home next time. The poolside room are wonderful and very convenient with children since you don't have to trek all the way down to the pool (you are already there). Plus, the adults could enjoy time on the balcony outside our room while still watching our children in the pool and game room. Continental breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nytraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I went to that place last weekend and it was more than great. My kids loved the inside pool with towel service. Their continental breakfast is more than accurate and we had very confortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascalou666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Our midget (high school age) hockey team stayed here for a recent tournament in Rouse's Point. The hotel has apparently done some upgrading from previous negative comments, as we were pleasantly surprised. There was a Hilton-type feel to the rooms, from the bedding, to the arched shower curtain rod, to the fan-folded facecloths and the cookies at check-in. We had a ground floor room, with a sliding door to the parking lot which made loading the car much easier. Upper floors had balconies on which players could air out their hockey equipment. The only down side was non-soundproofed rooms. One of the other hockey teams was quite noisy all night long. The pool and office/computer room were well-used by our youth. The two restaurants on site were very convenient. The morning full breakfast was wonderful. We made use of the free wireless internet. All in all, a mostly pleasant experience (absent the noisy hockey families).

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roomwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#5 of 14 in Plattsburgh
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Plattsburgh

Property: Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Address: 446 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6519 (Formerly Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield Hotel Plattsburgh
Best Western At Smithfield
Best Western Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing