We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for Lake Clamplain area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Sauveur, Qc, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Lake Clamplain area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was the only one we found online at the time of our weekend away and we went with the BW reputation. We were not disappointed. It was clean, comfy and easy to get in and out of. The room was really spacious and there was a mini-fridge. Breakfast was as expected, a buffet with eggs, bacon and lots of fruit choices and yogurts. There is also a waffle maker for those who are interested. We don't need more than that when heading out on the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annied01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your kind comments on TripAdvisor. I hope we have an opportunity to serve you again on one of your road trips.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    205
    58
    16
    25
See reviews for
290
214
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed one night at this inn on our summer trip to Montreal. It has an impressive indoor swimming pool, by far the best indoor pool in all the hotels of its class. Kids loved it. The rooms a bit dated but the owner said they were in the process of upgrading the rooms. The free continental breakfast served quality items in a roomy breakfast room.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this hotel so you may want a room in the ground floor for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I appreciate the time you use to provide feedback on my property through TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the pool and yes we have quite a few changes coming up in a few weeks. Construction of an elevator starts next week and we will be installing new public carpeting in two weeks. We expect shipment to arrive of 70 rooms of new furniture in a few weeks.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stay at the this place about 20 times a year and each stay is for anywhere from 2 to 4 days at a time. Best Western would not give us our points for all our stays. They said the changed over the system and all our points could not be found. My parents also could not use their points at this hotel. So, don't bother with the points card and all that. It's just another scam like all the rest. Rooms are expensive and not negotiable like at the Comfort Inn. The only major complaints would be that they gym is outdated and it needs a lot of work. Less cardio equipment and more weights. My wife and I both workout daily and we have to walk across the street to the comfort inn and use their gym. One of the janitors gave us crap for having a plastic cup of wine in the shallow part of the pool. We were alone and we are adults and I think my wife can handle her glass of wine. I find it strange that the staff use the pool area to cut acroos to the rooms on the other side instead of walking around through the hall. Every few minutes the janitors and staff will walk back and forth right by the pool.

Worst thing that happened was my wife getting locked outside in her bikini in April. My wife went to sit by the pool and I went to the gym. When I got back about 1 hour later she was gone. I checked the room and pool area, but she was nowhere to be found. After about 30 minutes of looking I found her outside on the pool patio baging on the glass doors. She went outside for a cigarette and the women from the front desk locked the glass doors. It was 2 o'clock in the afternoon! My wife banged on the glass doors but she did not notice and she left the area. She had no towel and did not want to walk all the way around the building to the front desk with no clothes or shoes. She said she almost froze out there. I let the front desk guy know what happened and he laughed. He thought it was pretty funny.

Otherwise things are good at the Best Western. Staff is really nice and rooms seem o.k. Pool area should have some current music and not the elevator stuff.

Room Tip: Stay pool side if you can afford it. They are always empty. They should drop the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and commenting about my facility on TripAdvisor.

I will attempt to determine the rationale on your reward points and correct any procedure or misunderstandings with our staff. That said there are policies and procedures we must follow to award and redeem points that are set up and published by Best Western International and we do follow them. The upgrade of our Property Management System had nothing to do with any problems you had with the reward system. I assure you I am not scamming you or any other guests.

Our rates are established for taking into account seasonal variances, numerous rate plans and programs as well as contractual rates for businesses that use our facility very frequently. We follow those rules as it seems to satisfy the vast majority of our guests and provides both our staff and guests with what I call rate integrity. I am sorry you were not happy with this.

Our gym is sized for the use of our hotel guest's only. My friend who operates the Comfort Inn has his facility open to the public and charges admission and fees to the general public for the use of that facility, We have commercial quality equipment consistent of three treadmills, elliptical, recumbent bicycle and a multi-station universal. I am sorry you feel it is not sufficient.

New York State law governing the use of our pool requires us to notify guests that alcoholic beverages in the pool is not allowed. I am sorry you felt the maintenance man was not addressing this properly and I will take appropriate corrective action to correct if he was not being polite. The staff has been encouraged to walk through the pool area as part of our pool safety plan. Since our pool is for the use of hotel guests only and not open to the public I want the area to be observed as much as possible.

I am sorry your wife was locked out of the pool area in April. Since the pool area is kept at the same temperature as the water at 84 degrees we do keep the sliding doors closed and locked during the late fall, winter and early spring. Having them open causes a huge draft in the pool and this is why our front desk attendant closed the door. I am sure she did not do so to lock your wife out. I apologize if the front desk attendant laughed at the situation and I will take appropriate corrective action to correct his behavior

I am sorry you do not like the background music I offer but glad you find us OK and our staff nice.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauguay
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

staff very professional and courteous, perfectly situated near all major stores, breakfast bar has everything a person could want, keeping in mind it is not a large eatery, grounds are well kept, the eatery in back of the hotel has two sides I encourage everyone to try both sides. last comment enjoy yourself. oh pool was great larger than most.

Room Tip: situated along major routes but very little traffic noise day or night best sleep I had at a hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for using TripAdvisor and your kind comments about my property. I am glad you enjoyed the Ground Round Restaurant and the pool. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

B/W Plattsburgh NY is my number one hotel stop for the whole entire NE., staff sets the standard on how their hotel should be ran an maintained. After I re-enter the U.S. from Canada. Plattsburgh is my one and only hotel destination ounce I return. Thanks again for another outstanding stay an visit. Looking forward to my next visit. Shaun F..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It is always nice to have you return as a frequent guest. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the staff and their efforts in providing a clean and friendly environment.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is well maintained. Our room (113) was very quiet even though the Interstate is just a stone's throw away. Comfortable bed & adequate hot breakfast. Close to the Champlain shopping mall. Happy Campers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for commenting on the quietness of the Inn and comfort of the bed set. I also appreciate you using TripAdvisor to comment on your stay. This is very helpful to the hospitality industry and i know it takes time for one to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinebeck, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Inn at Smithfield in Plattsburgh is one of the best! Great pool, great fitness center, helpful staff, took my dogs with no problems, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, good rates and close to everything in Plattsburgh. I go to Plattsburgh at least 10 times a year and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your continued business, and for using TripAdvisor to provide feedback to us.

I am glad you and your dogs are comfortable and enjoy your stay.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#4 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
#8 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Plattsburgh

Property: Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Address: 446 Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield Hotel Plattsburgh
Best Western At Smithfield
Best Western Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing