We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely courteous staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Plattsburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Eastsound, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely courteous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a 3 day Labor Day weekend here, to avoid being on the roads. Though the hotel was very busy with 3 wedding parties, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The room was spotless and quiet, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was excellent with a good variety of both hot and cold items. The pool was a good size for actually swimming and was very, very clean. All in all, we could not have found a better place to stay for the 3 days - we are on our way from Washington State to Newfoundland and really needed a good break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
WOW you are on quite a trip from Washington State to Newfoundland. Thanks for staying with us and providing input on your stay. I hope you had a great trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    203
    58
    16
    25
See reviews for
284
212
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kahnawake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a very good experience, spent two nights at hotel. Staff are very friendly, helpful, rooms are very clean, beds are very comfortable with lots of pillows. Have a breakfast bar, coffee tea available at all hours. Swimming pool is great, clean at all times and easy to access, exercise room and sitting area with computer access in lobby.

Room Tip: Can get rooms pool side if enjoy being right next to pool and games.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for using TripAdvisor to provide comments to the public and to me as owner. It helps all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I always look for a BW hotel when in NY State. Have not tried BW in other states yet. I like the pool very much. It’s very kid-friendly, but I wish it had a bathroom attached to it. We prefer the suite but the little kids don’t like being separated from us (grandparents) at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Potsdam_Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the pool with the Grandchildren. Your suggestion about bathrooms is valid but unfortunately at this point difficult if not impossible to add one in the pool area. We have 12 pool side rooms and the pool is centered in the middle of the property that makes it a little more convenient.
Thanks for using TripAdvisor and i wish you safe travels for you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I think when something is broke it should be fixed right away not ignored. It is a real inconvenenience to have to walk from room 247 all the way to the front desk because You cant get into Your room. The front desk person said they would have it fixed. When I returned from work it was still broken and it took Me at least 6 tries before I got into My room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am sorry you had a problem with your key card in entering your room. I can assure you it was not my intention to not listen to you. Seeing that I know the room number I can research and see what we did to fix your problem with the lock. A log is kept at the front desk so that we can look back and follow through.
Please feel free to contact me with further details at the hotel
Thank you for using TripAdvisor and safe travels to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for move-in weekend for my college student. Room was spacious. Pool looked big and nice and actually clean. But we didn't go into pool or use it. Rooms were nice. I loved the "clean tv remote" control which was encased all in plastic so that it can be thrown in a dishwasher or something (usually I bring a ziplock bag cause the remote has many many many many germs.

The room seemed outdated. The AC was old and loud. The room walls were very thin...we heard everything going on in the room next to us.

Breakfast was very crowded. There weren't enough tables. They had outdoor seating as well that was full. When I go down there at 8 a.m. the wasn't any coffee in the urns. I had to find someone to ask them for coffee. That seemed quite ridiculous. The "hot" food bins were empty. A person finally showed up that worked in this area and was very consumed with filling the yogurt and cereal stuff....not the hot stuff.

It served it's purpose...but I'd rather stay at the Hampton Inn there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debdoodleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to us through TripAdvisor. While I am glad your stay was OK please feel free to contact me at the property with any suggestions on how I might improve your impression of my property.
Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have spent mulitple nights in multiple hotels across the US (and Europe) and our room (130) was well above average. While the hotel is not new, it appears to be well maintained. The reception staff folks were friendly and very helpfull with directions. We will definately return on our way back from Canada.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will stay with us again upon your return from a trip to Canada,

Thanks you for acknowledging our efforts to keep the property contemporary and clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in Room 255 or 6 - I don't remember. But the room we had is HUGE! My little one had the space to stretch out and play in the room. My wife and I were happy.

Everything in the room was professional and in top condition. We had stayed in another Best Western in the same trip earlier and this one is definitely better.

Breakfast was included and it was nice, with many options - we went back to the waffle iron multiple times.

Unfortunately we were so busy sightseeing that we did not spend any time in the pool, which looks very very nice. I wish we had more time.

We enjoyed staying at this hotel and will definitely go back again when we are in the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowser321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your business and for using TripAdvisor to provide me with information about your stay. I am glad you had an opportunity to see the area as the Adirondack Coast of the Lake Champlain Basin is something we all love.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#4 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
#8 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Plattsburgh

Property: Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Address: 446 Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield Hotel Plattsburgh
Best Western At Smithfield
Best Western Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing