We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good meal and nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro

Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: European, American, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good meal and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were in Plattsburgh for the day and decided to try out Anthony's. We opted for the bistro setting. Rustic room with a bar and live music 2 guitarists on the night we went). The sounds all blend in well to make it a nice setting, not too loud. We started with two appetizers, the French onion soup was excellent, and stuffed mushrooms with Frangelico butter, was excellent as well! My wife chose a hamburger with blue cheese, the meat was excellent, the burger as a whole was ok. I had the NY strip sirloin with 5 peppercorn cream sauce. Again, the meat was excellent but there was too much sauce, it was like having meat in a soup. The sides were very good. Service was excellent. We found wine was on the expensive side considering general wine prices in the USA. We would give it another try however we would have different meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadians_who_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    77
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to Anthony's for our anniversary dinner while staying outside Plattsburgh. Both bistro and fine-dining menus are available in either side. We chose the dining room ... a beautifully thought-out and decorated area with booths along the wall and a few tables in a sunken center of the room. Both bistro and fine-dining menus are quite complete, as is the wine list, although, for my tastes, it could use a Petit Chablis from the Loire Valley to accompany the scallops. The broiled scallops maître d'hôtel were taken out of the broiler at just the right moment, and if the garlic aioli that accompanied the red snapper had been available by the pint, we would surely have bought some to bring home ... outstanding all around. Unbeknownst to us, our innkeepers had called ahead to tell the restaurant that it was our anniversary. What a kind gesture and pleasant surprise when our desserts were on the house. On a slow Monday night (we were surprised and fortunate that they were open), our waiter (Myles) was attentive without being fawning, friendly but not inappropriately so and very knowledgeable. He even good-naturedly put up with my indecision about a wine and provided a couple tastes of different wines to help me decide.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Plattsburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Consistenly the best upscale restaurant in the Plattsburgh area. Hard pressed to find much that is in the same class short of Burlington or Montreal. Always a favorite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“always a good meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

we always enjoy this restaurant we usually eat in the main dining room but decided to eat in the Bistro. it has a good variety on the menu,the food was good as well as the drinks and service. always enjoy eating at this restaurant...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jandbtangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill,nj
Level Contributor
239 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Reviews are right. Place is good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Thanks to the reviews on this site, we ate at Athony's. everything was excellent. Portions are huge. Prices are good. Service is extemely good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank misty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing