We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a good meal!”

Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 131 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“always a good meal!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

we always enjoy this restaurant we usually eat in the main dining room but decided to eat in the Bistro. it has a good variety on the menu,the food was good as well as the drinks and service. always enjoy eating at this restaurant...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandbtangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    80
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill,nj
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Reviews are right. Place is good.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Thanks to the reviews on this site, we ate at Athony's. everything was excellent. Portions are huge. Prices are good. Service is extemely good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have eaten here many times and the food is always great. Friendly staff and well prepared food. They have a formal dining room but I have always eaten in the bar area which also has comfortable tables.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old world style”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

you can always count on anthonys for old school class and quality food. the duck is great the drinks are really good. its the best restaurant in plattsburgh.service was really good. its really something classy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's about time! Just my favorite restaurant anywhere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not sure why I haven't submitted a review of this place until now. It's not for not going there repetitively over the years. I can't remember the first time I ate there and I can't count the times I have returned there.

Needless to say, I love this place. So does my wife. On a recent visit to celebrate our 39th anniversary, we had another great meal.

We have almost always eaten in the bistro, a back room and bar that has a wonderful rustic feel to it. The dining room is quite formal - white linen, etc. The bistro is less so. The bistro menu is less expensive even though the food clearly comes from the same kitchen. And if you want to, you can order from the dining room menu in the bistro, though I have rarely done so. The menus offer a variety of dishes - from a burger, to pasta, to excellent grilled and sautéed seafood, poultry and meats.

What makes this place is the sauces and flavors. The chef is clearly trained in French cuisine. Versions of hollandaise, béarnaise, and the like. The quality of the food is top notch and the freshness is there as well. Even the bread that is brought with the drinks is special - warm baguette that is fresh baked on premises.

And the desserts are great as well. Round that off with an extensive selective wine list and I can't say more except all of this comes with a very professional friendly warm service staff.

Not many people get to Plattsburgh, but if you go, go to Anthony's. Over 18 visits and I have never yet been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tgold109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing