We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasteland Wonder”

Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: European, American, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wasteland Wonder”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

In an area not know culinary charisma, Anthony's stand out. Not spectacular, just good food, good service, and reasonable prices, especially in the bistro. Their homemade sausage on pasta is real treat. Headed for Montreal from New York and feeling a little peckish. If your timing is right, get off the Northway(87) at the Rt. 3 Plattsburgh exit and go left about 100 yards, Anthony's is on your right.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank McMoredocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    79
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“chef/owner knows what I taste better than myself”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Anthony's had been my go-to restaurant for 28 years until an unacceptable veal loin wrapped in home grown BITTER, past the season, basil leaves a year+ ago. The chef refused to acknowledge that a special he prepared, with his own ingrediants, could be unnacceptable. Reducing the bill was like pulling my own teeth. They'll comp a dessert but after an appetizer, salad, and a poor main dish the appetite is gone. Boycotted for a few months and returned just because of my wifes urging(not the chefs attitude). Had the special braised lamb shank last weekend. Over cooked mutton is not what I expected. I wasn't going to say a word because I didn't want to taint my wifes' enthusiasm for coming here, but my wife kept asking me what was wrong. When I reluctantly told her she said "you should tell them". The Chef once again appeared at my table defending the lambs' supplier and his preparation. "It couldn't possibly be overcooked, in fact I was afraid it was undercooked. My Sous Chef brought his father in yesterday and they both complimented me on this dish." That still didn't make it taste any better to me. I never send a dish with food still on it back to the kitchen but half went back 1/1/2013. Don't comp two drinks when a 29 dollar dish is the problem. Later! Specials here are not a good value. My wifes stuffed lobster special at 37 dollars was way too much for a small crustacian prepared with way too much bread. Now I am done. No more recommendations, no more biannual family gatherings, no more intimate celebrations. Is it worth not listening to a loyal customer (celebrated my 1st wedding anniversary and am going on my 30th) who is not gastronomically ignorant? Anthonys' has left a bitter taste in my mouth once again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once again simply the best!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our second fine dining time at anthony's and once again it was supberb. Rightvfrom being seated to getting the bill we enjoyed each and every moment. Our server, Roz, was truly a pleasure, when we asked about wine selection she had the chef come speak with us and get our opinion of regions that we like. The meal was absolutely wonderful, fine dining in a small town. Absolutely not our last time!

Helpful?
3 Thank EileenS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super !!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What else can I say. As soon as I stopped to make a reservation, I was conviced that I was going to eat at the best restaurant in Plattsburgh, Staff is great. You are taken care of as soon as you set foot in the restaurant. Service is excellent. Your are not rushed for anything. Food is super. We were a party of 5 and everybody got his dish at the same time, hot and tasteful. Our waitress took care of us like we were regular customers. Great food at an affordable price. I will sure have dinner at Anthony's on my next trip to Plattsburgh.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves_017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlain, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not a great experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went to anthony's over the weekend for our small office party. My wife ordered lamb that was, in my opinion, (and hers) inedible. Didn't finish one bitwe and were charged for the dinner. I am afraid something must be very wrong at this restaraunt.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paul3874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing