We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH PLEASE!!!!!!!!”
Review of Stonehelm Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plattsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehelm Motel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Reviewed August 6, 2011

You DO NOT WANT TO STAY AT THE STONEHELM!!!!!! How They Clean The sheets, they take them off the bed and air them out outside, They have a bunch of DSS people and child molelesters living in the back rooms, That social services pays 800.00 a month to the motel owners, so people like that can stay there. The owners dont care about the place, They also own another motel a few miles up the road, ITS CALLED THE BEACON MOTEL, THE SAMETHING THERE, ( NASTY ), And dont leave your room without taking your stuff with you, even if your just running to the store, THE OWNERS WIFE will go through your stuff and take stuff, ther is a new pizza restaurant and pub now, just opened the begining of august, 2011, best pizza I ever had, Different owners from the motel run the restaurant. VERY NICE COUPLE AT THE RESTAURANT, I WANTED TO DRINK, BUT THE BAR PART WASN'T OPEN YET, THE COUPLE SAID THEY WERE WAITING FOR THERE PERMIT. BUT DONT STAY AT THE STONEHELM. VISITING THE PIZZA PLACE THERE IS A MUST,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank rocker48102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

We traveled to Plattsburgh for the cross country states meet and this was the only place we could find online that had a vacancy. I would have been better off sleeping in my car in the cold or in a barn somewhere. My expectations were low, but the room conditions were still a huge shock! The place was filthy, dirty and discusting! I would feel bad about letting my dog stay in this place. There was no restaurant (not that I would EVER eat there), there was not a queen bed, but two double beds that were older than dirt and the sheets had hair all over them...gross! I actually stopped looking around because I didn't want to discover any other discusting things about this place. They had a two week cancellation policy. Unbelievable! What do they think they are, a five star hotel? I've stayed in some dives before, but this one is at the top of the list. We even took pictures because we didn't think that anyone would ever believe us as to how bad is really was. DON'T STAY HERE. THE PLACE SHOULD BE CONDEMNED!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank berams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I agree completely with John_the_travel_guy...if you only want a cheap hotel, this is it. All our friends booked the more expensive hotel in Plattsburgh, but I was on tight budget for this hockey tournament weekend. The sheets were disgusting and had to be changed after we checked in. The room was sub-par. The door didn't close properly. The other tenants were noisy, checking in and out and no sound barriers between the rooms. I finally figured out the laundry problem, though...looking through the windows of the office/house, the dining room area was piled high with dirty linens. I can only imagine what breeds in that pile. Not a pleasant stay. The manager did give us some money off on the room for the sheet situation, but even a free room wouldn't have made it a good experience. The restaurant, which originally drew me to this place was non-existent, possibly closed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roomwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

You get what you pay for...in this case you get less. This place was disgusting in every sense of the word. When I stepped onto the carpet, a cloud of dust rose into the air. The walls were chipped, missing paint, missing wood, the door lock rattled and barely held the door closed.

The bathroom shower curtain had mildew that was black. The toilet seat was entirely chipped and cracked, not just a bit but everywhere. You could see the wood under and I am sure was a breading ground for all sorts of unsavory bacteria.

There was a small fridge in the room...YAY! To bad it bearly kept anything cold. The beds advertised said queen, they were double and sagged in the middle, pillows a step above a rolled up sweater. This was the middle of winter...I get shivers thinking about what summer would be like.

DISHONEST!!! When I got to the front desk the lady did not look into the computer for my reservation she simply says my rate per night is 45.00 and the tax is 18 percent. My actual rate was reserved at 39.99 and the tax is 8 percent.

I am curious to see my VISA bill when it comes in I have a feeling there will be extra unknown charges.

BEWARE!!! They have a 48hrs cancellation policy. Worst yet there is a big sign on the counter that says, "We do not refund for early departures" So if you book for 3 nights and you decided to escape...
err I men leave early...you forfeit the loss nights.

LAst point is I don"t know who wrote the review saying the place was above average...By the name I would guess that it is a relative.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
7  Thank John_the_travel_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

This place is dirty. No wireless internet or free local calls. Tons of flies in the room, cockroaches and mousetraps in the room. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stéphane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
6.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Plattsburgh
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
#8 of 14 in Plattsburgh
231 reviews
6.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehelm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehelm Motel

Address: 72 Spellman Rd, Exit 40 I-87, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-5325
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Stonehelm Hotel Plattsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing