We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great atmosphere”
Review of Aleka's

Aleka's
Ranked #6 of 130 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Alexa's is a wonderful restaurant. The service is fast, the food is delicious, and they have a large selection of beer and wine. Their homemade hummus is the best hummus I've ever had and their portion sizes are large and filling. While their entrees are a little pricy, their sandwich-like options (gyros for example) are quite reasonable. If you like Greek food, you'll love Aleka's! I can't wait to go back!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathol99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

While visiting P'burg last week, we wanted to have a healthy lunch. Aleka's was busy when we arrived so we knew there must be a reason. We were exactly right. The food was delicious and the Greek food was authentic. We ordered falafel salads and a Greek salad with chicken. All three lunches were super-sized and to-go containers were needed. The husband and wife owners served us well, were friendly and made us feel valued. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizcoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I've been here for lunch several times and the Greek dishes are always great. They have warm pita bread that is the best you will find for miles. Sometimes the service from the kitchen is a bit behind, but I assume that is because everything is cooked to order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silver348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some of the best Greek food we've had in the states”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was looking for a place in Plattsburgh to take my wife for Mother's Day. We checked TripAdvisor, but Aleka's didn't show up in the #1-67 listing. Several of our first choices were closed on Sunday night. We had a couple options out by the Northway, but preferred something in the nice town center. We happened to drive by Aleka's and decided to checkout the menu, which ended up looking pretty tempting.

The place was quite crowded at 6:30, which we took as a good sign. It stayed crowded much of the evening. We opted for a relatively affordable bottle of white California wine, but there were four nice beers on tap as well.

We shared two appetizers, a Greek salad and a Souvlaki sandwich with chips. The grilled calamari was very tasty and overall as tender as you could hope for. Note that it is quite a bit of food. We'd have preferred a smaller portion for $6 instead of the size we got for $10, but that was not an option.

The Greek salad was huge (more than enough for the two of us) and chock full of fresh ingredients. The hummus was very tasty and the pita nice warm and fresh. The pork souvlaki was also delicious. The chef really does a nice job with the proper proportions of spices in the food.

The ambiance is fine, although a bit spartan feeling. Our waitress did a nice job, although she could have been more attentive with the water.

Overall, it was a very nice surprise, when I was getting concerned I wouldn't find anything nice for Mother's Day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonicohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, NY
2 reviews
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Tried Aleka's for the first time yesterday at lunch... the food was great, big portions - very tasty, at great prices.. and very nice atmosphere. Also had a chance to visit with the owner's wife, and the owner even came out and checked on each table to make sure we were satisfied. Was so very impressed - we will definitely be going back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aleka's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing