We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use call-ahead service and bring a big appetite & earplugs”
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Legendary Food, Legendary Service
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Use call-ahead service and bring a big appetite & earplugs”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As another review noted, you should use the call ahead service to cut down on the wait. And as another review noted this is a busy noisy place so don't go if you're on a first date on want intimate conversation. But the margaritas are great, the food is very good tho I lwould order extra sauce for the ribs and know that the portions are very large and very reasonably priced

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    156
    41
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
“Delicious, Perfectly Cooked Steak and Friendly Service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a well known chain of Texas themed restaurants with a combined sportsbar and family atmosphere.

They have a call ahead service, which is not a reservation but gets your name in the queue to shorten your wait. When we went, we waited a few minutes but it was a Thursday and not as busy as a weekend visit.

The hostess and server(s) were very friendly and efficient.

We ordered sirloin steak and they were grilled to perfection - exactly as we ordered it. The steaks were juicy and flavourful. Our sides (mashed, ceasar salad, house salad, steak fries) were also very tasty.

The atmosphere was lively and fun. The staff make a big-a-do for anyone attending with a birthday, and once or twice an hour the servers do a line- dance routine in the middle of the restaurant. There were tvs everywher playing various games, and there was a large bar for those who want to have a drink and a bite while watching the game.

Word to the wise: the waiting area has barrels of peanuts to eat while you wait, and the shells encouraged to be lined on the floor. If anyone has a peanut allergy, this place is not for you.

Lastly, I would consider this restaurant quite reasonably priced as well.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my second time eating here and my sister's first time. Love the rolls with the brown sugar butter. The drinks are great too. I had the fried fish platter. It was awesome. Love the atmosphere and the wait staff are very friendly and attentive as well as the manager. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
1 review
“Amazing in Every Way!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Well, the atmosphere is defintely not "fancy" in any way. The place is meant to have fun, and just relax while eating great food. It's a great country-like setting, and the service is great. The waitresses are very nice. You get these peanuts when you first get there, along with the MOST AMAZING bread rolls EVER. The food is great, not that expensive, and the portions are very big. It's great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I've had better”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been to this restaurant on several occasions and I have been less than impressed with it. On our last visit we waited longer than estimated time which is not unusual. Then had to wait "on deck". An annoying and pointless additional step to be seated. We were then led to our table but it was not cleaned so we stood in the middle of the walkway waiting for a bus boy to lumber over. Once we were seated we waited over 10 mins before anyone came to the table and took our drink orders but wasn't even our waitress. We never received additional rolls and a number of items were missing or wrong with our orders. I will say the steak was well prepared but unlike all other Texas Roadhouse restaurants none if us were asked to cut into our steaks to see if they were cooked appropriately.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aemtcc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing