We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but good food”
Review of Sawatdee - CLOSED

Sawatdee
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cadyville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have eaten lunch and dinner at this restaurant. Luncheon combo very good - varied selection. Had Pad Thai for dinner --very good - Will definitely return again & again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredohardscrabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I had the Pad Kee Mao--which was flat noodles, veggies, tofu, basil, garlic and a spicy red Thai sauce. It had enough heat to satisfy the craving but not too much to ruin the meal. I paired it with a tofu lemongrass soup, and a spring roll. The soup was phenomenal but the roll was older than I would have hoped. All in all, the restaurant was clean, fast, and friendly. Will return!

Helpful?
Thank Atoxicremedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennyslvannia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good, but not great.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading the great reviews online, we decided to give this place a try. It's located in downtown Plattsburgh, so street parking can be limited at times. The decor of the restaurant could use a little TLC ... old, dingy carpets, tired artwork and houseplants and cheap wooden tables decorated the restaurant. However, everything was tidy and clean. The staff was friendly, but confused. Our service was definitely slow and our waitress didn't seem to understand serving basics. We initially put in our appetizer and soup order, and ten minutes later, she came back and asked, "Would you like me to put your appetizer order in for you, while you decide?" But, the food was tasty and fresh and the portions were huge. The Tom Kha soup was outstanding. Not the best Thai food I've ever had, but for Plattsburgh, it was good. If they updated their decor, hired better waitresses, and served some more inventive dishes, including some seafood, it'd be great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CampingBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I go to Plattsburgh all the time and never knew about this place until a friend told me. Now my boyfriend and I go there all the time. I love the food. Haven't had a bad experience yet. Apps and main courses that we've tried have been delicious!! Any time that we've gone it hasn't been crowded, we are in and out fairly quickly. A must try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMacD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a find! On our way back from Montreal, we decided to stop for lunch in Plattsburgh, NY. We were pleasantly surprised to stumble upon Sawatdee and decided to give it a try. We were astounded at how excellent it was! And we are extremely particular about Thai food, having traveled to Thailand as well as having eaten at many fantastic Thai restaurants domestically. The flavors were authentic, subtle and sublime - not your typical over-sugared Thai food catering to American palates. The seasoning was perfect. And the service was prompt and gracious - the food arrived in about 5 minutes. We were also surprised how crowded it was for a Monday lunch - clearly it is a well-appreciated restaurant among locals. We hope we have the good fortune of finding ourselves back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawatdee also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing