We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok value -we needs a little attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok value -we needs a little attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1- night and chose for location and pet fiendly. Friendly staff, basically clean room, but the bath door needed repair (Rm 111). Breakfast was not fancy, but clean and adequate. Overall we would stay again because of the reasonable value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitandmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviplattsburghny, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• The breakfast staff was approached about enlarging the choices which they offer.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the bath door in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Staff was informed of the nice comment you made about them and received our commendation.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    32
    20
    38
See reviews for
26
47
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just stayed here and can't believe how many bad reviews this place got. Our room was clean, no bugs, no cobwebs and the bed was comfy. The staff were really friendly too and brought us an extra pillow right away when we asked. Breakfast was standard, coffee, bagels, jam. Great for travelers on a budget who need a clean place to sleep and aren't fussy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieconnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor, We do our best in making our guest as comfortable as possible with a low rate. Our staff and I would like to thank you once again for your suggestions and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you ever stay in cheap places, you've been in places exactly like this. Hallways on the outside with steps on the outside and parking all along the long, rectangular property. Unfortunately, someone will check out early and yell to someone else who is packing their car and wake you up. An outdoor pool in the summer and an ice-machine. The sink is outside of the bathroom and there isn't a proper closet, but a rod and shelves built into the wall. You can bet they had vibrating mattresses in the early 80s. Our clock was flashing and our phone didn't work. The wood on the door-frame is getting bleached from decades of cleaning products.

But it is incredibly reasonably priced. (They have a Canadian special for $100 including taxes for 2 two nights.)

Even better, the staff is SO incredibly helpful! Especially Kevin. They seem to think that we were at a 4 Seasons! (Not that I've ever stayed at a fancy place like that, but I imagine they'd be like that.) When we got to our room, I called the front desk to get the wifi key and they couldn't hear me. While I was looking for my cell phone, Kevin, who checked us in, knocked at our door! He could see that we had called and couldn't hear us, so he walked through the cold (in the low teens!) to our room to see what we needed!

Kevin also talked to us about where to go and had terrific recommendations about where to eat and where to hike. Honestly, I've stayed in 4 star hotels with less customer service. I was really stunned at how well Kevin treated us.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the highest odd number you can get if you don't mind some steps There are tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flahooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviplattsburghny, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the Sink, mattresses, Clock, Phone and the door-frame in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Kevin was informed of the nice comment you made about him and received our commendation.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last month.
Both rooms were fine.
I'm coming from over the border to shop, so the lower the price the better. I just need a place to sleep for the night.
Maybe I got lucky both times, both rooms were clean enough, beds comfy enough, pillows o.k., no evidence of bedbugs.
Of course if you expect more than a basic room you won't get that.
Only thing was try to get a room away from the stairwell to the upper floor.
Very noisy when people are going up.

Room Tip: On the top floor or away from stairs that go up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place does not qualify for the word "DUMP". There are no words to describe the condition of this place. It wreaked of some smell I can only liken to vomit. The bathroom door was missing the striker plate. The ceiling in the bathroom was in terrible shape, rotting and falling down in places. The cold air rushing in the door on the 10 degree night from lack of adequate insulation around the door frame was incredible. The noise of all the people in adjoining rooms was highly unacceptable. The bathroom floor was sticky, my socks clung to the floor as I tried to walk in there. Even the pillows sucked as they were like two thin pieces of cloth stuffed with less than adequate foam. They charged us $49.95 a night for each of the two rooms we reserved in this slop house, it wasn't worth the paper they printed the reservation on.

We rented two rooms, #117 and #129. Both were deplorable. To think someone would put their name on this place is despicable. The coffee pot in room #129 had a mound of filth, dirt, grime, (I cannot describe it) in the water hopper. I took it to the women at the front desk, no name given but of Hindi descent I believe) and showed it to her. She asked what was the problem with it!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good grief!! How disgusting. She said if I was not satisfied she would replace it. My comment was, if she truly cared for her business, it never would have been left this way in the first place.

In a word, you have a "crap-hole" of a hotel bearing YOUR brand name. Is this how you want the name "America's Best Value Inn" to be represented??? I hope not. I can tell you this, I will NEVER, EVER set foot in a place bearing this name again and once my review is posted on the web, you may have trouble selling any rooms at this particular hotel in Plattsburgh ever again.

I am curious, does anyone from America's Best Value Inn corporate ever visit their properties? I seriously doubt this place has ever been visited by anyone. It is truly sad. The owners, franchisee's of this particular hotel have absolutely no pride in this place nor do they care for their establishment. It is extremely sad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveler1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviplattsburghny, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the unpleasant smell you reported in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its elimination.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the missing sticker plate on bathroom door, adequate insulation around the door frame and coffee pot in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plattsburgh hotels

Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Convenient, clean, pretty-good breakfast, internet computer in lobby. Nothing in particular to fuss about. It is a bus stop, and that might present you with many unwanted fellow travelers at certain times of the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDP_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Touring the Maritimes and New England and coming to the end of the trip. Plans changed a bit and we found ourselves late in the evening looking for a place where we could grab a few winks before heading north to Montreal. We had no WIFI access, so we were working a bit 'blind'.

After an OK stay a couple of nights earlier in Portsmouth, tried ABVI again here - but not quite the same result. A quick look in the dim light and the room appeared clean, no bad smells, an ok bed - the price was low - good enough for a short stopover. Unfortunately, with the light of day, turns out first appearances were deceiving. The room was more worn than first thought and had not been cleaned that well (dust if you moved anything, small spider webs in the top corners of the room). Maybe ok back in university days on a road trip when cheap was the main factor - or if traveling as a team to a tourney and needing a crash-pad - but overall this one is a bit sub-par.

The condition is a shame - the property is set well back from the road and surrounded by trees on 3 sides - almost like you are in the country. There is a nice size outdoor pool. This could be a great property but it would take more elbow grease and a major capital input to upgrade the units.

There is a very basic continental breakfast included and the price is cheap - that is about all it has going for it. I almost feel bad writing this as the staff was very pleasant and friendly - really nice folks working with a challenging property.

Unless cost is the only measure, there are better values out there - and much nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawki56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviplattsburghny, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Maintenance was informed of your report of Spider web in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to their elimination.

• Staff received our commendation in the courteous, helpful manner in which they treated you our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#4 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Plattsburgh
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh
Address: 19 Booth Dr, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh 1.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Plattsburgh, New York, one of the prime gateways between the U.S. and Canada, the Americas Best Value Inn offers all the comforts of home. We're proud to offer guest rooms with King, Queen, and Full size beds. Coffeemakers are available in all guestrooms. Microwaves and Mini-Fridges are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Plattsburgh Hotel Plattsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing