We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Three Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Point Au Roche Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Plattsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oneonta
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Relaxing Three Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our daughter and son in law, who had frequented Point Au Roche Lodge in the past, provided us with a most wonderful gift of 3 days at this beautifully appointed lodge on Lake Champlain. The lodge is nestled on a quiet road about 5 miles outside of Plattsburgh and would serve the college students' parents wonderfully while visiting their students for a few days. The room we had was the Planter Room and it had a jacuzzi and our deck was beautiful in the morning as the light of day challenged the peaks of the Green Mountains across from Lake Champlain. Our hosts, Creston and Karen Billings, were always around to share information and refer us to some of the local restaurants worth taking a look at. The grounds are manicured beautifully and their attention to detailed can certainly be observed from the moment you walk into the great room. We had never stayed at a place having no televisions. We were reading and walking and just absorbed in the beauty of the Lake Champlain region and we will certainly return in the future. Creston, a wonderful chef, provided luscious breakfasts. The lodge is located within a walk of Point Au Roche State Park, where we spent one day on a most tranquil beach. The lodge is filled with nice paintings and wonderful reading material in the library. If you are considering a trip to the more northern reaches of the Lake Champlain area, the Point Au Roche Lodge is worth the time investigating. Thanks go out to our hosts, and a great thank you to my daughter for providing us with an experience we will cherish forever.

Room Tip: Some restaurants in the surrounding area offer up some fantastic seafood dishes. We did travel to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob and Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
85
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night and wished we had time to stay longer. The lodge is welcoming, spacious and unique with many places to sit, listen to the birds and relax in peace. The rooms are charming, large and very comfortable (many with great relaxing outdoor sitting areas). Karen and Creston are helpful and interesting hosts who are keen to make your stay enjoyable. The gourmet breakfast was delicious and the new puppies were fun to watch. An awesome place to stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
299 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Point Au Roche Lodge is a tremendous value in a nice setting. The rooms and lodge itself are great, and it has a great terrace. They have very nice grounds and at breakfast through the windows you can watch a vast variety of birds enjoying their yard. The lodge is right across from Point Au Roche state park which has a beach, hiking trails and boat launch. The lodge is also reasonable close to Plattsburgh. We make a point of trying to go there once a year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a 46 mile bike ride in blistering heat, and theLodge was a godsend. Karen and Creston greeted us with icy cold water, nice cold rooms, and a lovely lodging.
The common areas were among the best we have found in B&Bs, with a large main room with many different sitting areas, an exquisite upstairs balcony for looking out over the green areas, and a large screened gazebo in the side yard. The Lodge is surrounded by forest areas on one side, and acres of green fields on the others.

Our rooms were large, very well equipped, with a private patio. The beds were large and comfortable, and the bathroom areas were very nice and modern. The towels were very soft.

Breakfast was served in the dining area that overlooks their rear yard and fields. Lots of bird activity, including woodpeckers feeding from the feeders.

They have a large garage for storing bicycles, and they have kayaks to use and a beach close by, if that is your choice.

Overall, this was a great choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an awesome place to get away from everything and enjoy some beautiful peace and quiet.

The lodge is a very stylish "log cabin" type structure that has a lot of open space in it. The room (Quilter) was great and has a large balcony in the back that gives a beautiful view of the green space beyond. It's a 30min walk (or 5 min drive) from the beach.

The breakfast was also great and very tasty, and last but not least, the service was first rate. The owners are very accommodating, polite, and helpful. Really could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Take one with a view of the back; instead of seeing the road, you see gardens, grasses, and the wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCatriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Like so many others, my husband and I really enjoyed our recent stay at the Lodge. The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming and always helpful without being overbearing.

We stayed in the Quilter room on the second floor and had a great balcony overlooking the meadow with an amazing sunset view! The linens and bed were extremely comfortable, the towels were a great size, and the room was very clean. And to repeat all other comments.. breakfast was amazing! We learned the owner has professional chef experience and it shows! I recommend ordering one of each item and sharing it!

We went to a local bar/restaurant on the lake for dinner (better for drinks then food), then retreated to our balcony for a few glasses of wine and a deck of cards we retrieved from the lodge's great room. In the morning we hiked some trails across the street from the lodge at the park and really enjoyed our short stay!

Room Tip: sunset's on the meadow side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misdeg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I recently visited the Lodge and were delighted with the experience. Both being in the restaurant industry we are super critical of hospitality and we both LOVED our ecperience!!! I highly recommend you stay here as opposed to one of the cookie cutter hotels. Relax and enjoy. Breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
8.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#4 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
#8 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Au Roche Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Au Roche Lodge

Property: Point Au Roche Lodge
Address: 463 Point Au Roche Rd, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-5465
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Au Roche Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our log style bed and breakfast. Surrounded by Point Au Roche State Park and walking distance to Lake Champlain and 12 miles of hiking trails. Located 15 minutes outside of Plattsburgh and within 60 mins of Montreal, Lake Placid and Burlington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Point Au Roche Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing