We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground within reach of NYC”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plattekill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New York City North / Newburgh KOA
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great campground within reach of NYC”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is typical of your better KOAs - fully featured, highly organised, well staffed, good shop.

Really nice pool area, shady, spread out sites (mozzies though!).

I will return here next time I'm in the area

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
42
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the deluxe Kamping Lodge which had AC, TVs, bathroom, and room to sleep 8. It was two adults (single moms) and two kids (boy age 10, girl age 11). What a relaxing vacation. The air is so fresh and clean and the grounds are well kept. We stayed for a weekend and was having such a good time we tried to extend the vacation but our cabin was already booked.

The kids loved the go carts, swimming, movie night, firetruck ride, fishing pond, mini golf, jumping pillow, Arcade /Game room, basketball court, and free pancakes (on the weekends). The parents loved the deluxe cabin (and its luxury)with wonderful deck, propane grill (we grilled for every meal), and the wine tasting. The wines they sell are pricey so bring your own. We all loved making a camp fire at night to toast marshmallows.

We went to the SuperWalmart that's about 10 miles away for some stuff we forgot.

Overall a great vacation!!!!!

Room Tip: You can camp in a tent, RV, or a cabin, or a deluxe cabin. Its all in your preference. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adventurem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Nice spot for us to stay in NY. Clean, friendly staff, beautiful store for gifts and gear. we were working our way to the White Mountains of nh and stayed one night. Convenient to provisions and we were just 10miles from Orange County Choppers which we visited. Never seeing the show, we were familiar and amazed at shop.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Innkeeper4WHCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Kamp Koa has been our annual summer trip for 3 years now. The Newburgh location was our first experience and we went back because we love the way the grounds are kept up and we love the hills throughout the site. We had a blast as usual. We drove in the fire truck, We rented the carts , we stayed in the pool everyday and our favorite Bbqing and lighting our camp fire. We stayed in the Lodge this time with a few of our friends it hold up to 6 people and it's air conditioned. They provide everthing for you except for the food. There is a local Walmart so we buy our food from there. We has a great time and we look forward to going back. We even made a video check it out !!!!

[-]

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsjarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My daughter and I camped at the KOA as a base for day trips to NYC. We really enjoyed the setting, the free pancakes, the bus tour from the campground to the city and the convenience of the train station for a second day in the city. Staff were helpful, facilities were clean and campground was quiet at night. Mitch was a very entertaining tour guide and we were so happy to see the sights from the convenience of the tour bus. We had plenty of time for our ferry trip to the Statue of Liberty, for a walk to the WTC, for sightseeing from the top of the Empire State Building and for eating cheese cake near Times Square. Highly recommend the location and the bus trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MammaOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plattekill
7.9 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
131 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
10.0 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
414 reviews
10.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York City North / Newburgh KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York City North / Newburgh KOA

Property: New York City North / Newburgh KOA
Address: 119 Freetown Highway, Plattekill, NY 12568
Location: United States > New York > Plattekill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Plattekill
Number of rooms: 148

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing