We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another worn-out Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“another worn-out Holiday Inn”
Reviewed September 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for her 30-year high school reunion. Upon entering our room, I immediately thought that I had been transplanted to the Skokie Holiday Inn, where I had stayed just one month prior (read my review). I am NOW firmly convinced that most Holiday Inn properties have seen their better days. While the lobbies at both properties were very nice, and both staffs were very pleasant and accomodating, the rooms just don't cut it anymore! The furniture was very 1970's (perhaps specially placed to welcome the high school reunion attendees!), and my wife refused to walk barefoot on the room carpeting; it just felt "wet and dirty". The hotel corridors REEK of cigarette smoke.

The in-house restaurant only offers a $13 buffet at breakfast, rather than being able to order off the menu, so you're better off driving for 10 or 15 minutes in to Plainview or Hicksville, to eat at one of the many, delicious Greek diners in the area. The hotel does, however, have a lively night club, that jumps well in to the wee hours of the morning. The club has a very large and imposing bouncer, who turned out to be a most pleasant fellow!

While the planned pre-banquet gathering in a hospitality room never materialized, the culminating reunion banquet, also held at the hotel, was quite nice, with very good service and ample, tasty food.

Holiday Inn employees try hard, they really do, to please their guests. Unfortunately, the properties themselves "groan" with age!

  • Liked — very helpful and pleasant staff
  • Disliked — the property is showing it's age, and just didn't seem "clean"
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WannaRetire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    53
    16
    28
See reviews for
71
31
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adirondacks
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights this weekend and were very disappointed.

No Windows- none of the hotel rooms have windows to the outside. Every room has a wired glass window that opens onto a hallway. If you want any privacy, you must keep the curtains closed at all times, so you don't get any natural light or view. In addition, the windows are wired glass, so it feels like a prison.

Noise- There was a cacaphony of clunks and bangs all day and night, the room offers no protection from noise in other parts of the hotel. We could hear opening and closing doors on every side of us all day and night.

TV- the tv was no good. The picture was so dim and out of focus you could hardly tell what was on. There was no ability to adjust these settings.

Room layout- Although the room was a good size, it was narrow. It was set up in such a way that you could not get to the bathroom without bumping into the desk chair.

Bathroom - the bathroom was tiny, barely able to use the facility without banging knees on door. The toilet seat was not a normal seat, it was a thin plastic membrane that caused the user to sit too low.

Other amenities- no fridge or microwave. We were surprised that there was no fridge, even cut rate motels have refrigerators these days. When we asked for one, they said they don't offer them.

Elevator - strange smell in the elevator.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — soft,warn out, sagging bed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank edadktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plainview hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

I recently booked a six-night stay at this hotel and I was so disappointed that my stay only lasted two nights. Firstly, although I was told that I was in a non-smoking room, the room smelled of smoke and was generally unclean. On my second night, while taking a shower I noticed that the water was an orange-brown color (think ice tea). I mentioned this to the desk clerk and she simply told me that they were probably doing some plumbing repairs and that I should just let the water run for a few minutes. She did not give as much as an apology for the inconvenience. I could have written her lack of decorum off as a fluke if the manager did not show himself to be just as much if not more unprepared for customer service as she did.
On top of this, I had a major billing issue with them that I had to threaten to take to their corporate offices just to get them to finally correct (I wish that I could discuss, but this story is too convoluted, but they totally mishandled this also).
There are plenty of acceptable hotels of varying classes in the area. Trust me, you will be better off trying one of the competitors as the Holiday Inn-Plainview has many areas to improve upon to be considered merely acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jet296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

I have stayed here about a dozen times in the last several years. I choose it mostly because it is convenient to where I travel while on the island. It is very nice, clean, with friendly and helpful front desk staff. The rooms are on the small side but nicely decorated and clean. The walls are thin, however, and when the hotel is full you can easily hear all your neigbors. It seems to be a popular place for weddings. I have been there (unintentionally) for several. The noise level really escalates then! This past Saturday I woke up on the clock at 2 am, 3 am, and 4 am due to the hallway noise of inebriated partygoers. The restaurant and lounge are attractive and the food is average--not bad, but nothing to cheer about either. There is a tiny "business center" that has two computers with Internet access. Of all the times I have been there, only one computer worked; causing some wait times when more than one hotel guest wanted to log on. I have never used the outdoor pool, but the area is attractive, as are all the grounds. The lobby is also very attractive, large, and a nice place to chat with friends.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank shermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
1.3 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#3 of 6 in Plainview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island

Property: Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Address: 215 Sunnyside Blvd, Plainview, NY 11803-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn - Plainview is centrally located on Long Island and is approximately a 30 minute drive to New York City. We are on the north side of exit 46 off the Long Island Expressway (I-495). The hotel offers suites with jacuzzi tubs fully renovated rooms and coming soon (Feb 2012) we will have a new lobby, fitness center and business center. We are proud to announce the opening of Bistro 46 Restaurant and Lounge open for breakfast, lunch and dinner featuring our breakfast buffet, new wine list and all new menu items. Our hotel will have fully renovated function and meeting space (By Feb 2012) as well as the ability to hold functions outdoors during the warmer weather months. The hotel has an outdoor pool, complimentary internet and plenty of free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island Hotel Plainview
Plainview Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing