We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place has rats.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Place has rats.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I will update this review as I'm able (still traveling), but it should be said that this place *unquestionably* has a rat problem. I brought it to the manager's attention after *seeing* one in my room. He moved me to another room. A short while later, in my new room, I heard the very same scratching at the wall that preceded seeing the rat in the last room.

On top of that I should not have to argue with the general manager about my experience.

Hotel seems fine at first glance. Will constantly impress upon you how wrong your first glance was thereafter.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donmthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristopher W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Our Hotel does by no means have a "rat issue" and maintains an aggressive preventative pest control program, of which we hold records, as cleaniness and guest safety are a top priority. It should be known to those reading this posting that this guests' accomodations were provided to him by his employer while he was working on a month long project in our area. This guest had notified myself and my Staff on several occasions that he was unhappy with the room style which was chosen for him and paid for by his employer. This guest demanded that we upgrade him to a Suite because he would be with us for a month, when we notified him that this was not possible he claimed that our hotel was infested with rats and he would make that known. The Guest remained with us for the remainder of the month. We find it very disheartening that someone would try to discredit the very high reputation of our Hotel and our staff simply because they wanted to be upgraded to a suite. We work extremely hard to exceed all of our guests expectations and are extremely disappointed in the actions taken by this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    53
    16
    28
See reviews for
71
31
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed this past weekend at the Plainview, New York Holiday Inn on Sunnyside Boulevard out on Long Island. The room appeared to have been recently redone with fresh furniture, paint carpet and bathroom. The bed and pillows all did a fine job for me, and the Staff, especially the front desk man named Brian was especially helpful in changing my room from one with a sofa fold-out plus queen, to a room with two queens. Brian moved our luggage for us, and rehung the previously hung clothing. Great service, and it surpassed what I have come to expect from most mid-priced hotel. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a L.I. hotel convenient to the LIE or Northern State Parkway, about a short drive from midtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnomeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

hotel was nice, beds comfortable but location wasn't great if you don't have a car....the bar and in particular the restaurant was incredible. If I lived nearby I would go there for dinner on a regular basis! My college roommate and I got together without spouses, kids or grandkids and had a good time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel staff was very pleasant upon check in. We were greeted warmly and were told they have my Priority Number. I was given my room key and directions to my room. I was also given my Priority Club snack package (NutriGrain Bar, Lays Potato Chips, and bottle of water).

The lobby was open and beautifully decorated. The restaurant was also nice. Going down the hallway to the room was the mismatch style. The corridor had dark interior colors versus the light colors in the lobby area. The hotel had an "indoor motel" or an interior cruise ship style room. Our room was on the first floor and we had a window that opened to the hallway. There were windows in the hallway, so you indirectly had light/view to the outside.

The walls were thin. We heard the other people every time they were talking or had the TV on.

The bedroom decor was modern and the bed is a few feet away from the door. If you are a light sleeper it would not be an ideal situation because you would hear all the noise.

The closet is inside in the bathroom which has a sliding door.

The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. The hotel style and decor did not match my personal preferences with regard to looking like an interior cruise ship room (no windows to the outside). There was a mismatch between my style and the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristopher W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I appreciate your kind words regarding the service you received from the Staff, as well as, the decor of our common areas. I am sorry that our room style and decor was not to your taste, as a a lot of thought and effort were given to these areas during our recent complete renovation. I sincerely hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future, as we look forward to having you as our Guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at the Holiday Inn Plainview Long Island. The rooms were nicely decorated, beds were comfortable and it was clean. The staff was friendly and the service was great. We had 17 people and rented 6 rooms and we all enjoyed a great breakfast buffet in the morning. Make sure you go say hello to Ken at the bar too! He was fun to chat with.
DD

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stay here frequently. The property continues to improve. I had to modify my reservations for a recent stay. I called a spoke to Laura at the front desk and she was fantastic. When I checked in I was greeted by trainee Kelly. Although a Kellys name tag said trainee, the check in experience was quick and pleasant.

Nice rooms and a great resturaunt/bar.

Kudos to management! Great place and fantastic staff

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wjl8923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I titled this post " A diamond in the rough" because you would never expect such a wonderful hotel in the middle of an industrial park. I Have to say once I walked into the Holiday Inn Plainview it was an "experience" that I rarely see from hotels these days. The bar was a lively group with Christine Guliano running the show, I had a blast with her. Then I got to the front desk counter around 7-7:30pm and got to meet a nice young man named Brian Adams (not the rock star), he told me funny jokes as well as informing me of all the hotel amenities. He thanked me for my business and told me if I needed anything he would be there until 11pm and to hit "0" for assitance. I got a chance to have dinner but not breakfast as I am usually on the run in the AM. The PM dinner crew was outstanding, just a fun atmosphere. As I said earlier this was an "experience" which I will never forget. THANK YOU HOLIDAY INN PLAINVIEW, and the fine staff who provided unparralled service. I will definitely return :D

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristopher W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so happy that we created a memorable expereince for you during your recent visit. I will be sure to share your comments with Christine, Brian and the rest of our team. We look forward to having you as our guest during your next trip to the Long Island area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
1.3 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#3 of 6 in Plainview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island

Property: Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Address: 215 Sunnyside Blvd, Plainview, NY 11803-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn - Plainview is centrally located on Long Island and is approximately a 30 minute drive to New York City. We are on the north side of exit 46 off the Long Island Expressway (I-495). The hotel offers suites with jacuzzi tubs fully renovated rooms and coming soon (Feb 2012) we will have a new lobby, fitness center and business center. We are proud to announce the opening of Bistro 46 Restaurant and Lounge open for breakfast, lunch and dinner featuring our breakfast buffet, new wine list and all new menu items. Our hotel will have fully renovated function and meeting space (By Feb 2012) as well as the ability to hold functions outdoors during the warmer weather months. The hotel has an outdoor pool, complimentary internet and plenty of free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island Hotel Plainview
Plainview Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing