We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The staff was very friendly and accomdating and the room was nicely decorated, but I didn't like that the closet was located in the bathroom. The parking entrance we had to use was located in the back of the building in an isolated area, thankfully I was not travelling alone. The continental breakfast was lacking in quality and the dining rooom staff was not hospitable. Their fitness center needs to be updated; the photo on their website is not an actual picture of their facility. The fitness center and equipment is not bright & modern as shown. The weight machine was "out of order" and the equipment and treadmills are old.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Teresa W,
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and giving us a great score. Overall it looks like your stay with us was positive. I want to apologize for some of the confusion with the fitness center. The pictures you are viewing online are our old fitness center. When you were here, you were in our new fitness center with the old equipent. The new equipment is on the way!! You also probably noticed the breakfast area in the back corner of our bar which is only temporary until the new restaurant is completed. However, there is no excuse for the service provided in the restaurant and I will follow up personally with my employees. When you're back in the area make sure to check out our new lobby, bar, restaurant and business center. I'm sure you will be impressed. Again, I appreciate your feedback and your great review.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    81
    51
    15
    28
See reviews for
68
29
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2012 Super Bowl Weekend during a trip to visit friends and family on Long Island. The room was affordable, very quiet, decently decorated and clean. The mattress cover was "noisy" though because it was "water resistant". The bathroom was nicely appointed even though the tub is small. The hotel is still undergoing renovations. I am a "Priority Club Member" and received a complimentary bottle of water and snacks upon check-in. We were also given tickets for the breakfast buffet where the food was extremely disappointing. Not only was the food in the steam tables not hot, it was terrible and the service lousy. We would stay here again but would skip the breakfast completely. Location is easy to find right off the Long Island Expressway. However, during heavy traffic, getting out of the hotel driveway is tricky. Front desk staff were accommodating the multiple times we had to redo our electronic room keys. I suspect they need to get new ones and ditch the overused ones.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the exits where you'll hear guests coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bus_Pleasure_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Business and pleasure travel,
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. Overall it looked to be a positive stay. I wanted to apologize for the service and food issue you had encountered in the restaurant. This was our first day using the buffet in that back corner due to a temporary wall that was constructed the day prior. The buffet area was half the size and our power against the wall was not sufficient so we used the chaffing dishes with sternos underneath. If you return and the buffet breakfast is still not what you desire, please ask the server for a menu and we will be glad to use your coupon for the A la Carte breakfast featurning over 50 made to order items. Thank you for making Holiday Inn - Plainview your choice of hotels when you are in the Plainview, NY area.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for a night in late December. The room was really done (looked like it had been recently renovated), the bathroom was big and really nice, and there was a large flat screen tv. We rented a movie that had just been in theaters, so that was a plus. We went down to the hotel restaurant for dinner, which was really delicious..and also for the hot buffet breakfast (it was free for both of us because I signed up for a rewards program). There was a nice bar in the restaurant, as well. We had a ticket for a complimentary cocktail. There was some construction going on in the hotel, but I only saw it when I walked through to get to the lobby...it wasn't an inconvenience at all. Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend it if you're in the area and need a nice place! *We do not have kids, so I couldn't really rate that area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshined214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
To Sunshined214,

Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor. We're glad to see that everything went well with your stay and overall, you left with a positive experience. At the Holiday Inn Plainview, we stive to make every guest feel like this is their home away from home. Make sure you stop by when the renovations are complete to see Bistro 46. Should you need any assistance with lodging needs in the future, please do not hesitate to call me personally.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed here a get together with friends in Huntington. The rooms were VERY clean. The staff was VERY friendly. Beds comfortable & bathroom was nice & clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikieJ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
To MikieJ34,
Happy Holidays from the Holiday Inn - Plainview. Thank you for writing a review for the hotel and giving us a grade of EXCELLENT. Here at the Holiday Inn we really strive to give our guests great service and value so that their overall experience is a memorable one. Should you be in the area again, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Rooms are new and beds are fairly comfortable. Staff is very helpful and there is ample parking and complimentary breakfast. Nice add ons when traveling a lot. Nicely re-done bathrooms, large flat screens tv- Would stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel has a complicated orientation/set up. If you have difficulty walking I would call ahead an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
To BiotechCalifornia,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. Updated and still improving is a great title for the review. I'm sure when you were here you saw all the pictures of the new lobby, bar, restaurant, meeting space, fitness center and business center which should all be operational by the end of February. We hope to see you soon and please make sure you give us a call if you are in the area and need assistance with your lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn - Plainview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The most notable thing about this hotel was covered in some of the other reviews -- the windows that look out on hallways -- but I didn't really understand what they meant until I stayed there. It is, indeed, a very peculiar set up. It looks as if the hallways were external walkways (like at a roadside hotel) back in the day, but the hotel decided to enclose them. Thus, you look out through the window in your room at a hallway, and via windows on the opposite wall of the hallway you can see the outdoors. I wasn't sure whether the window tinting prevented anyone from looking inside the room, so I kept the curtains closed while I was there. I subtracted a star from the review because I couldn't open the curtains for sunshine.

Other than that, the room was fine. Wallpaper, furniture, electronics, bathroom appliances all seemed to be brand new. Bed was comfortable and sheets were clean.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
To Bandito91,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. Yes, you are right, most everything in your room was brand new as we have completed the room renovations. I am glad to see that you had used Trip Advisor prior to booking your trip here. It looks like overall your stay was positive and we do look foward to you returning. Be on the look out for our new lobby, bar, restaurant, fitness center and business center. I'm sure when they are complete, we will get that star back from you.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful and accomadating. My husband And i drove out for a wedding and were very happy with the service. Nice clean rooms and delicious breakfast!! So if your just looking for a comfortable stay this is a pretty good place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
To Bri009,
Thank you so much for your review! We have really put a lot of changes into the hotel and soon there will be more. Make sure to come back and see us when we open Bistro 46. If you think we are amazing now, you will be blown away when you return.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#3 of 6 in Plainview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
5.0 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island

Property: Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Address: 215 Sunnyside Blvd., Plainview, NY 11803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn - Plainview is centrally located on Long Island and is approximately a 30 minute drive to New York City. We are on the north side of exit 46 off the Long Island Expressway (I-495). The hotel offers suites with jacuzzi tubs fully renovated rooms and coming soon (Feb 2012) we will have a new lobby, fitness center and business center. We are proud to announce the opening of Bistro 46 Restaurant and Lounge open for breakfast, lunch and dinner featuring our breakfast buffet, new wine list and all new menu items. Our hotel will have fully renovated function and meeting space (By Feb 2012) as well as the ability to hold functions outdoors during the warmer weather months. The hotel has an outdoor pool, complimentary internet and plenty of free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island Hotel Plainview
Plainview Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing