We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds in convenient location”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Huge room (vaulted ceiling!) with a very comfortable bed. Clean bathroom with good water pressure. In room coffee and mini-fridge. Location is very convenient to 495, but that means the front faces 495, it is next to a gas station and the back faces what appears to be an off-track betting parlor. We picked the back and had no noise issues other than the dumpsters being emptied around 530am. Service and food at the hotel bar were pretty terrible and the prices were outrageous - $8 for soup!?!?!? Would consider staying there again if we had to be in the area - there are also a few Hilton properties in a nearby office park.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    82
    44
    12
    14
See reviews for
67
56
20
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I have worked with the Four Points Sheraton for the past 3 years. I book insurance meetings throughout New York state, and work with many hotels, but consistently the Four Points has excelled with pleasing our group. The hotel itself is beautiful & brand new. The overnight rooms are fabulous!

But what REALLY “sells” this hotel is it’s staff!! The sales & banquet staff are so incredibly helpful and efficient. They know what to do and what we need before I even have to ask! (Anyone who is a meeting planner, you can appreciate how wonderful that is!) As far as this hotel is concerned, gone are the days of trying to run and track down staff to ask for more coffee or adjust the temperature. It is always refreshing to go to the Four Points and KNOW our group will be taken care of and be of priority!

The best part, our participants & speakers enjoy returning to this location. It is easy access off the LIE. We do have people traveling early in the morning and from out of the area. This makes it a breeze! I have never had one complaint about getting lost.

Kudos to the Four Points Sheraton Plainview!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlp80Albany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston.MA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Comfortable stay. Some larger rooms to spread out, you should stay on the rear side of the hotel to avoid the highway noise. Easy access to the LIE, gas station. The restaurant is incredible. Kudos to the chef! I have stayed here numerous times, and they always get it right. They should offer free coffee in the morning in lobby. 24 hrs workout room is always clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stay at this hotel primarilly for business and I suspect that is the case with most guests. it is centrally located but most tourist areas are a ways away and unless you are driving, it is not on any transportation routes (the LIRR is about a $10 cab ride).

They have a good restaurant although as typical for a hotel, the prices are higher than similar meals nearby (although the nearest non hotel restaurant is over a mile away). The bar is well stocked.

They used to have a problem with the internet access being really slow, but they updated their internet last year and it is quite fast and reliable in just about any section of the hotel.

As others have said, the rooms that face I495 can get a lot of traffic noise. Ask for a room facing away from this when booking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxLonestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Their staff is rude. When I called to speak with their general manager after my stay to tell them my complaints, I was given a voicemail. Never got a call back. Called back a few days later and the front desk hung up on me when they heard how furious I was. My friend left something valuable behind in her room and called to ask about it. They said they didn't find anything. My guess is that it was stolen by their housekeeping staff. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FP-PlainviewGM, Michael Papierno- General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Four Points by Sheraton- Plainview for your weekend getaway. I want to apologize for the lack of service you mentioned your received after your stay here. You mentioned to me that you had called to speak with me and that you left messages for me. I apologize that I never received those messages. Please understand that my staff is trained to provide the highest level of service to every guest. Please call me personally at the hotel to try to resolve this situation.

Thank you again and we hope you would give us another to chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in may & it was GREAT! The staff was very friendly, our room was spacious & comfortable and the bar was great too. They have homemade bagle chips out to snack on which were delicious and so was the food! They are also right off of the LIE which makes them really easy to get to. I cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehcdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

This hotel is perfect if you need to be in Long Island. You're greeted with a very nice welcome and a free glass of wine from the bar. The rooms are HUGE and newly renovated, the beds are very comfortable, the shower excellent. The bar is ok and there isn't really a nice lounge or anything. Internet is free, bottled water also included. Overall, I had an excellent comfortable and convenient stay with great service!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNLOVINMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
2.6 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
1.8 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Address: 333 South Service Road, Plainview, NY 11803 (Formerly Inn at Plainview)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island is centrally located minutes from Melville area businesses, a short drive from Long Island shopping and entertainment, and a perfect break on a trip to the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Plainview Long Island
Four Points By Sheraton Plainview Long Island Hotel Plainview
Sheraton Plainview Long Island
Four Points Plainview
Plainview Sheraton
Plainview Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing