We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mostly good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We just spent a three nights at Homewood Suites Melville while on a short, family-related visit to the area. It didn't start well, although that was not the fault of the hotel. Our first night, after 11 PM, a group of people apparently checked into the room above ours. They sounded like a herd of elephants. We complained and requested another room. Unfortunately they didn't have the same type of room - a 1 BR - so we accepted a studio.
Here's the good news! Customer service and the front desk at this hotel are wonderful. They were extremely gracious and helpful in getting us a quieter room. Also a plus is the complimentary breakfast. There is also an evening wine and snack offering but we didn't get to try it out. The facility is comfortable and well furnished. The downside is the housekeeping. It is not a cleanliness issue but a matter of getting someone to do the room! Maybe they need to pay their maids better wages - or are under-staffed - but we practically had to chase one down the hall to get our room cleaned, at 4:00 PM, two days in a row.
Despite these drawbacks, the hotel's pluses outweigh the negatives, especially the friendly, gracious front desk employees.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are a good choice if you don't want to take the chance of people tromping around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katgalmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    140
    42
    26
    24
See reviews for
257
79
27
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Other than the bed, our stay was very pleasant and convenietly located off the LIE. We will definetley be coming back!!! Loved the location of our room on the first floor, even though as an employee stay , our room got bumped into a accessible room-it worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was a very guest friendly property that offered the guest a variety of home style amenities. I was in town for my family reunion and we chose this hotel. They gave us an excellent group rate! The meals that the hotel provided was also helpful on the budget. Overall a wonderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Angel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We recently booked 17 suites at the Homewood Suites in Melville (actually Plainview), New York for my daughter's wedding party and guests. The banquet manager, Geena, was a pleasure to work with. All of our needs, including some special requests, were met. Apparently their policy is to be careful not to promise you anything, and then give you exactly what you wanted! It worked for us! All room bookings include a free hot breakfast daily and a free light dinner several nights a week. All meals include some healthy options and the coffee bar is open 24/7. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank markrosenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times in the last few months for business purposes. The location is about 40 minutes from LGA Airport. Being a Hilton Honors member, I like to stay at Hilton properties if at all possible. The front desk staff is very knowledgeable. Each time I stayed here, I was late getting to the hotel and needed take out menus to order dinner. I used a local chinese place one night and on another trip, used a local italian place. there is a small sundries shop in the lobby of the hotel, as each room as a full size fridge and oven/microwave. You can purchase frozen meals (Lean Cuisines, etc) to cook in your room, and there were several canned drink options. Room was very spacious and clean - just what you expect from a Hilton property. Nice sofa and table area for working. On all three trips, I used the hotel's conference/meeting space and those areas were very nice as well. I would stay here again whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

overall stay ok. Sofa bed had no linen available in room( when we had reserved room for 5.) Requested towels for every registered guest after the 4th day stay, they left only 3. Suite living room quite a bit smaller than appears in pictures. no exhaust fan in bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is no Ritz, but if you need a local hotel that is clean, reliable and friendly it's perfect. The staff was friendly, the prices reasonable. One thing to note - it's often host large groups (weddings, convention or companies) as guest, which can make the breakfast a bit crowded. But for the value and location its perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgb141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.1 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
6.1 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#3 of 6 in Plainview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville

Property: Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Address: 1585 Round Swamp Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville Hotel Plainview
Homewood Suites Plainview
Homewood Plainview
Plainview Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing