We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
Gillette
2 reviews
“Great hotel with wonderful staff!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Homewood Suites offered clean, spacious suites, a full breakfast buffet, and extensive evening reception. The fitness center was well-equipped and the indoor pool and hot tub were sparkling clean. All employees I encountered during my stay went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    148
    42
    28
    28
See reviews for
269
85
28
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here three times in the past two months for family social events in an area we had moved away from four years ago. This Homewood Suites is one of the better Hilton properties we've used as a Hilton Honors member. The studio suites are excellent and comfortable, the front desk staff is always pleasant and helpful. Comfortable beds, decent breakfast even when it is crowded and guests get pushy(which is often). Convenient to many towns and the Long Island Expressway which makes a long trip easier. Prices in the Long Island suburbs of NYC are expensive but you should expect that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank realistic62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just completed a 3-night stay over Columbus weekend. I can't find a single fault with this hotel. And that's saying a lot, as the hot tub was non-functioning and some wall plaster repair was going on. Even with these two things, which might be large inconveniences in any hotel, everything was so flawlessly perfect that these were less than minor inconveniences. Very good morning breakfast. Hot tea advertised as morning only, but I found it served virtually 24/7. Room was spotless; parking plentiful; location super-easy to find; major shopping mall, complete with Ikea, within 5 miles, and every type and level of food available within a 5 mile radius. Staff was great, but you didn't need any. Everything was so perfect you didn't need to talk with any staff. Will stay here again everytime I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Don't tink twice, it's alright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aim19862016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed at this location a number of times over the years. Since it has opened it has been the best place to stay in the Melville area. The staff has always been excellent. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. This stay was no different. Stayed in a 1 Bedroom suite. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the kitchen amenities were fine. The only thing I noticed was that some of the furniture is starting to show some wear. Nothing out of the ordinary. The breakfast was fine, the dinner was even better. Why go out when you can have a meal of Salmon with asparagus and potatoes served along with salad, beer or wine. The chef here has always done a fantastic job. When you need a place to stay in the Melville area whether for business of pleasure, consider the Homewood Suites first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to Long Island for a family function and wanted to stay in something a little bigger than a standard hotel room (stayed in 2 "studio" rooms)

The check in process was a snap, the front desk was friendly & well organized.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and, as it's an extended stay type of hotel, the rooms are equipped with a fridge, stove, microwave & dishwasher. The decor was pleasing and wifi was included in to room price.

The fitness center was a bt better than average for a hotel. Precor (club quality) treadmills, elliptical & bike and they even had some free weights (dumbbells heavier than 15lbs would have been nice.....)

A hot breakfast was also included, pretty standard fare (eggs, bacon ,sausage, bagels etc etc) but it was well prepared and tasty and the decor in the meal area was definitely better than many I've seen.

It's just off 495 - very convenient location for going pretty much anywhere on LI and made it a breeze for the trip home.

Would definitely stay there again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

OMG, there are sooooooo many wonderful things to say about this hotel that I am not sure where to start.
All of the clerks at the Front Desk were very friendly and a joy to talk with. If you needed information about the area or where to go to eat, they were very knowledgeable. If you had a problem with your room, they were very helpful in getting a maintenance person or a housekeeper to assist.
The Housekeeping staff are very friendly and a joy to talk with.
The swimming pool and sauna are very nice and well maintained.
I thinking that I am saving what I think was the best part of my stay at the Homewood and that is the meals that they serve. The breakfast meals are okay and pretty much standard fare but the Chef (Yes, this hotel does have a Chef) comes up with a few surprises from time to time. His quiche is pretty good and does go quick. The hotel serves four dinners, Monday through Thursday and the Chef's meals are above the other Homewood Suites. If you are a vegetarian, the Chef almost always has something there for you as well. His salads are pretty varied and I do not think he has made one that I didn't like.
If you are coming to this area, I would highly recommend this hotel.
I will tell you that I stayed here at this hotel for almost six months straight.
In closing, I want to remind you to please tip the housekeeper.
Thank you for reading my opinion and I hope your stay will be as enjoyable as mine.
Sincerely,
Bill

Room Tip: I usually choose rooms near the lobby but only because I like to be near the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmmarye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here because an event I attended had blocked rooms. Was pleasantly surprised at how nicely the lobby and room were appointed. Staff extremely nice at check-in. Complimentary breakfast was best I've had at a hotel. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.1 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
1.6 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville

Property: Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Address: 1585 Round Swamp Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville Hotel Plainview
Homewood Suites Plainview
Homewood Plainview
Plainview Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing