We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

For business trips to Long Island, this is an extremely competitive property.
- A full hot breakfast is included, and dinners are included on weeknights. The breakfast is above average, with a meat, serviceable eggs, the waffle bar, and your typical continental fare, as well as one or two rotating dishes. Dinner is average; the dishes emphasize things that can be made in quantity, but there are fresh vegetables and respectable salads, and if you imbibe, you'll have a couple of (cheap) wine and beer options on a typical night. If you work late or have a significant commute, note that dinner may be cleaned up by the time you get back - at 7:30 sharp, the dishes start disappearing and the taps go dry.
- The rooms are exceptionally clean and the lobby, while busy, is an efficient hub. Elevators are not conveniently located, however.
- The fitness center is minimal but the business center is above average, if you travel without a computer or need access to reasonable printing.
- The air conditioner is surprisingly loud, but otherwise, the beds are comfortable, the shades darken reasonably well, and outside noise is isolated for a good night's sleep.
- Parking at the adjacent Hilton Garden Inn has a superior layout compared to the arrangement at the Homewood, but for a longer stay you can find parking adjacent to one of the exterior access points.
- The kitchen suites are extremely well appointed for an extended stay. On my visit, some Pepperidge Farms cookies and bottles of water were complimentary in the room on the first night.

Be sure you look into rates for any discount you can claim and you may find this is an economical way to conduct professional travel, especially once you factor in the value of the meals.

Room Tip: Check the rates for 1-bed suites if booking online. During times of low demand, suites may be the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 602 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

IMy business travels require me to be away from home for months at a time. The lobby of this hotel is nice and the food is phenomenal! However, I was not pleased with some of the staff and the lack of attention to detail that is given to hotel guest and the rooms.
When I arrived, I inquired about the surroundings on Long Island. I explained I am not from here and wanted to know where I could purchase groceries, go shopping and restaurants. I was told to “just Google”. I asked, don’t you have a listing of locals stores in the area and was told no. Okay, so I will “just Google”.

I went to my room and pulled out a dish that had food particles on it. The chairs and the couch were disgusting. The shower curtains appeared to have mold on them, but not sure, and one of the lights did not work in the bathroom. It was just horrible. I informed the person at the front desk and she said she would send someone up to clean and take care of everything. Ok. When I returned they put some, not all, of the dishes in the dishwasher, changed the shower curtain, put a new bulb in the bathroom and left the empty container on the sink! The thermostat went up to 100 and stayed there. So, I placed another call to the front desk receptionist.

I was eventually moved to another room which turned out to be worse than the 1st! At least I had, what appeared to be, clean dishes in this room but no pots or pans. After receiving some pots and pans, I placed one on the stove to cook. Why was my pot leaning? The burners were slanted toward the wall. Therefore, I was cooking on an angle. I pulled out the drawer and it too was slanted toward the wall. The dishwasher did not clean the dishes, the thermostat shot up to 100 and the furniture was disgusting. I sprayed everything with Lysol, put a towel on it and called the front desk.

There were children running through the halls, running over my head, doors slamming and washing machines that did not work properly. With the consistent noise, it was extremely difficult to concentrate on my projects for class. The cleaning people were CONSTANLY allowing the doors to slam as they were going in and out of the room!

Last but not least, this hotel does not participate in the Hilton’s double points program. Now, this would not be so bad, had I not called and inquired prior to choosing this hotel. I did request to speak with the manager, who stated, she would retrain her staff because she does not know who would have told me that they participated in the double points because they do not.
All in all, until elephants fly and horses moo, I would not stay at the hotel nor would I recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be your best bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have stayed here twice, and had one positive and one negative experience.

Positive experience: Quiet room on the third floor. Free upgrade to two bedroom from one bedroom. Courteous staff and service. A perfect hotel for me, my wife and two kids under five.

Negative experience: In a one bedroom so small you couldn't even put your luggage on the ground; bathroom was dirty; room was located on second floor just off smoking section and the hallway carpet smelled like what Sterling Cooper Draper must smell like - just a terrible hotel design. Fire alarm was pulled at 2 am causing an evacuation, and hotel staff were no where to be found. Didn't see a single staff person during the whole evacuation, which is a little troubling. It's not their fault the alarm was pulled, but staff seemed uninformed about what to do once it happened to ensure safe and proper evacuation.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 2nd floor if smoke smells bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jl_in_chevychase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great welcoming service and very professional staff. Always available to help.
As we do not have a lot of time when we travel but still enjoy an evening of quiet time, they have the perfect setting ; The food is very good as they have variety, gym and pool, nice outdoor setting with the mini basketball court and all the amenities close by.
Love the setting of the large rooms as well as the highway being close by but without the noise, not to forget the beaches in close proximity. We absolutely love going back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Lobby is large, well-appointed, warm and feels like the lobby of a much more pricey hotel. Rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable. Quiet as well. Perfect spot if you need to stay in the area. Very convenient to everything. Staff gave us a late check-out and all went seamlessly during our brief stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keepingitanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel costs quite a bit more than is reasonable for its class and location. The service, room size, decor, quality of furnishings and layout are below average to average.

The hotel also fails to participate in a number of HHonors promotions.

This Homewood is generally unimpressive. It may be the worst Homewood I've seen.

Room Tip: Pay for a bigger room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPodesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was a typical Homewood Suites. By that I mean it was comfortable and clean, but nothing extraordinary. The breakfast was what one would expect and the staff was working hard to replenish items that ran out during a busy morning. The suites were adequately-sized. One minor annoyance was that if you kept the bedroom door closed for a long time, it would create a big temperature difference between the rooms - bedroom became hot, living room a little cold.

Convenient location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.1 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
1.6 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel

Address: 1585 Round Swamp Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-5011 (Formerly Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range: $148 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious suites include complimentary WiFi, a fully equipped kitchen, and separate living and sleeping areas - perfect for extended stays, corporate housing and business travelers. Enjoy space to stretch out and a space for everyone at our hotel, which offers 1 and 2-bedroom suites as well as a comfortable pull-out sofa bed in the separate living room. Start your day right with our daily hot full buffet breakfast and unwind at our evening social* Monday - Thursday. Work out in our 24-hour fitness center or relax in the heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Take a stroll on Jones Beach or enjoy one of the many summer concerts. The hotel is located near the peaceful haven of Fire Island, Bethpage State Golf Course and many other golf courses in the area. Or, enjoy a tour of a Long Island vineyard or visit one of the many area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville Hotel Plainview
Homewood Suites Plainview
Homewood Plainview
Plainview Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing