We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place to stay on Long Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great family place to stay on Long Island”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stay here every time we visit Long Island. We have two young children and to find a one bedroom suite with an indoor pool and some meals included is perfect for us. The rooms and facility are always clean, the staff are friendly, the food has been good and plentiful. The kids love being able to swim before bed each night and the location is right near the expressway and Nassau/ Suffolk border. We are always happy with our stay there. They even had a room available for us when we arrived at 10am.

Room Tip: We never had a problem with any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    150
    44
    29
    29
See reviews for
274
89
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great staff and large clean rooms. Good breakfast buffet and complimentary too. Only complaint is the coffee is consistently horrible...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackstraw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My girlfriend booked us a suite with king bed, two queens, 2 baths, living room & kitchenette. The room was spacious, beds comfy, and the perfect place to freshen up and have our catch-up talks between visiting old haunts on LI. Convenient central location (right off LIE & Seaford-Oyster Bay Expwy) made it a quick run to great shopping & restaurants in Westbury, our hometown in Levittown, and to Jones Beach. The buffet breakfast included is quite generous - eggs, yogurt, fruit, juices, milk every day, with a changing pancake/waffle/french toast dish. Cereals & breads every day. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFPoolMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Upon arrival at the hotel lobby which happened to be quite late (after 11PM), we were greeted by a very cranky overnight clerk. Only moments earlier, he was smoking a cigarette outside and talking on his cell phone. He seemed to be irritated by the fact that we interrupted his smoke break and phone conversation. He held his head down during the entire check-in process and established no eye contact whatsoever. This is shame considering the property itself was quite lovely. However, first impressions are quite lasting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood350, General Manager at Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your day to extend words regarding the services rendered during your stay! Please accept my sincere apology for the less then perfect experience in my hotel. I would like to assure you that my team and I working towards 100% satisfaction and in this case we most certainly did not. When you have a free moment, please call me directly, I would love to get some details. Thank for your loyalty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We recently stayed at Homewood Suites with a large lacrosse group. The hotel accomodated us very well, even with a huge wedding that was there as well! They went out of their way to make sure we had a place for us to set up for the boys to eat after a long day of games. Our room was very nice, with a kitchenette which made being the water/gatorade coordinator very helpful. The air conditioner had a hard time keeping the entire room cool, but wasn't bad enough that I mentioned anything. Housekeeping was okay, they forgot to refresh shampoo, conditioner, soap a couple of the days, but the front desk took care of it immediately! We didn't use the pool but tried to take advantage of the hot tub - unfortunately there was way too much clorine and it burned our eyes so we had to scrap that not-so-relaxing experience. The location was great, grounds beautiful (no litter) and convenient to grocery stores, restaurants, etc. Overall we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxmom32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel is good but not great. Rooms are nice, well appointed and very clean although the mattress on the sofa sleeper is not very comfortable. Breakfast is good and it is in a good location if you plan on traveling in central Long Island but not for going into the city. The staff is very attentive and helpful, so I recommend this place, it is basic, but you will like it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brotsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The lobby (where the included full breakfast is served) is both classy and inviting. It has a fireplace, places to sit, and the computers, pool, and exercise equipment are just down the hall. Every room is a suite. Our room was L-shaped. The bathroom (with shower big enough for 2, or more) and bed were in one part of the L. The living room, dining room, and full kitchen (including plates, cutlery, etc.) were in the other section. Yet, it didn't feel cramped at all. I booked the room via the online reservation system. I do this for all hotels. However, this is the FIRST TIME ANYWHERE that an online request for extra bath towels and blanket was already fulfilled when I got to the room. Although we were there on the weekend, on weekdays the manager has get-togethers that include substantial dinner-like snacks. The location of the hotel made it easy to get to both North Shore and South Shore locations in about 15 to 20 minutes. We're coming back to Long Island in August and we're going to make this hotel are center of operations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterTiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.1 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville

Property: Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Address: 1585 Round Swamp Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville Hotel Plainview
Homewood Suites Plainview
Homewood Plainview
Plainview Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing