We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed here and we would certainly stay again. Staff was friendly--the janitor was nice too. The room was clean as was the rest of the hotel. My daughter loved the pool. Lots of food available for breakfast. A great hotel for families.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank got2swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood350, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Thank you for taking time out of your day to extend words of compliment regarding the services rendered during your stay! My team and I are delighted to have you as a guest at the Homewood Suites – Long Island. Our doors are always open to provide you with a home away from home accommodation. Please let know next time you are planning to be in town, so I can personally follow up on your reservation. Thank for your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 602 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

If you've ever stayed in one of these suite hotels, you know what they're like: large, convenient rooms in a building built, as a friend of mine said, out of cardboard and toothpicks. My daughter and I found our suite to be spacious, clean, and for the most part in good working order. Unfortunately I was awakened early Sunday morning by a loud dripping sound coming from the bathroom. When I went to investigate, I found water dripping into the shower -- not from the shower head, but from the ceiling. I called down to the desk and got a promise that an engineer would be sent up as soon as he arrived. He showed up about half an hour later; I showed him the leak and he left, presumably to go upstairs and find the source of the problem. The leak didn't reoccur, but I was a little worried about using that shower for the rest of my visit.

Other than that, everything worked fine. We enjoyed the free wifi, swimming pool, fitness room, pretty good breakfast, and extremely comfortable beds. We found the staff pleasant and helpful. There was some remodeling going on when we arrived and we had to squeeze past workmen in the hallway, but we didn't find the work at all disruptive once we were in the room, and everything seemed very clean. Overall it was nice enough that I'd be willing to risk a ceiling leak and stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vgshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

First of all, the place is clean, quiet and relatively new (only a couple of years old I think). Everything feels fresh. Second, it has a unique identity, and actually feels a bit different that most business hotels I stay in - which is really nice. They have a fee breakfast, and by all accounts a free dinner (though I didn't try it). Admittedly the breakfast was a bit sub-par compared to other places I've stayed - but it was free, so I just grabbed some stuff on the go and it didn't matter too much to me. In terms of the negative reviews, I'm thinking it must be a smear campaign from competitors. I'm a relatively tough critic, and this place was more than fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinPowers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We are currently staying here and our total stay will be 8 nights....we have encountered many issues: extremely rude and condescending employee at the desk, broken laundry facilities, hair in our sheets upon arrival, hair in our sheets after they were changed, dirty floors, a dead bug in our bed (praying it is not a bed bug), a clogged sink that we have requested maintenance on 5 times (they have come, but it is still not fixed), a rude maintenance worker.....and the list goes on. I am totally appalled that this is considered to be a Hilton hotel....we have stayed in several Homewood Suites before and never had a terrible experience like this.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had stayed here several years ago when visiting family and I was a bit worried about the state of the hotel for our recent stay. I was surprised to see things appearing very similar to years ago.

We pre-paid and got a good fare, even though it seemed a little steep still.

Staff was VERY accomodating and helpful. George got us set up with free cribs before we arrived and remembered our conversation on the phone when we checked in.

Room was very clean. Sofa Bed was worn and creaky.

Dinner M-Th nights was very welcome and handy, and free! The daily breakfast was very nice. We didn't waste time with anything but the bagels...gotta have those NY bagels when in NY!

I would recommend this hotel to others. It was a friendly stay. Had the hotel been more booked I can understand the issues with noise between floors. I'm also glad I didn't see any animals in the building.

Another in our party had the King studio while we had the one bedroom King. It seemed the studio had more space, maybe it was just the lack of a wall in the middle that made it feel so large.

The wireless internet worked like a charm and required my accepting T&C only once in the stay, not daily like many hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood350, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Thank you for taking time out of your day to extend words of compliment regarding the services rendered during your stay! My team and I are delighted to have you as a guest at the Homewood Suites – Long Island. Our doors are always open to provide you with a home away from home accommodation. Please let know next time you are planning to be in town, so I can personally follow up on your reservation. Thank for your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We left another Hilton property for this one and it was much better. Newer hotel, nice breakfast buffet and more modern rooms for same price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMMWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

There was a family of 8 in the room above us. They carried on and jumped on beds until 2 in the morning. The security guard was of no assistance, lying to us by saying there were only 2 people "talking" loudly in the room. We even called the Hilton main number and were told "if we didn't like it we should consider checking out." We have been Hilton Honors members for many years and cannot believe the horrible treatment we received. Needless to say we will make reservations at the Marriott hotels from this point on.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.1 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
1.6 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel

Address: 1585 Round Swamp Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-5011 (Formerly Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range: $148 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious suites include complimentary WiFi, a fully equipped kitchen, and separate living and sleeping areas - perfect for extended stays, corporate housing and business travelers. Enjoy space to stretch out and a space for everyone at our hotel, which offers 1 and 2-bedroom suites as well as a comfortable pull-out sofa bed in the separate living room. Start your day right with our daily hot full buffet breakfast and unwind at our evening social* Monday - Thursday. Work out in our 24-hour fitness center or relax in the heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Take a stroll on Jones Beach or enjoy one of the many summer concerts. The hotel is located near the peaceful haven of Fire Island, Bethpage State Golf Course and many other golf courses in the area. Or, enjoy a tour of a Long Island vineyard or visit one of the many area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville Hotel Plainview
Homewood Suites Plainview
Homewood Plainview
Plainview Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing