We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little coffee shop on Long Island!”
Review of Center Coffee Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Center Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Plainview
Cuisines: American
Description: tel 516-931-8144
Restaurant details
Description: tel 516-931-8144
Seaford, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best little coffee shop on Long Island!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fresh food, fresh coffee, always a hello! Love going here for lunch (where I sometimes have breakfast.) The food is always cooked to order. Small and cozy, always feel welcome here. I love their great spinach pie special. The hamburgers are good, breakfast the best.
the waitresses have been here for a long time and their customers. Love going here, a must try if your in the area, like stepping back in time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeannine130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a breakfast gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This small coffee shop has the BEST food for breakfast (that is the only meal that I have eaten there). Their waitresses are very accommodating, and friendly. The only drawback is that you have to pay cash, but it is worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sallyfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, New York
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great local spot for breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Great neighborhood coffee shop. I've been coming here for years mostly every Saturday morning. I see the same people every week. Small but very fresh and delicious food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 388bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A real place to eat. I wish there were loads more like it.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is great. Food is great. Niko - the guy who does the cooking and owns the place - is a true pleasure - always says hello when we go there.
The place is a bit like Cheers - we've been going there for almost 14 years - and when we go in, you get hellos from all the waitresses and staff. The food is not fancy, but for omelets, home fries, burgers, Greek salads, and other basics, it can;t be beat.
The waitresses are "old school" waitresses - i.e they hustle and work hard. Your food will arrive super hot, and literally fresh off the griddle.
The place has gotten crowded over the years (apparently no one can keep a secret). You may have to wait a bit to be seated. If you see an open table, sit down and someone will soon trot over. It's one of those places where they ask if you want a menu (I think that's cool - that you can just go with "Uhhh...can I have some eggs, home fries, a bagel, some coffee and a vanilla milk shake for my son" and it all just comes. None of that, "We don't have that."
Orange juice is fresh squeezed. I don't drink orange juice except for when I go there.
The place is not huge - it is a traditional coffee shop - long and narrow.
Overall, the place is clean, has good food and service, and is reasonably priced.
If you like real food, and real hardworking people, you will really like this place.
Oh - say hello to Phylis if you go. All the waitresses are good, but she is the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forseeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

It's not fancy but the food is very good and cooked how you want it. Besides the standard omelets they will make any combination you want. Whether you order eggs over easy, medium or well they always do it right. Their home fries are really tasty. I always tell them to burn the potatoes and they do it perfectly. Have also gone occasionally for lunch and they have the usual selection of sandwiches that are tasty and well stuffed. If you're looking for a quick tasty meal this is the spot. Service is always friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ron2putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center Coffee Shop also viewed

Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 
Plainview, Long Island
 
Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 

Been to Center Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing