We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Floundering”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Fish Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Fish Grill
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Floundering”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were disappointed by our experience at Red Fish Grill. Overall, although the waitstaff was friendly, they were quite forgetful. We had to ask for several items quite a few times. In addition, the food was bland at best. I ordered a "pick two" platter and it seemed as though the food was carelessly thrown onto the plate. Moreover, the mashed potatoes on both my plate and my husband's plate were cold. There was nothing above average about any item that we ordered. We also thought that it was a bit pricy for the overall quality or food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenofHearts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
281 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Food was lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

On the whole, I would say this restaurant was average. The service - meaning the waitress - was great, but the food fell below my expectations. Our alcoholic beverages were too strong. However they were replaced. Our Tai lettuce wraps were tasty and presented beautifully, but they fell apart consistently. My Ahi Tuna burger had no flavor. We were all totally disappointed with our desserts. We ordered a cheesecake and a key lime pie. Both tasted like they came out of a box. For the price they charged for a small slice, w
I wished they were home made. Very disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey3091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Plainview”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

For a town not known for its cuisine, this is probably as good as it gets. I only go on weekdays or get take out and there is never a big wait. I wish there were more non-fish options so I could get my meat-eating husband to go with me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnoozyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value in fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have frequented this restaurant many times since it first opened and I have only been disappointed when they have taken a special off the menu. The Kung Po Calamari, and the Thai Lettuce wraps are wonderful. Entrees of Asian Lacquered Sea Bass to Jambalaya are all done with great care. With exquisite presentation by the Chef. The wine choices I have never been short on interest and they use an Extra large glass so you actually are getting a nice glass of wine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Islander
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went there with another couple and was seated promptly. Service was good. We wanted the frice fix meal, but thy only served it until 6pm. The asian calamari apitizer was delicious as was the jambalia for the entre. But stay away from the drinks . . they are too pricey. We were served our wine (it was a half glass) folr $12 each which turned a good and reasonable meal into an expensive one. Will try them again in the future, but will drink water next time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 
Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 
Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing