We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, average service”
Review of Kumo Sushi

Kumo Sushi
Ranked #19 of 86 Restaurants in Plainview
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent food, average service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had been there for lunch, I ordered the sushi lunch, while my friends ordered maki lunch, sashimi lunch and Volcano roll. The lunches came with miso soup and salad. The volcano roll was spicy tuna with avacado. It looked quite colorful. I will try that next time. Here the service is very quick during lunch we were in and out in less than 30 minutes thats a plus for lunches from office. But the service levels does need improvement. The waitress was particular hurry and would often throw our orders.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go There!!!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I’ve been going to Komo Sushi since they opened and always liked to food. Lately, we have noticed a very bad crowd in there drinking heavily, getting loud and dropping F bombs everywhere. The last time I was there with my family they were making all kinds of noise. I politely asked them to tone it down, this is when the father and son assaulted me. They cornered me, told me they were going to kill me and my family, also poke out my wife’s eyes all in front of my daughter. We asked the people at counter to call the police and they said no we are taking orders. We were told by the owner that these animals fight with other patrons all the time but since they spend a lot of money so it’s alright. Of course the Police came and watched the video and since I ducked the punch they would not make an arrest. The owners of Komo Sushi knowingly and willfully put revenues above the safety of anyone else in the restaurant. I suggest that no body that reads this review ever go to Kumo Sushi, they will be closed soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sushilover47601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had a quick dinner by myself this week. I have been to kumo on another occasion and had liked it. I ate at the sushi bar and was entertained by the four sushi chef's churning out massive amounts of shusi rolls. Very busy, very fresh. and very tasty! I had a toro appetizer and a fried oyster in garlic butter, yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank designit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"pretty good"”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We do enjoy this sushi place. It has pretty unique rolls and a good variety, not overwhelming variety. Many people enjoy this place. It is in a strip mall (next to Fairway market).
Good drink menu. It does have high ceilings, it is very dark, as they do not let any light in. The windows are always covered by opaque curtains. The service was okay, I know they have a tendency to rush. Reservations are only accepted for a party of 3 or more.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeachz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

great sushi, great service. best sushi in the area., love the live scallop and sapparo giant beer!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kumo Sushi also viewed

Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 
Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 
Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 

Been to Kumo Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing