We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, a bit noisy”

Pomodoro Grill and Wine Bar
Ranked #34 of 61 Restaurants in Pittsford
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: French Road
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, a bit noisy”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have just had my second visit to Pomodoro in Pittsford & both times LOVED the food. First visit I had pizza, and this time I ordered shish kebabs. the kebabs are quite big, and were cooked exactly as I requested. I really enjoyed the bread and salad that came with it, and the Tuscan bean soup is fabulous. Our server Jenna was just delightful, very attentive and friendly. Pomodoro is a bit on the pricey side, but it's worth it for a consistently pleasant experience. The only reason I don't give it five stars is that the place is very noisy. It's just the way it's constructed, nothing to do with particularly loud patrons or large crowds. And I agree with the previous reviewer who says that when there's live music, it's hard to have a conversation. I don't think they ought to have live music there at all, it does not add to the ambience, and the acoustics aren't great for the performer either. the sound is loud AND muddy.

I would recommend this for couples or groups, but probably not for families with young children.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regardez403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    24
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
267 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Haven't been here since it was called Brio. Everything was excellent as I remembered, service was great, food was excellent, great wine list. The summer risoto was awesome. Reasonably priced too. I'll be back. The jazz band adds a nice touch and I didn't think it was too loud like the last reviewer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarkvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“below expectation”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Recently I noticed that what used to be Brio is now Pomodoro. I've been to the original Pomodoro on University Avenue before and enjoyed the food there. This new location is more convenient so I took the family there on my daughter's birthday, promising her great food.

Well I was disappointed. The ambiance does well feel as welcome as the original Pomodoro. The food is below my expectation for the price and compared to my previous experience.

When we walked out, no one said anything like "have a good evening" or "thank you for coming".

Interestingly, the receipt still says "Brio" rather than Pomodoro. Did we get mislead by the name change? I also tried Brio before and was not impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACMMM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice to Sit Outside”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place has delicious food (love the salmon), and a nice atmosphere outside. The waitstaff is the best. It's a great place to go with friends on a warm evening. If I ranked it just for the outside, it would be "Excellent".
The big drawback is that it is SO LOUD inside....and when they have a musician, it makes polite conversation almost impossible....therefore, I have to give it an "Average" rating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant I've been to....”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was my second visit to Pomodoro's. It was as good as the first. The service was exceptional. The waitress was very attentive, making sure that everything was in order. Little things make the difference, like bringing me a soft drink refill before I had the chance to ask. We had crab cakes and the Triple hummus for appetizers. Full of flavor and well seasoned. We ordered the Penne Putanesca, Paella and the Roasted Red Pepper Tortellini. All the dishes were cooked to perfection. The 3 of us enjoyed our meal. The service and quality of the food are first rate. Whenever I visit Rochester this restaurant deserves a visit. 5 stars!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro Grill and Wine Bar also viewed

Pittsford, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Pittsford, Finger Lakes
Pittsford, Finger Lakes
 
Pittsford, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Pomodoro Grill and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing