We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pittsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully done hotel with pleasant helpful staff. The lobby and public rooms are quite nicely done. The guest rooms are large and comfortable. There is a pretty little indoor pool and gym. It's a very quick walk into town across the Erie Canal to get to cute little shops and cages.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 315 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a most outstanding first day of my two week stay leading up to the PGA Championship. Travis checked me into the hotel with great care and detail and Joseph provided me with most efficient and welcoming shuttle van service from the Amtrak train station. The Pebble Beach Suite (Room 304) has a very comfortable king sized bed, two bathrooms, two flat screen TV sets, two leather recliner chairs, a leather sofa with a glass cocktail table, a refrigerator, along with a sleeping room and a separate living room with a separate door. Lighting was exceptional with even small reading lamps on top of the headboard.

Was extremely impressed with the cleanliness and how fully equipped the room was by their Housekeeping department. Filled out a Virtual Concierge form before my stay by email and every request was fulfilled from extra towels and pillows to even sample size toothpaste, deodorant, and shaving cream.

The Erie Grill (see separate review) was a very special dining experience. Kristina provided me with efficient, welcoming, and most knowledgeable service towards the menu. Jacqueline, the manager, was highly visible and asked me how everything was. Had great tomato bisque soup, striped bass, and flourless chocolate cake. It was just renovated in April, 2013.

The major strength of this hotel is the genuine friendliness and caringness of every staff member that I encountered on my first day here. Jeremy provided me with complete information on the Sam Patch Erie Canal cruise that I will take on Tuesday, and the hotel's shuttle service can take you anywhere in the Rochester area. The location is ideal for exploring the beautiful village of Pittsford with many restaurants and shops.

The Renaissance Del Monte is also the perfect base for the upcoming PGA Championship next week, where I will volunteer in the Media Center. For an exceptional hotel experience in the Roichester area, no other property offers both the personalized service and full service facilities in a small boutique hotel like the Renaissance Del Monte Lodge. A complete spa, indoor pool, and small fitness center, along with a business center round out the facilities.

Made the right choice for this hotel stay for sure!

Room Tip: Room 304 is one of two suites (The Pebble Beach Suite) in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels for many years, the Del Monte Lodge is top notch. The service is effortless and the entire facility is pristine. Any time I have stayed at the Del Monte Lodge in the past 10 years for business or pleasure, it is absolute perfection.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Driving the family from Michigan to the Baseball Hall of Fame, we wanted to find a place a bit off the highway but within 2.5 hours of the Hall to allow us to visit Cooperstown and also Niagara Falls. Since I prefer mostly Marriott or SPG properties, we were a bit limited. The Rochester area seemed the best place to stay, and the obvious choice was the Del Monte Renaissance in Pittsford. After a late departure, we arrived after midnight. Thankfully, check-in went perfect, smooth, and fast. A nice room was ready for us, followed by a terrific breakfast in the morning. In the evening the hotel suggested a few local restaurants and this walk allowed us to soak-up Pittsford -- we felt like the only tourists in town. LOVED IT! And then later the workout facilities were perfect -- even with a college athlete in tow. Breakfast and checkout the next day went equally well. When a hotel can make everyone in a family LOVE it and want to come back, then it rates 5 stars to us! It's a bit more expensive than a basic hotel on the highway... but the experience and value were TOPS!

Room Tip: Be sure to explore Pittsford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickinShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I only stayed for 1 night, but had a good experience at the Del Monte overall.

Check in was a bit chaotic, with 3 people checking in and 3 desk agents assisting all 3 at the same time, but not really dealing directly with anyone. I had to specifically ask for my minibar key after it was offered to the other guests checking in, but not me.

The rooms are nice with furniture that's experienced some wear and age. The beds are very comfortable though. The bathroom doesn't have a fan, so the mirrors took forever to unfog after my shower.

The gym is small but adequate, although there are only 3 treadmills (one was broken but no sign saying so), an elliptical and free weights.

I also tried to check out via the tv as advertised on the checkout slip, but someone else's name kept coming up.

Room Tip: Room 205 overlooked the train tracks, and a noisy train went by in the afternoon. Didn't hear an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night in July. The room was large and comfortable. What sets this place apart is the service, and specifically, the big comfy shuttle van that is on call for all guests. The shuttle was so useful that we used it multiple times and didn't have to rent a car for our stay. The surrounding neighborhood is beautiful and is fun to walk around in. The canal is a few hundred feet away and has a great walking/biking path. Two slight negatives: the hotel is 15 minutes outside of Rochester, so if you need to stay in the city, this may not be the right place. Also, the place seems pricey for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanderreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed one night at the DelMonte Lodge with a breakfast package. The property is very well kept and it is evident that it is an upscale hotel upon entering the lobby. The staff are extremely professional, yet friendly. Marble in the bathroom, bathrobes in the closet, toothpaste, etc at the sink. We could see the canal from our room, which was wonderful. There is a key to the minibar, so If you want to utilize any refrigerator space, you need to get the key at check-in. We did not realize that. We were on the third floor and the only ice machine was on the first floor, so that was a bit of a pain, but we survived. We took the stairs most of the time and got our exercise. The pool was nice and warm and a decent size. The hottub, however, was extremely small - really just comfortable for two people. We were in it with a third person and it was okay, but a little cozier than I'd like. The hotel is right on the canal, so there is the opportunity for lots of walking, running, biking. Restaurants, bakeries and a few small shops right up the street. Loved not needing to use the car. Free, convenient parking. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsford
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/Pittsford
5.6 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#21 of 29 in Rochester
1,183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Rochester East/Penfield
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester Penfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa

Address: 41 North Main Street, Pittsford, NY 14534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Pittsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pittsford
Price Range: $200 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the extraordinary at The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa. Our exceptional hotel in Pittsford, New York sits right along the historic Erie Canal. We are a AAA 4-Diamond property offering contemporary design and subtle rustic accents, and our deluxe accommodations provide thoughtful touches like pillow-top mattresses dressed with custom duvets. Stay with us and enjoy culture nearby in top destinations like George Eastman Museum, the Village of Pittsford and Downtown Rochester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Del Monte Hotel Pittsford
Renaissance Pittsford
Pittsford Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing