We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the area”

Lia's Mountain View
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lia's Mountain View is a family owned and operated restaurant. Opened in May of 1983 by Giuseppe and Antonina Mirto. Lia's offers Italian dishes as well as some American favorites, and Pizza!
Pine Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Since we live in the area, it's our regular spot for about 15 years. Consistently good food and service. When the weather is nice, you may sit outdoors out back and watch the sunset over Stissing Mountain. There is also a bocce court. Roe makes a great homemade tiramisu. Family owned and operated, everyone knows our name and we have our special table. The bar is nice too. Best pizza around and I highly recommend the sicilian pizza. Recently rebuilt after fire damage so the inside is top notch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Pine Plains!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Yes, it is even better that that fancy restaurant on the corner by the traffic light. We have dined her numerous times and have always been pleased with the food and service. They have a very varied Italian menu and the food is always consistent. There are usually specials on weekends.
I recommend any of the veal dishes and the scallops with spinach are excellent. You should enjoy anything listed on the menu and the moderate prices are good considering the quality and taste of the food is very good.
The restaurant has a full bar and a bar area that is separate from the main dining room. This makes it a god place to take children, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back in business, as good as ever!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Has been back in business since about Thanksgiving 2011, after being closed more than a year due to a kitchen fire. Decor in main dining room much nicer without being fancy. Same good food, friendly family service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mingus46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“wonderful Italian food”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Have reopened after a fire. Hope food is still as good. Fun to sit outside - surrounded by corn fields - has a bocci court which is fun for the kids

Helpful?
Thank F00die2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent but closed (temporarily I hope)”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Has been really great. Wanted to go there today (7/16/10). Sign said "closed for repairs." Come back, please. It is the best restaurant in Pine Plains and you get treated like family. I hope this isn't all in the past tense.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mingus46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lia's Mountain View also viewed

 

Been to Lia's Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing