We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town country charm”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Pine Hill B&B and Inns
Pine Hill, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Small town country charm”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I love the Colonial Inn. I love staying there and eating there. Their Sat, night buffet is wonderful home cooking and lots to chose from at very reasonable prices. The atmosphere is relaxing and laid back. Steve the own is very accommodating and friendly. One of my favorite places.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is the worst place I have stayed in the Catskills. It is a decrepit mess that is falling apart from years of neglect. No hot water, shoddy showers, no locks on doors or lost keys, bathroom doors that wont close, no control over heat or cold, and a bar that randomly changes the cost of drinks from one day to the next.

They even had a rock band playing till 3am in the morning with paper thin walls. When we got up in the morning, there were local town folk drunk and passed out all over the floors and lobby, and groups still partying at 8am (presumably coked up). I guess they never heard of "you don't have to go home, but you can't stay here." saying.

The owners are surly, mostly absent and overcharge for a mess of an establishment.

The building is unsafe with weird electrical wires hanging from the ceiling, smoke alarms that have been disconnected and weird furniture abandoned in the hallways causing a fire hazard.

I was too scared to try the buffet after seeing what the rest of the place looked like. If you eat there, you are braver than me.

Go to the Rose Motel, Phoenicia Lodge, or 87 motel if you want a cheap price and a comfortable stay in the Catskills.

The fire and health inspectors must have been bribed to let this place continue to operate.

Room Tip: Rent a room somwhere else. Please! You will thank me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zerofence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pine Hill hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here with my family (ages 27-63) last September 2010. We had a great time thanks to Steve the owner, who is an easygoing, attentive and friendly host who liked chatting and telling us about the area. He let us pick any room we wanted since the place had a lot of unique rooms and only 3 or so other guests. We came with the family dog, who loved playing with Steve's tiny dog. This place is appropriately named since it was probably built in Colonial times - the rooms are old and musty, the shower stall was not comfortable to use, and the decor very outdated. However, my family felt transported back in time. They also loved the unbelievably low rate, which included breakfast cooked just for us. The place was near good hiking trails and a community pond. At night this place was the center of community life, as locals come for dinner or a beer, and to hang out in the lounge to watch TV. Steve is the quintessential antique hoarder, and there are lots of interesting things to check out in the common areas. It was sort of a cultural experience for us "East Coast" urban/suburban types. We all left incredibly charmed and feeling relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpleworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The buffet is big and the prices still low - good home-cooked food, but don't expect anything fancy. I like the rustic atmosphere, but it is not elegant, so be warned :).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Hill
4.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
84 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
120 reviews
9.9 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
112 reviews
5.5 mi away
Slide Mountain Forest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 305 Main St, Pine Hill, NY 12465
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Pine Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pine Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing