We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Backache”
Review of Phoenicia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenicia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I was unable to get a cottage for the weekend and rented a couple of motel rooms instead. The rooms were small (or cozy, as per the brochure) but they were clean, cheap, had cable TV, and the owners are nice people. However, the place needs some updating. I would start with new beds in the rooms. I had a nice time here, but my back didn't.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonster112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoeniciavillage, Owner at Phoenicia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2008

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us.

Since purchasing the lodge three years ago, my husband and I have worked diligently to continually make updates. In fact, every week we complete a project that results in another update. Unfortunately, it is a lengthy process. We've replaced half of the beds on the premises, updated bathrooms, installed new floors and done lots of painting, among many other updates too varied to describe.

We hope you'll consider staying with us again, we'd be happy to place you in a room that better suits your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 139 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2008

We rented a cottage with our teenage children for four nights. It was a great place to stay. The owners were friendly and helpful, the cottage was clean and tidy and it was very good value. The barbecue meant that we didn't have to spend a fortune on eating out. My teenagers had lots of fun in one of the hammocks right by the cottage, while my husband and I sat on the porch with a glass of wine - perfect peace after five days in New York. It's not luxury, but what would you expect for the price. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank chalkntalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

My wife, myself and our 2 children ages 4 and 5 and our dog
Dora spent a 3 day weekend in cabin 6. We loved the experience! The cabin was clean and cozy and the 4 of us were quite comfortable there. With a bbq just outside our cabin we cooked out the whole weekend. The fire ring was great, we hung out with some other quests and made smores(never had them before and I loved them). The river was a short walk where we fished and swam our days away. It was fast moving in spots so we found a great little swimming hole... the tubers and kayaks were going by all day ... it was a lot of fun! Our hosts were friendly and accommodating.. our children loved their chocolate muffins. With gas and expenses on the rise it was a great way for our family to have a summer vacation and have it cost effective. We cant wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank richkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We stayed for one night on May 2008 in room 11 for a stop on a long drive from NYC to Canada. It's in Catskill Park, and the drive through is beautiful. the room is not too big and the furnitures are old but it was cosy and very very clean. The place is very simple and not fancy but for us for that just one night it was perfect!!! If you need a place to shower and sleep that is very clean - that's the place for you. we payed 67$ + tax and the price includes coffee, muffins and fruits in the morning. There's no way near to have a good dinner so take that into consideration while planning your schedule. better to eat before you arrive to that area.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engagedny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I just came home from a weekend here with my husband and my parents. We rented 2 cabins. The cabins were very clean. One cabin had a fireplace. We spent the days doing cool cheesy tourist stuff including seeing the worlds largest kalidoscope, and we went to Opus 40. We also went to a beer and wine festival at hunter mountain.
After we got back to the cabins in the afternoon we cooked out on the charcoal grills that were provided for each cabin. After dinner we would start a fire pit that was in the center of all the cabins. We met 2 other couples that were staying the weekend and ended up drinking beer and hanging out all night with them. There was picinic tables for each cabin and 2 folding chairs but we brought our own chairs because ours looked more comfy.
The cabins were decorated nicely with cute quilts on the beds and our cabin had a really nice kitchen tables and chairs from the 60's. I thought that this was a great inexpensive place to spend the weekend to just relax.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Silvergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoeniciavillage, Owner at Phoenicia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2007

Thanks for the great review, we're glad you had a good time and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potager33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
15.9 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
298 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
16.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Lodge

Address: 5987 State Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Mid-Century roots, the Phoenicia Lodge has been restored to marry the spirit of the past with the comfort and convenience of today. Our rooms, cottages and suites are perfectly situated in a wooded valley between Route 28 and the Esopus Creek, surrounded by the gorgeous Catskill Mountains and just around the corner from Main Street Phoenicia's fantastic shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Phoenicia
Phoenicia Village Hotel
Phoenicia Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing