We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenicia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenicia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phoenicia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Absolutely amazing!! I can't say enough about what A wonderful time I had at Phoenicia Lodge!! I loved it!! The cabins were beautiful, the landscape is amazing. Right up the street are some rapids and a little bridge that is great for photo ops. There's a diner and a restaurant down the street with amazing food and the town of Phoenicia is right down the street. It's small and quaint. The whole experience was peaceful. The family that own the lodge are very friendly and helpful. I had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Simply perfect. That sums up our weekend getaway at the Phoenicia Lodge. Perfect location, perfect cabin, and the owners Sara and Brian were amazing to sit down and chat with. It was our first stay there and my wife and I are already planning our next trip. The cabins are SO clean and SO comfortable, the grounds are BEAUTIFUL, and the location to Main Street Phoenicia, Woodstock, and the scenic Catskill Mountains could not be better. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LODGE. I have been home for 3 days and I can't stop thinking about how beautiful the lodge and the surrounding area is. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattMattyMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The place & the grounds were well kept, pretty & relaxing. The fire pit behind the cabins is great. Pet stay free which is a big plus. Free continental breakfast. Very close to Phoenicia Main street (less than 5min drive) for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sweet Sue's breakfast especially the pancakes, Brio's breakfast, Lunch & dinner were all good. Mama Boy's had great muffins.
The only thing I would like to see inside the cabin is shampoo, a SHELF in the bathroom to put stuff, paper towel, & dust pan. We didn't cook so kitchen utensils were not a big deal.
The only complaint is the ice tray in the freezer. They were dirty. I cleaned them.
Other than that, it was great mini vacation. Will visit again.

Room Tip: The cabins are further away from rt.28. Not much further. Some traffic noise but not a lot. Stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank onthemoveNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were a group of 5 girls from NYC, looking for a nice weekend away. We stayed in 2 cottages.The lodge was absolutely lovely! The grounds were very well maintained. Everything was clean, tidy and super cute! The cottages were very well equipped - you could find everything from broom to bottle opener, mixer and pots. It really felt like a home away from home :) The hammocks and fireplace were very enjoyable, especially at night when we made smores. The lodge even provided wood!
The hosts were really kind and hospitable! Upon our arrival, Sara baked delicious chocolate chip cookies - yummm! Sara and Brian were very helpful with recommendations, and maps and all kinds of info. The children were very cute and friendly!
Oh and Breakfast was really good too :)
I definitely recommend the Phoenicia lodge, and plan to return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Phoenicia Lodge. Next time we'll probably stay in the cabin -- the motel room was a big small and didn't have good sound barriers. That being said, it was still very clean and well-maintained and adorable. There was an flatscreen tv with basic cable. Our dvd player didn't work, but we were able to play one of the DVDs we got from the office. Free breakfast (oatmeal, bagels, fruit, granola bars, greek yogurt, coffee, OJ) is in the office starting at 8am. The owners are super nice and helpful with hiking recommendations.

The lodge is close enough to Phoenicia that you can walk there in about 15-20 minutes. We could hear the Esopus creek from our motel room's porch. There are two hammocks behind the cottages and a fire pit. Shower in the room was great, and they also clean the motel rooms daily.

Room Tip: Choose one of the cabins for room to stretch out and some privacy -- the motel rooms are a bit small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plural39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoeniciavillage, Owner at Phoenicia Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review! Just wanted to note that we are aware of, and do have plans to improve, the soundproofing between the motel rooms (darn 1940s construction). It's a complicated project, but we're nearly ready to wrap our heads around it. Thanks for your (and everyone's) patience as we continue to work through our never-ending to do list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed there in May 2011 for a week and loved it. We stayed in the L-shaped cabin. Our little one was 20 mths & 1 wk old. It was perfect. It was clean, easy to get to and had a pretty backdrop. The owners & their family (as well as their dog) were very friendly. Our cabin had a fenced in little yard and a sandbox which was perfect for our child. It made for a very happy waddler and family! We explore the Catskill area while we were there & each afternoon/night that we returned to the cabin, it was just perfect.

Room Tip: Even though the L-shaped cabin was hooked on to the other "motel" rooms, we didn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a great place! This motel has existed since the 1940's and a lot of things are still the way they were back then, but in a positive way. Yes, the rooms are small, but cosy and charming. We loved every minute of it. The rooms do have everything you need, tv and dvd's (good collection). Breakfast can be obtained at the reception. Very generous breakfast, and good coffee. Helpful and friendly staff. Very good value for money. We would go here again if in the region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
17.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
19.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
7.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Lodge

Property: Phoenicia Lodge
Address: 5987 State Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Mid-Century roots, the Phoenicia Lodge has been restored to marry the spirit of the past with the comfort and convenience of today. Our rooms, cottages and suites are perfectly situated in a wooded valley between Route 28 and the Esopus Creek, surrounded by the gorgeous Catskill Mountains and just around the corner from Main Street Phoenicia's fantastic shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Phoenicia
Phoenicia Village Hotel
Phoenicia Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing