We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in a nutshell”
Review of Phoenicia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenicia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility in a nutshell”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a more cosy, peaceful and comfy retreat whilst exploring the Catskills over a long weekend in March. My girlfriend was especially taken by the hammock that was pitched just outside our cabin! And the fact that we had a fire in our lounge area!

Beautiful location, friendly and warm owners who were especially welcoming, and a very comfy bed to boot. Pretty much a perfect place. Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here Dec. 26-28 2011 for a little getaway from the Long Island grind. Cottages are cute and nicely stocked with all the bedding and kitchen equipment you need.

Location: The town of Phoenicia, about 2 minutes away, has a couple of cute restaurants and a gas station for all your beer-buying needs. There is a supermarket about 10 minutes east. The town of Woodstock, with a ton of galleries, shops, and cafes, is about a half an hour. There are ski areas nearby too.

The cottages each have their own bathroom with shower stall and a little porch. The complex featured a community fire pit and was right next to the Esopus creek-- we didn't really take advantage of these features as winter guests.

One caveat- we wanted a romantic fireplace, and the cottages are advertised as featuring one. The fireplaces, while good for heat, are gas-powered and thermostat-controlled, so not as much fun as the real thing.

The managers are very nice and helpful, listen to any recommendations they make. The nearby Peekamoose tavern was one and it was NYC-style gourmet and delicious.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Lovely place nestled in the Catskills
This is a lovely place nestled in the Catskills Mountains, we stayed in cottage 6 for two nights, we arrived at noon, and the owners allowed us get into the cottage, though the check in is in the afternoon.
The cottagen was cozy, very clean, with a full kitchen, an old TV, fireplace, air conditioning and internet service. The owners are very helpful, in the mornings they offer coffee, juice, muffins, etc. in the reception. We wanted to cook hot dogs and burgers in the charcoal grill and they provided us with the charcoal.
The place is half a mile to the town of Phoenicia where you can eat, and buy the basic groceries.
I can't remember any problem during the stay.

Room Tip: Cottage 6 has no connection with other cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zantoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were recently at the Phenicia Lodge for the weekend. Hightly recommend it. Very clean and updates are done real well. We stayed in suite 13 above the office and it was cozy and we liked the large bed. Suggestion: there isn't very much in the way of grocery stores on Rte #28 or in the ciy of Phoenicia. I would suggest shopping in Kingston or perhaps Woodstock (which is about 13 miles from Rte 28) for groceries before getting to the Lodge. It is a well run facility with a sweet couple that own it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

There's not much to say that hasn't been said. The cabins are cute and well decorated. The price is amazing for what you get. There are a lot of places nearby that are MUCH more expensive, but I can't imagine that you get more.

You can meet neighbors at the campfire or stay cozy inside. The area is great for anyone who loves being close to nature.

Room Tip: Double cabins do let some noise through. The neighbors woke my husband, but didn't wake me. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahguent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Phonecia Lodge for a two nights and three days at the end of October. From the moment we arrived the innkeepers, Sara and Brian, were extremely friendly and accommodating. Because we were in town to see a show and got a little lost we did not make the 10pm check-in dead line but even after hours Sarah answered the door and gave us the keys to our room saying we could worry about checking in the next morning. The rooms were were standard hotel rooms, very clean, with a nice TV and DVD player. The only thing that could have been better was that the walls seemed thin (I could hear everything going on outside and my boyfriend said he could hear someone in the next room coughing) and there was no bathtub, just shower. However, we stayed in a room and they also have cabins so maybe those are different.
The main office had free mini bagels, granola bars, fruit, oatmeal, tea, coffee, yogurt, and hot chocolate from 8am and all day which was very nice. They also had a nice selection of DVDs you could watch in your room at no extra cost.
The rates are very reasonable ($70 a night off-peak season for a room)
Although the town of Phonecia doesn't have much to do, Woodstock and Kingston are nearby and have cute stores and a shopping mall, respectively. And of course, the beautiful nature is the biggest attraction. Next time I want to make a trip to the area I will most likely stay here again. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RationalConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gensac
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Cute, clean cabins in a lovely location. We only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice and free coffee all day. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We had cabin 3 and although attached to cabin 2 this is in a lovely location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chateauvalens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
11.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
83 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
47 reviews
19.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
165 reviews
17.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Lodge

Property: Phoenicia Lodge
Address: 5987 State Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Mid-Century roots, the Phoenicia Lodge has been restored to marry the spirit of the past with the comfort and convenience of today. Our rooms, cottages and suites are perfectly situated in a wooded valley between Route 28 and the Esopus Creek, surrounded by the gorgeous Catskill Mountains and just around the corner from Main Street Phoenicia's fantastic shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Phoenicia
Phoenicia Village Hotel
Phoenicia Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing