We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Belle will leave you ringing for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phoenicia Belle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenicia Belle
Ranked #1 of 2 Phoenicia B&B and Inns
Brooklyn
1 review
“The Belle will leave you ringing for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at the Belle for 3 days in July and our only complaint is it wasn't enough time. Tom was the perfect host and a true gentleman. We arrived by bus and knowing this,Tom offered to give us a ride whenever we needed it to wherever we needed to go. Also staying at the Belle during our time there were another couple and a family of four from Italy. By the time we left all of us have become friends. Tom made all of us feel at ease and at home. We watched TV together in the common room and had great fun doing so. The Belle is located across the street from a choice of restaurants so you don't need to go far for lunch or a nice dinner. The room we stayed in was big, beautiful,and well cleaned. My wife and I have stayed in many a B-N-B over the years and the Belle goes to the top of the list of our favorites. So do yourself a favor. If your ever in the Phoenicia area and need a place to stay,ring the Belle. It will have you ringing for more.
Joe Furey

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Everything about the Belle was perfect. The bedrooms were perfect, the bathroom was perfect, the living room was perfect along with perfectly presented breakfasts. Tom was the perfect host. I selected the Belle from the good reviews that I read on trip advisor and on the pictures presented. The camera did not lie, the rooms were picture perfect. I loved everything about the Belle and so did my husband and 17year old son. I would go there again tomorrow. The location is whisper quite without the hint of noise at night. No steam trains roaring by just perfect peace and quiet. A most special place to stay!

  • Liked — The delightful decor and the beautiful restored building
  • Disliked — There was nothing about this accommodation that i didn't like. It was perfect.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

Very cozy and clean, the owner was always ready to help. Excellent stopping point for our bicycle trip through the catskills due to location in the middle of this unique town with plenty of great food within walking distance. By the way did I say clean ?

Thanks again
Joe G

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joegio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

The Phoenicia Belle just couldn't be any cuter, cleaner or more welcoming! I originally had my heart set on going to Kate's Lazy Meadow, but after reading the reviews on tripadvisor, decided that maybe we could do better. I almost gave up before stumbling on the excellent reviews of the Belle. We stayed in Violet's suite, with the adorable kitchenette. Our host, Tom, went above and beyond. The room was stocked with complimentary bottled water and locally made gourmet chocolates, organic coffee and teas, a french press, and high quality natural and organic toiletries. The room had a mini fridge where we could chill champagne, and the kitchen was stocked with glassware, dishes, and everything you could need. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the towels soft and luxurious. The entire place was spotlessly clean and well decorated. We really appreciated that breakfast was optional. My sole complaint is that, with windows open, we were bothered by noise from the bar across the street. This is probably no problem in colder weather, or if you get a room in the rear of the house. We weren't bothered enough to keep from going back to this cozy and sweet getaway.

  • Liked — cozy, comfy, cute, convenient location
  • Disliked — some noise from the neighboring bar
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

This B+B was beautifully decorated, but not over the top or frou-frou.
It was sophisticated, yet still had the country feel of a Victorian B+B.

We stayed in the Sparrow's Room, which was decorated with bird prints and vintage figurines. Everything was spotless -- the bath was nice with claw-foot tub, bath salts and beads and candles. It was a shared bath but we were fortunate enoughtt o have the bath (and the floor) to ourselves, since the other room was empty.

The fireplace was set up every night, they had an eclectic collection of DVD's (or you can go across the street to the video store).

Breakfast was very nice, but not over the top (cereal and fruit -- no eggs). Breakfast is optional, so you get a chance to try the local restaurants.

The owners Tom and Dana were very friendly. They live down the street, so they aren't underfoot s as in some B+B's.

We took advantage of the Belleayre ski lift and rental passes and it saved us some money.

Phoenica is a cute little town with everything you need (and not much else) -- a couple good restaurants, grocery, gas station, liquor store, and some interesting shopping.

  • Liked — the sophisticated decor and beautiful color palette.
  • Disliked — Kids that were staying downstairs :)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAndDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

We were referred to Tom and The Phoenicia Belle by another Innkeeper in the area. We had driven 3½ hours, only to find that the place where we were going to stay closed (due to a broken furnace) and never bothered to call us to cancel our reservations!

We would have loved to stay at the Belle, but we were travelling with our 100 lb. White German Shepherd and the Belle does not accept pets (most understandable - this B&B looked impeccably kept.) However, Tom invited us in and became our savior when he spent more than 45 minutes calling every pet friendly inn and motel in the area. He managed to find wonderful accomodations for us, our 2 teenage boys and the dog.

Tom's kindness and persistence was way beyond anything we have ever experienced while travelling. If this is what he does for folks who are not even staying at his B&B, I can only imagine how fabulous it must be to spend some time at the Belle with that high level of hospitality!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank FrostDoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Gracious lovely b&b. You could blink your eye passing through town. Don't be fooled, stop in and enjoy a stay at the "Belle". Tom is kind and so hospitable. Great crunchy granola breakfast, cozy beds, claw tub bathroom....a perfect getaway. Great local restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjude344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
10.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.6 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Graham & Co.
The Graham & Co.
#2 of 2 in Phoenicia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#2 of 2 in Oliverea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
10.0 mi away
Morning Glory B&B Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Belle

Property: Phoenicia Belle
Address: 73 Main St, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5212
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Phoenicia Belle 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Belle Hotel Phoenicia
Belle Hotel Phoenicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing