We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Ice Cream!”
Review of Mama's Boy - CLOSED

Mama's Boy
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Phone: 845-688-3050 This cafe/market opened at the end of May 2010, and we discovered it when we visited Phoenicia for a weekend in October 2010. It features homemade and local-sourced food in a very casual atmosphere (no table service - you order and pay for your food, then have a seat). We stopped by three times because we enjoyed the food so much and we thought the owner (Michael) was great. He is supporting the community in tangible ways (sponsoring scarecrow-making and a Halloween parade) while serving delicious food. They are even serving s'mores by a campfire in front of the store on Friday and Saturday evenings! Makes me want to live in Phoenicia..... Mama's Boy serves Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; you can stop in for a cup of coffee/tea/hot chocolate, dessert, or a whole meal. Michael will make you feel welcome no matter what.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Ice Cream!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice place to grab a cappuccino,coffee and ice cream! The killer chocolate is my favorite flavor! The ice cream is very rich and creamy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute little place on Main Street”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed some delicious locally made ice cream here. The server was friendly and let us try a scoop or two before we made up our minds. There are places to sit outside (great for people watching) as well as a covered seating area, great for when your cone starts dripping!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovesDogs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“local hangout - good food and coffee”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Mama's Boy is a local hangout where people can get the latest news about town. They have primarily sweete - muffins, cookies, pies and chocolate covered anything. But they also have delicious mac and cheese, quiches and other specials of the day. Great hot chocolate and soft drinks like birch beer which is hared to find nowadays. I found the atmosphere very laid back and friendly. For the reviewer that didn;t get waited on right away - they probably thought you were still browsing and not ready yet - it's not a rushed kind of place. You can take your time and no one rushed you out so you can sip your coffee or whatever as long as you want.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindalee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washoe Valley, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Coffee in Phoenicia”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everyone goes to see their mother in Phoenicia - Mama's Boy is loved by locals and visitors alike. There's a lovely veranda to sit and sip your coffee (Monkey Joe's coffee - it's really good!) and enjoy one of Michael's chocolate dipped somethings (chocolate dipped bacon anyone? why not?) or a bagel & schmear, slice of quiche or fabulous cookie. Everyone who works there is always so upbeat and friendly, it's like visiting a friend's house. Plus he has great t-shirts, local jams and syrups. Just don't miss it when in Phoenicia. And, it's one of the few spots in town where your cell phone will work. Hah.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustbunny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's better.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

When you have excellent eateries like Sweet Sue's, Brio's and the new Phoenicia Diner to chose from I'm not sure why someone would go here, other than for a quick cup of coffee. Nothing special and I swear most of the baked goods are from Sam's Club (especially the black and white cookies). Okay service, and at least you never have to wait as in the more popular places. I've stopped here a few times for coffee, but I've learned to skip the sweets. And yes, as someone else mentioned - the bathroom is terrible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aslynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Boy also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing