We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for camping, not so much just for the day.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ausable Point State Campground

Ausable Point State Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ausable Point State Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Peru
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great for camping, not so much just for the day.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We visited this July the campground for an overnight visit. We had planned 2 nights but decided to leave the next day. Although the actual sites themselves were very good (we had a location beside the running water, somewhat private). Nighttime proved complicated to sleep (too many dogs, people chatting till all hours without anyone telling them to stop).

Daytime was far better thanks in large part to the beach that campers could enjoy. The water was nice and calm and you could wade far without being over your head. This was by far the best part of our camping experience. The daytime beach (for non-campers) is full of weeds and is not very good.

Downsides included lack of basic services, poorly ventilated and not well maintained bathrooms. A camp store would've been a good idea (if you needed anything, you were a drive from anything and had to leave the park).

Overall, we'd rent an overnight sight just to go to that beach inside, but would probably not stay overnight.

ThANKS,

Room Tip: If you plan on getting a sight, opt for those not too close to the beach but by the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elizabeth_pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Ausable Point is typical for state campgrounds. The location is gorgeous, the sites are huge but services could be better.
We were lucky to get a site in the 70 loop. We understood why on arrival, it is the furthest from the beach. Sites are huge with mature trees(pines, oak, etc) so you have a pretty good view and hearing of everybody around. Some sites are even bigger than huge.

Unfortunately, our restroom was smelling urine pretty strong. After some time, we decided to visit other loops restroom and they were much better than ours. It seems we were unlucky for that.

2 other loops have beach side sites. Not much privacy there. It can also be windy. But the view is trmendous.

There is only one place with showers and they were ok and mostly clean. Plenty of very hot water.

Our main problem with the place is with pets. Now, this separates the world in 2 groups. Either you like pets or you don't. Even though we do not have pets, we like to visit friends who have dogs or cats. But we believe that a campground is not the place for pets. Unfortunately, pets are allowed in this camping. Our neighbor site had a small dog that was barking on every occasion it found. The next day, they left the dog on the site when they went to the beach and the dog was whining all day.

The camping beach was great. One of the best beaches for kids we ever saw. You can walk for 300-400 feet and still have water at waist level only. Kids love the place.
Nice place also for windsurfing, sailboating and kite surfing. The water was very nice.
The day use beach was ok but there is some seaweed at the bottom, something that you do not find at camping beach.

Overall, we will probably go back with family and kids as it is a very nice place near Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OnSeCalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chazy, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We decided to go to Ausable for a brief camping trip after the 4th of July. We checked in and my sister, brother-n-law and my cousin's family camped with us as well. We were pleased with sites 120 & 121 as for the privacy and the large lot size of each site. Once the eveing came we decided to have a small fire on the first night to cook smores and relax. As soon as it was dark each night the attendants would do their rounds. However each night once 10 pm came it was as if we were to go to bed and not allowed to have fires, because they would always have something to say. The WORST night was Saturday night, My daughter had a couple of friends come and spend the night when I came back from next door (Which I could see the girls from one site to the other) they stated that there was someone watching them.They shined the flashlight in the cedars across the road from us only to have one of the park attendants be reveiled in the trees staring at them and watching them. He proceed to come over and state the girls were to loud- which being about 25 feet away I could not even hear them so there was no way he could hear them. I asked why he was watching them and he stated it was his job and threatened to call the State police to have us removed from the park. I brought the teenage girls to the bathroom to get ready for bed and there were plenty of other sites with fires and music going that could be heard from our campsite. I nor my family will ever stay here again. I have also written a letter to the NYS DEPT. of Recreation to inform them of this incident. There was no hot water in any of the showers regardless what time you tried to shower. You had to make sure you brought toilet paper with you to the bathrooms because there was several times there was none in any of the stalls. No sites were mowed, and there was dog feces on the roadways.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peru hotels

NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Ausable Point is a campground with multiple personalities - you have lakeside camping, riverside camping, and standard woodsy camping. Take your pick!

I brought back pretty detailed notes on the sites but when I was ready to post, there was no Ausable Point on tripadvisor. While waiting for it to be added, I lost my notes! errrrr!! I'll do the best I can from memory. . .

Loops 1 and 2 have lakeside sites with views of Vermont's Green Mountains on the other side. The sites in Loop 1 sit up higher than the lake (with a support wall going around the loop) which provides really pretty views but no direct beach. I wouldn't suggest this loop with young children; I would have been a nervous wreck with my youngest two, afraid they were going to run/fall off the edge. For those without young children, though, they'd be beautiful sites to sit at, especially at night. Sites are decently private but not all that large. My favorites were 15 and 21. Note the campground map shows a playground, but there is NOT one there. The "playground" is simply a basketball hoop, so do not pick this loop in order to be close to a place for the little ones to play - you'll be disappointed!

Loop 2 is where we stayed. It was perfect, especially with young children (we have four children altogether - 5, 7, 9, 15). Many of the sites (28, 30, 31, 33, 34, 35) are sandy and open up right to the beach. Sites 30 and 31 are wide open to each other and have the least privacy but literally have nothing blocking them from the beach/lake. Sites 36 and 37 are big and nice but do not have views of the lake; they do have short tails through the trees to the beach though. Site 32, while interior, is beautiful. It's set far back and is huge. While it's not on the beach, you can see the lake from it and the walkway to the beach is right across the street. Our favorites are 28, 34, and 35 (with 33 being nice too, but noting it's right next to the beach walkway so it wouldn't be one of the very top picks). If we couldn't get one of those four sites, we'd probably try for site 32.

Loop 3 are where the true riverside sites are, and they are so pretty. This loop seems to offer the most privacy with lots of trees and thick brush. Once you go around the turn away from the river, the sites are next to the marsh, and they're very pretty too. This loop seems to be very popular with folks who have their own boats and who like to fish. Sites 89 and 91 would be nice for people camping together. I think 87 was my favorite overall. 104 is a deep, private site next to the marsh. Sites 120, 121, and 122 are all huge and very private, also sitting next to the marsh. Not sure how the mosquitoes are over there by the marsh though.

Loop 4 is more like a standard campground loop. Unfortunately, these sites - while mostly huge - don't have a lot of privacy because the trees are very tall and there's not much undergrowth. Oddly enough, 50 and (especially) 52 - sites right at the front by the road - were my favorites. If you're camping with someone else, getting 76 and 77 would be nice too.

All in all, we loved this campground. It's probably are very favorite of every campground we've stayed. We didn't feel like we were really camping; we felt like we were really on a beach vacation! We're hoping to make an annual trip here, but the good sites can be very difficult to get. Staff were all very nice. Bathrooms (which had no soap and no locks on the doors) and showers were definitely not the most pleasant, but they were okay. Lots of hiking opportunities in the general driving area. If you need anything, Plattsburgh is a super easy 10-15 minute trip and has whatever you'd be looking for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
40 Thank CottageSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ausable Point State Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ausable Point State Campground

Property: Ausable Point State Campground
Address: 3346 Lake Shore Road, Route 9, Peru, NY 12972
Location: United States > New York > Peru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Peru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 123
Also Known As:
Ausable Point State Campground Hotel Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing