We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a reason why we keep going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“There is a reason why we keep going back.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Susan and Burney are great hosts. A lot of time and care is out into making our stay pleasant. From the comfortable, clean rooms to the breakfast with homemade everything. They made themselves available whever needed without interfereing with our privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrstump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
383
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henrietta, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

i chose the sage room for my birthday weekend in december. susan and burney made the entire stay special as they do whenever i am there! it was the second visit this year and my fourth time overall! their award winning breakfasts are fabulous, each room charming, and they are gracious hosts! i always enjoy being at los gatos and plan on returning again in august. i may make my birthday an annual event too! if you can, indulge in the wine tour package. well worth it! the cabins offer a cozy and romantic alternative to the beautiful, spacious rooms. hope you enjoy this lovely b&b as much as i have over the last three years!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Los Gatos in Penn Yan the weekend before Christmas 2012, having found a deal on Living Social. We stayed in the Blue Room, which is very spacious with a seating area, two chairs, electric fireplace, and private bath. Rooms are placed well and feel relatively private, no two sharing a common wall. A sitting room, screened porch, and kitchen/dining room (with occasional fresh treats), are accessible 24-hours.

Burney and Susan, the proprietors, were personable and very helpful in suggesting tips to find local attractions and wineries to suit our taste. Burney made a delicious breakfast from scratch each morning. On our second morning we shared good conversation over breakfast with two couples in their late 20's to early 30's. Breakfast is the only meal served at this inn.

We both recommend Los Gatos whole heartedly. The inn is spotless, food delicious, and Burney and Susan are great hosts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at Los Gatos in the Finger Lakes off season. We received a warm welcome upon arrival along with a quick tour of the house and 'informational' about the town. The room itself, the Sage Room, was extremely spacious and more than comfortable. Susan and Burney greeted us both mornings with a great, filling breakfast and advice for the day. We are already talking about going back there in the fall!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were greeted by a warm welcome upon arriving at Los Gatos. Burney and Susan are great hosts and made us feel right at home. They were so happy and grateful to have us and explained the layout and rules of the house very well. They guided us and gave us recommendations as to what to see and do while in town.

We stayed 2 nights in the upstairs suite. The space was comfy, clean, and inviting.

Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious! It was all homemade and had local ingredients. They started us off with fresh fruit before giving us a hearty clafoutis or plate of French Toast. Susan also served a variety of her homemade jams with breakfast - and sells jars of it for you to take home. You won't be able to resist!

Overall, we had a wonderful and fun stay. Even though it was the off-season, the towns were quiet, but inviting. I definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get away and relax for a few days.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite and the cabins will offer you the most privacy. The other 2 rooms are off of comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilOneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This B&B is in a great location for the wine tour get-a-way. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Service is top notch. The hosts are very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Breakfast is hot and delicious too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in mid-October. Although the B&B is actually on the highway, it is set far enough back that for the most part you can't hear the road noise unless you open your windows at night. We stayed in the Blue Room which was very spacious. The breakfasts that Burney and Susan serve are incredible. Burney seems to have an endless number of recipes that he likes to try and all the ingredients are delicious. Probably would stay in a different room were we to return. I think the cabins would offer the perfect privacy. Burney and Susan are consummate hosts and Burney gave us a night sky viewing one night through his telescope. This is his hobby and you can tell that he loves it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,203 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
540 reviews
2.8 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast

Property: Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1491 State Route 14a, Penn Yan, NY 14527-9105
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary solar powered home has five large comfortable rooms, including two log cabins. All have queen sized beds, private baths, and air-conditioning. We feature beautiful country views, yet are just minutes from Seneca and Keuka Lakes. Enjoy one of our award-winning breakfasts, then relax and watch the goldfinches and hummingbirds as they flit through our flower gardens. Fill your days with all that the Finger Lakes have to offer, then relax on our spacious deck and gazebo. In the evening, we can recommend a restaurant that suits your mood. On clear nights we can give star tours with a large telescope on our back lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing