We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We came to explore the Finger Lakes, and Los Gatos B&B proved to be the perfect place to start. The folks at the inn had great ideas for places to visit: beautiful waterfalls, friendly wineries, fantastic restaurants. They even gave a tour of the night sky with their huge telescope- complete with a beautiful comet! Three days were not enough to see the area...we are planning another trip!

  • Liked — Great breakfast!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OrTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
374
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

Our stay at Los Gatos this fall was wonderful. Our only complaint was that we wish we could have stayed longer! When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by our hosts Burney and Susan. They have a beautiful piece of property located just outside of Penn Yann, which is a great stopping point if visiting the Finger Lakes region. After getting settled into our room (Sage room) we did a tour of the property - between their gorgeous flower gardens, peaceful woods and relaxing porch swing it was tough to get me inside. Los Gatos also has a great back porch on both the upper and lower levels where you can sit back, relax, and sip wine compliments of Susan and Burney. I think the most special thing about our trip was that when we came back from a delicious dinner (suggest by our hosts) Burney had out his telescope and shared with all of the guests about a 45 min -1hr guided viewing of the night sky. It was absolutely amazing! If that wasn’t enough, after an excellent night’s sleep we had the best breakfast ever! The multi-course meal included poached pears in orange juice, followed by baby dutch apple, homemade English muffins (with homemade jams) and bacon. We can’t wait to come back again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank klkirkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

What a great place to stay! The hosts were very friendly, our room was beautiful, and breakfast was fantastic-- the home-made jams are great! We even had a friendly cat to play with in the evening... I'll definately be going back again!

  • Liked — Breakfast! Great food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Hoppiloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We have stayed here twice over the past year. It is the perfect B&B in one of the most beautiful and relaxing parts of this country.

For a romantic weekend, book the upper floor suite if you can, and sip wine on the balcony overlooking the countryside before going out for dinner. (Burney & Susan's wine fridge is always open in case you didn't stock up enough at the wineries; being able to sample different bottles is a nice perk.)

Budding astronomers should return back in time for stargazing through Burney's telescope.

You will sleep well: all the rooms are quiet & exceptionally comfortable.

Be prepared: guests are fed TWO breakfasts each morning (at least, it feels like it!) and both are delicious so don't plan on morning activities other than dozing it off by their pool!

As the name implies, there are cats involved!

We always let Burney & Susan guide us to the best wineries, then amble from wine tasting to wine tasting. (McGregor's and Fox Run are our favourites.) Their recommendations on restaurants from previous guest comments have been spot-on. (But don't eat too much, you have another breakfast in the morning...)

There really is no better quick escape from NYC city life than a weekend in the Fingerlakes.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barry_McConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

The ultimate compliment we can give is that Los Gatos and the Barons matched the very best of Irish B& Bs!!
The welcome,setting, facilities and location were superb.
if you want to explore the Finger lakes and some great wineries this is the place for you.
Thank you Burney and Susan for your hospitality. Oh yes, yours was the best breakfast we had in our 4 weeks stateside!

  • Liked — The welcome, facilities and cleanliness
  • Disliked — No bad items to report
  • Tips/Secrets — make an early booking
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKItourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2004

We stayed at Los Gatos B&B located on Route 14A near Penn Yan. Wonderful place with great hosts and lovely rooms! Penn Yan is a nice quiet town with quaint shops and good places ot eat. It is located near Keuka Lake on which we took a luncheon cruise on the Keuka Maid. The food on the cruise was great and the view of the changing foliage was fabulous!

We will definitely return!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
139 reviews
23.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
534 reviews
17.8 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
12.5 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast

Property: Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1491 State Route 14a, Penn Yan, NY 14527-9105
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary solar powered home has five large comfortable rooms, including two log cabins. All have queen sized beds, private baths, and air-conditioning. We feature beautiful country views, yet are just minutes from Seneca and Keuka Lakes. Enjoy one of our award-winning breakfasts, then relax and watch the goldfinches and hummingbirds as they flit through our flower gardens. Fill your days with all that the Finger Lakes have to offer, then relax on our spacious deck and gazebo. In the evening, we can recommend a restaurant that suits your mood. On clear nights we can give star tours with a large telescope on our back lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing