We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Gatos - the perfectly quaint B&B for your stay in the Finger Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Los Gatos B&B is owned and run by a wonderful couple that have noticeably put a lot of love and effort into their B&B and also do so for all of their guests. Not only is the B&B itself as far as rooms and the grounds so beautiful due to cleanliness, decor and views of surrounding region, but the service is great! They are always on call no matter what time it is to help you with directions to where you want to go, great suggestions for what to do and where to eat in the area. Burney even took some of us out at night to do some stargazing through his telescope - it was so beautiful. I cannot describe the breakfasts they serve! Everything is homemade and their apple syrup is to die for - I definitely left with a few bottles to bring home, which they sell at the B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jzaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 502 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

It can get quite overwhelming when trying to choose a place on line in an unfamiliar location. We certainly made the right choice! If you are looking for something fancy and over the top, you may be disappointed. However, if you are looking for gracious, friendly hosts, clean comfortable rooms, a terrific breakfast and a good night's sleep book it! The place is tastefully decorated and provides everything to make you comfortable. If you have a question, Burny and Susan take the time to give you all the information you need. From the minute we arrived, we felt welcomed. The Town itself is a sweet little place with down to earth, friendly folks. We had dinner at The Liberty and it was absolutely wonderful. If you haven't experienced the Wine Trail, you must. NY State wines have stepped up to the plate and the wineries are just beautiful. We didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to check out. We will definitely be back and we will be staying at Los Gatos.

Room Tip: Check out the cabins if you want total privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggywestshokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Our short stay was wonderful in the Grand Suite, amazing countryside view and the cabins look attractive too. Breakfast was very nice and bought some home-made jams as gifts! The owners were very kind and creative with developing the property.

Room Tip: The Grand Suite is very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Being first time at a B&B, Los Gatos has definitely set the bar high for any future B&B we stay! The B&B was everything you would expect and more! From the homemade jams, jellies and syrups they make, sell and use on the premises, to the delicious breakfast and service we received!

Very pleased and plan on returning during peak season to enjoy the outdoor areas their property offers. The walking trails, pool, peaceful surrounding and two cabins on the grounds, all add to the charm!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank swimevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Our stay at Los Gatos B&B was filled with relaxation, warm hospitality, and gourmet breakfasts. It is a home away from home that keeps us coming back each year.

Situated in Penn Yan, NY near Keuka Lake, it is in ideal location if you are looking to do wine tasting in the Finger Lakes Region. In Penn Yan, you have easy access to wineries on Seneca and Keuka Lake, and if you don't mind a longer trek you can make it over to the wineries on Cayuga Lake.

The rooms of the B&B are cozy, comfortable, and clean. There are three rooms in the main house as well as two cabins. Each room was an adjoining bathroom. The furnishings are ornate and each room has a bit of flare of pieces from the nearby mennonite community. There are three cats who live with the owners at Los Gatos contributing to the establishments name. However, the rooms are clean and there is little if any trace evidence of the friendly felines. However, if you mention to the owners that you are cat lovers, then one or two may be allowed to venture over and say hello...one may even curl up in your lap. :)

The breakfasts are gourmet. Each morning is unique and extremely filling. The first day we had grapefruit and blueberries, homemade dutch babies with apples and cinnamon, homemade english muffins, and bacon. The second morning we had fresh strawberries and cream, french toast from homemade cinnamon swirl bread, and sausage. Each meal were given a couple of of the establishments homemade jams and apple cider syrup to try.

Although, we visited in the winter and were not able to explore the property, it's several acres has much to offer including an outdoor pool, a tasting garden, and multiple walking trails.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLW_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

What we thought would be a warmer than normal weekend in February turned out to be one of the ugliest weekends in the Keuka lake area. It was cold, snowing, and blowing and not what we had hoped for as far as the weather goes. All that was easily forgotten as the owners welcomed us into their warm, clean, and cozy B&B. If you like to feel spoiled and pampered - visit Los Gatos in Penn Yan!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thankfulforthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This was my initial experience with a bed and breakfast and the Barons provide a benchmark that would be hard to match. My partner and I decided to explore some wineries in the Finger Lakes and Los Gatos provides a central location for such an adventure. The rooms are tastefully decorated with private baths which gives the guest a real sense of privacy. The house is immaculate and the breakfasts are absolutely delicious. The Baron's warmth and hospitality provide the icing on the cake and their knowledge of the area is helpful for those looking to experience the Finger Lakes to the utmost. We plan to return in the future and would recommend Los Gatos to anyone looking for a comfortable and enjoyable bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
17.8 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
16.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
12.5 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
23.8 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1491 State Route 14a, Penn Yan, NY 14527-9105
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range: $190 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary solar powered home has five large comfortable rooms, including two log cabins. All have queen sized beds, private baths, and air-conditioning. We feature beautiful country views, yet are just minutes from Seneca and Keuka Lakes. Enjoy one of our award-winning breakfasts, then relax and watch the goldfinches and hummingbirds as they flit through our flower gardens. Fill your days with all that the Finger Lakes have to offer, then relax on our spacious deck and gazebo. In the evening, we can recommend a restaurant that suits your mood. On clear nights we can give star tours with a large telescope on our back lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing