We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staff was friendly, welcoming and well trained. The room, the bathroom, the linens etc all were perfect. The breakfast area needs a better arrangement, although the food was good and plentiful the tables were to few.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYAnge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We are very glad to know that it was an enjoyable time for you. We are currently working with our Design Team to come up with a new layout for the breakfast area that we hope to have completed this season. We do appreciate your thoughts on this and hope that you may join us again in the future to better serve you.
-Jamie S. Hotel Supervisor-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 772 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family celebrated a birthday celebration/ winery weekend here and was very pleased with the experience. What we were most impressed by was that the staff was super helpful and met all our requests cheerfully. The lobby was invited for chatting at night and the rooms were very nice with super- comfy beds. The breakfast was delicious every morning and included cold and hot items. Everyone loved the homemade bakery items from a local vendor.

Penn Yan is a quaint town with all the charm of earlier times. This Best Western fit right in with the town and was a lovely centerpeice to our stay. It was the perfect location to tour the beautiful wineries on Lake Keuka.

Everyone said they hope we can return again in the future.

Room Tip: No problems with noise with any of the rooms we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your very kind words. We take pride in being able to provide superior customer care and are very glad to see that your experience was held to this standard as well. We do hope that you will return to stay with our property again. -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wife and I did an overnight get away to the wine country and were looking for good spot to spend the night mid way between Senaca and Keuka lake. Hotel was very clean and young lady was very friendly at check in. Reserved the King suite with the fire place, but was disapointed that only the side facing the sofa was able to be lit - the side facing the bed could not??? The lady at check out could not explain why - or appeared to care why we were asking. Not worth the extra money. The bathroom was very small for a regular room - let alone a higher priced suite. Bed was comfy, but TV was an old tube type - had to be older than the hotel was... At check in the young lady recommended the Keuka Restaurant for dinner. Even gave us some coupons - big mistake - will review that later. Breakfast bar was also disapointing - coffee was watered down, as was the waffel mix. Muffins were raw in the middle and bananas were very green. Went across the street to Dunkin Donuts. We will explore other options in the area when we return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capt-Zip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

In reading your review, I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had expected for our property. For future guests to better understand the distinguishing features of our rooms, the room type you stayed in does feature only a one-sided fireplace which faces the common area of the room. We do apologize if this was a misrepresentation on our part. Regarding the breakfast items, we have all of our product provided to us by our local Farmer's Market right up the street from our hotel. All the product is freshly delivered each day for our guests to enjoy. We will take your comments and suggestions from this into review and be sure to monitor this closely. I am sorry that your experience related to your dining option was not what you expected either. We do hope that despite these circumstances, you may give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with superior customer care. -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband & I are on the road for 700 days straight so we found this hotel to be one of the better hotels we have stayed at during our travels. Had a fantastic stay at Best Western, Penn Yan, NY on the 7th October. Large, modern, double suite, classy fixtures & modern décor (will attach a pic). Beds were sooooo comfy and had a fabulous night's sleep! Plenty of lovely towels in the bathroom. It also had a wonderful deep bath and a great showerhead. The breakfast room wasn’t really well planned, kept bumping into people! However, the food was plentiful…all the usuals plus lots of fresh fruit & home cooked muffins and different types of breads too; that was a real treat! Would high recommend Best Western, Penn Yan if you are after a good room & a great night’s sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

When I read your review, I immediately remembered you from when you checked in at the front desk. It isn't often we get travelers who stay here that were riding for your charitable cause. We were honored to have been a chosen spot for you stay here. I am very glad that your experience was truly memorable. We are currently in the planning proces to renovate the breakfast area to better accommodate our guests in a more comfortable atmosphere to begin their day. We are always open to suggestions about this and do hope that when this project is complete we might get to see you here again to share in this reveal! -Jamie S, Hotel Supervisor-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

They're isn't much in the town,but it was in a good half way point for us,about 25 mins to Watkins Glenn about an hour to Chimney Bluff State Park(very cool)We ride the bikes on the rail trails & there was some in the area. The hotel was very clean,room was a nice size,except the bathroom.Never understand that,when you open the door, just about hits the bowl.Who designs this stuff!!There was plenty of room to make it bigger. But all & all that was my only complaint for the room. The breakfast was ok,same stuff as usual,small eating area. I wish they would have healthier options!Not just an apple.But it was ok.The stuff was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for sharing you thoughts regarding your recent stay at our property. As you mentioned, we are perfectly located to enjoy many of the State Parks and trails in the area. We will take your comments regarding breakfast suggestions into consideration for those whom wish to have alternative healthier options as you mentioned. We are always appreciative when guests tell us what they would like to see as a traveler. We hope that you'll return to stay with us in the future again! -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have never been to the Finger Lakes, so were not sure where to stay. By the time I started planning our trip, many of Bed & Breakfasts that looked nice to me were already fully booked. I came across some good reviews for the Best Western Vineyard Inn and Suites and we were thrilled to stay here for two nights.
First of all the hotel is located in Penn Yan, which is very convenient to Keuka, Seneca and Canandaiga Lakes. The town of Penn Yan is walkable from the hotel and has some cute restaurants that are decent. True, as some reviews mentioned it is at the intersection of two fairly busy streets. Our room looked over one of the streets and quite honestly the traffic noise was very minimal. We really only noticed some sirens one late afternoon. Compared to a lot of hotels that we drove by, I think this one was by far superior, especially because of the price. There were some nice looking hotels near Geneva, but the price was considerably higher.
Our room was huge! We had a King Suite with sleeper sofa, chair and a small table with two chairs for eating inside the room. That came in handy the last night when it was rainy, but we didn’t want to lose our parking space as the hotel was completely booked. It was very clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The staff was also very friendly. A continental breakfast was included with a variety of delicious homemade breads. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. We are very glad that you chose to stay with us and do hope to see you again in the future! -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Perfect location to visit wine country. Very dog friendly and provided a play area for our Golden Retriever to play ball. Breakfast was very good. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. I will return on our next visit to the Fingers Lake Region.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your words about your recent stay. I am very glad to read that even your family pet enjoyed having the chance to stay with our hotel as well. As you did mention, we are pet friendly and have a beautiful dog walk area located right behind the hotel with ample space for dogs to play in the grass! We are also very close to the outlet trail which is another excellent option to take a family pet for a walk while here. We do hope that you and your pet will choose to stay with us again in the future! -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
15.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites

Address: 142 Lake St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Price Range: $88 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The proud winner of the Design Excellence Award and a consistent recipient of top honors for cleanliness. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites is a charming Finger Lakes hotel located in the awe-inspiring and romantic Finger Lakes Wine Region of New York State. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to historic downtown Penn Yan and Keuka Lake. Just a short drive from unique restaurants (Esperanza Mansion), museums (Corning Museum of Glass) and attractions (Windmill Farm & Craft Market). With 57 beautifully-appointed guest rooms you are able to select from a myriad stylish room types: Standard Double Queen, Deluxe King, Grand King Suites, Presidential Suites, King Suite, Deluxe King Suite. Modern conveniences include microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, coffee maker, iron & ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn and Suites is Finger Lakes lodging at its finest. The Vineyard Inn and Suites is here to make your stay in Penn Yan as comfortable and convenient as possible. Convenience begins with their complimentary breakfast inspired by local Finger Lakes cuisine. It continues with their Finger Lakes on-site concierge who can help you experience all that the Finger Lakes Region has to offer. Once you return, enjoy their state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool and hot tub, and free high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Vineyard Hotel Penn Yan
Best Western Penn Yan
Penn Yan Best Western
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing