We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, I would do it again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay, I would do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We wanted a central location to visit this region of the finger lakes and chose this hotel thanks to the good reviews. We were happy with this choice, as we were very well received by the staff. the rooms were large enough with 2 double beds, great bedding, nice clean bathroom and very good service.
The location on the street is a bit out of the way but you can walk to the downtown area in a few minutes to some restaurants.
Plenty of parking except that they were building a patio in front of the hotel taking some space away temporarily and the construction company was very careful around the cars..
Breakfast was included and the the most complete,and clean that I have ever seen for a continental breakfast, They went as far as wrapping each slice of bread individually to keep hygiene very high and they constantly cleanup and replenish the buffet
This location in the finger lake region was great for us as we roamed as far as Corning to see the great glass museum ( worth spending the day) hiking the canyon at Watkins Glen park, lunch and wine tasting at Fox run winery and simply traveling the small county roads past the Mennonites farms and the horse drawn carriages. This is beautiful country with the lakes never very far from the roads.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmil420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we are very glad to see that you chose to stay with us again for your travels this year! We are always striving to improve on every guest experience to make the next time better than the last. I am thrilled to see you were able to enjoy our newly designed outdoor patio area. This has been a great addition to our property and are excited to show it off to all that come to stay with us. We always enjoy hearing what every guest took from their experience with us so again thank you for your willingness to share this information. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! -Jamie S, Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    156
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
303
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was by far, the best hotel experience we have had in a long time. Upon arrival Ruth checked us in with a smile on her face and a great attitude Our room was huge, clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast was homemade, and great. We had a room next to the elevator and I can honestly say I didn't hear it once. We are already planning a trip back!

K Chatham & R Nolan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. We are truly glad to see that your experience was memorable and enjoyable. We invite you back again in the future to relax and enjoy our new renovations since your departure. We are nearing completion on our beautifully landscaped outdoor patio which will feature a large seating area to enjoy the sunshine year round! For all travelers alike, this will be a great addition to what our beautiful hotel has to offer.
-Jamie S. Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

my husband and i usally take a trip to finger lakes for our anniversary, this is our 2nd stay at this hotel, the hotel is clean the staff is friendly the beds are comfortable, the hotel is usally booked solid on weekends so it is bustling, not very romantic. they are constatly renovating this hotel so it really is very nice , but the area it is in,is awful, i felt uncomfortable walkingaround in the evening or leaving valuables in the car. it is very convient to downtown penn yann and to the windmill,and to vineyards on bolth seneca and keuka lake that is why we stayed again, plus we were able to stay for only 1 night on a weekend when most B and Bs in finger lakes have 2 night min.

Room Tip: do not ask for nd floor, you are directly over pool and screaming kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurieCheektowaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay with our hotel. I am glad to see that you chose to stay with us for a return trip to the area. We always enjoy seeing people again year after year. I am sorry to read that you felt uncomfortable during your stay here. I can assure you that we are in a very safe area just on the outskirts of the village itself. I only say that because many international travelers just voted the town directly next to Penn Yan named Hammondsport the "Coolest Small Town in the United States by Budget Travel." Penn Yan narrowly missed this ranking but we pride ourselves in being included in that race to begin with because it means that travelers alike enjoy all that our small town feel has to offer as well. Our staff encourages all to come and make Penn Yan and the Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn and Suites your home away from home! We can only hope that one would feel this same way after a great stay with us! -Jamie Stobie, Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved everything about this hotel, very clean, updated, and extremely friendly staff. Ruth at the front desk was especially helpful with suggestions of where to visit in the area. Breakfast was delicious and fresh and plenty available. We will definitely be back, loved the area and wouldn't stay anywhere but at this hotel. Can't wait to return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words as well. I shared with Ruth directly your appreciation with how she was able to help you. She was very excited to know she was of great assistance to you. We all look forward to seeing you again on a future visit! Sincerely, -Jamie Stobie, Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The checkin process was smooth and efficient. There was 2 people on the desk and working to speed things along.

The rooms were clean and maintained. The furnishings comfortable. The free continental breakfast was well stocked and had a nice variety. The staff was polite and helped people as needed. The location was good to hit local wineries and restaurants.

Will definately stay here on future trips. Looks like they are making some renovations.

Bob Herman - 5/18 to 5/20

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Dollar for dollar this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Service, cleanliness, hospitality ... this one had it all. Great location within walking distance to Main St. with some fantastic restaurants, bars and local flavor. We loved all the delicious homemade baked treats for breakfast too; the bagels were amazing. There is a great pizza joint right across the way too. The front desk had some great local suggestions.

There is not one thing I could suggest for improvement, keep it up! Looking forward to visiting again after the front porch addition is complete. This hotel is a great example of management going above and beyond to keep guests coming back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Your kind words are greatly appreciated. Our staff takes great pride in ensuring everyone feels as though our hotel is their "home away from home." Our breakfast selection is all fresh produce and homemade baked goods that are provided from the local Mennonite community. We strive to provide more variety for our guests any chance that we can, and we welcome suggestions on what guest would like to see in the breakfast selection. One of the things that guests have mentioned in the past is the ability to have an outdoor sitting area to enjoy a cup of coffee and a morning paper. Our owners took much time to design and create a beautiful covered patio to enjoy year round that includes a running water fountain in the center with beautiful landscaping. We would love all to come and see what this new patio has to offer! -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from our 2nd stay at this hotel!!! It's awesome!!! The staff are super friendly, the accommodations are modern & clean, the hot tub was very enjoyable & the breakfast was very good( nice touch with the homemade baked goods! Oh I almost forgot the fresh cookies available in the lobby! Can't wait to go back!!!!
Lynn & Tammy Eddy
5/6/12

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
15.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
19.9 mi away
The Best Western Plus Hammondsport Hotel
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Address: 142 Lake St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The proud winner of the Design Excellence Award and a consistent recipient of top honors for cleanliness. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites is a charming Finger Lakes hotel located in the awe-inspiring and romantic Finger Lakes Wine Region of New York State. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to historic downtown Penn Yan and Keuka Lake. Just a short drive from unique restaurants (Esperanza Mansion), museums (Corning Museum of Glass) and attractions (Windmill Farm & Craft Market). With 57 beautifully-appointed guest rooms you are able to select from a myriad stylish room types: Standard Double Queen, Deluxe King, Grand King Suites, Presidential Suites, King Suite, Deluxe King Suite. Modern conveniences include microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, coffee maker, iron & ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn and Suites is Finger Lakes lodging at its finest. The Vineyard Inn and Suites is here to make your stay in Penn Yan as comfortable and convenient as possible. Convenience begins with their complimentary breakfast inspired by local Finger Lakes cuisine. It continues with their Finger Lakes on-site concierge who can help you experience all that the Finger Lakes Region has to offer. Once you return, enjoy their state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool and hot tub, and free high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Best Western, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Vineyard Hotel Penn Yan
Best Western Penn Yan
Penn Yan Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing