We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice despite a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice despite a few problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western for one night while visiting family. We checked in late and checked out early, but had a pleasant stay. The rooms are large and clean and having a fridge and microwave in the room was great. There were a few small issues including the noise of the heating/ac unit, which was very loud. We were also kept up at night by the guests in the adjoining room snoring! In addition, we were woken up the next morning by the same guests playing opera music loudly at 6am. We did have an adjoining room (that was shut and locked), so hopefully in the other rooms without the connecting door this would not be a problem. One additional comment was that the hotel charged the wrong credit card for our stay – despite our instructions and them taking an additional card to charge, instead the reservation card was charged. The free breakfast was decent. Not quite up to par with a Hampton Inn, but totally adequate. I also appreciated getting a copy of the local paper. All and all a good value, but I would choose a non-adjoining room next time.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the adjoining rooms, the noise traveled too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSW-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    156
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
303
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you are on a wine tour of Seneca Lake and Keuyka Lake the best location to stay at is the Best Western in Penn Yan.It is a short drive to both lakes but in opposite directions.The staff makes you feel like this is your home away from home (fresh baked cookies and hot drinks are in the lobby).The breakfast is hot and delicious. Bring your bathing suit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connielou1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I had an enjoyable stay – solo - in a nice hotel for three nights while I visited the wineries. I can only repeat what most of the other reviewers have said at greater length – a very good-sized room but small bathroom. I guess, as the one gets larger, the other has to shrink! Spotless hotel. Very good breakfast – from eggs to homemade breads to good yogurts, waffles, etc. Friendly and very helpful personnel on the front desk. A few minor criticisms – the five bed pillows were much too firm and the pool is much too small for swimming. Why there is a floating line across the center dividing the 3-foot deep end from the 4-foot deep end I don’t know. But the hot tub was great. The lighting in the room could be better for reading. But overall a fine hotel and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldguy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

While touring the wineries we made a stop at this Best Western due to its excellent location. Normally I'm not a Best Western fan but this hotel changes my opinion of the chain. The front desk staff is fabulous- friendly and so helpful. We had a room in the new wing and our room on the third floor was wonderful. Exceptionally clean and comfortably arranged. We would totally stay there again.
Only complaint- small bathrooms and the breakfast area is quite small.
worth a trip!

Room Tip: ask for the new wing ask for high floor away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4cheerysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The first thing that I would like to do is pay this hotel one of the highest compliments possible that would come from a self-confessed, part-time germaphobe. It is absolutely spotless. I travel very frequently between business and pleasure and have never come across a cleaner property. Our room and all the common areas of this property were like new. The hotel had a "clean smell" to it without it being a "cleanser" smell if you know what I mean. I asked the front desk how long this property was open (six years) and was amazed that every nook and cranny appeared to be within a hotel that just recently opened. My compliments to the housekeeping and maintenance team!

We had a KIng Suite that also included a nice little sitting area with fireplace....very nice sized and comfortable room. The staff all smiled and was very polite. The breakfast that was included was perfect. I suppose my wife and I could be considered "hotel brand snobs" that normally stay at Hilton and Starwood properties when traveling and are always a little leary about staying at other properties (especially in small towns). I know that this is a completely wrong attitude, but for those of you like us, please know that Best Western should be very proud of this Inn.

My wife and I were exploring the Seneca and Keuka Lake wine trails and Penn Yan is the perfect location to do this. Half way down Seneca Lake, this location is central to a lot of great wineries. Make sure to check out Keuka Lake vineyards, there are some great ones including MacGregor which is off the beaten trail a bit but absolutely worth it. Main Street Penn Yan is literally a five minute walk from this hotel and has some nice restaurants to choose from as well.

Have a nice stay, we sure did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Very nice, very clean, nice breakfast and free wi-fi.

One word of caution: If you like sleeping in, ask for a room that faces the back. The traffic on Lake Street gets going quite early with lots of noisy trucks.

Apart from that it was great.

Room Tip: Unless you like the sound of traffic early in the morning, ask for a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinnpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

After reading the latest review, I cannot believe this guest could say the carpet and decor was dated! This hotel is only 6 years old, and I have stayed here many times and it is beautiful! My room was gorgeous, I splurged and stayed in one of the new additions to the hotel. It was called I believe a deluxe king suite? It was so spacious and I was very happy for the price! At my most recent stay, I once again did a wine tour on Keuka Lake. Great wine- By far the napa valley of the East. Beautiful, scenic place in the Finger Lakes. Penn Yan is not the biggest town, but it is charming and has a great small town feel. I will be returning yet again next year! This hotel is the perfect central location to everything I do when I come here. Next year, I will do the Seneca Lake Wine trail and be attending the races in Watkins Glen!! Thank you for staying excellent!!

Room Tip: Try the Deluxe King Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acolz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
15.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
19.9 mi away
The Best Western Plus Hammondsport Hotel
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Address: 142 Lake St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The proud winner of the Design Excellence Award and a consistent recipient of top honors for cleanliness. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites is a charming Finger Lakes hotel located in the awe-inspiring and romantic Finger Lakes Wine Region of New York State. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to historic downtown Penn Yan and Keuka Lake. Just a short drive from unique restaurants (Esperanza Mansion), museums (Corning Museum of Glass) and attractions (Windmill Farm & Craft Market). With 57 beautifully-appointed guest rooms you are able to select from a myriad stylish room types: Standard Double Queen, Deluxe King, Grand King Suites, Presidential Suites, King Suite, Deluxe King Suite. Modern conveniences include microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, coffee maker, iron & ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn and Suites is Finger Lakes lodging at its finest. The Vineyard Inn and Suites is here to make your stay in Penn Yan as comfortable and convenient as possible. Convenience begins with their complimentary breakfast inspired by local Finger Lakes cuisine. It continues with their Finger Lakes on-site concierge who can help you experience all that the Finger Lakes Region has to offer. Once you return, enjoy their state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool and hot tub, and free high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Vineyard Hotel Penn Yan
Best Western Penn Yan
Penn Yan Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing