We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B in the Finger Lakes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent B & B in the Finger Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

We have stayed for several years at the B & B in the Finger Lakes of New York. The home, rooms, and grounds are beautiful. The Inn Keepers are very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast is delicious. I would highly recommend staying there if you are planning a visit to the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bg6201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Went to the finger lake area for Columbus day weekend to visit the wineries and the lakes. We were recommended the Fox Inn and was not disappointed. Not knowing much about the area the owners really helped us. They gave us excellent advice on wineries, helped us make dinner reservations, and cooked excellent breakfasts. We we come back to the area we would definitely say there again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcrouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We went to tour the Finger Lakes in early September and by process of elimination settled on staying in Penn-Yan which is at the top of Keuka Lake. We looked at several B&B's but on seeing the Fox Inn we decided this was the one for us. The location is excellent, right at the edge of town and within walking distance of several very good restaurants. We got a mid-week package which consisted of a two night stay, a $40 gift card for alocal restaurant, a bottle of wine in the room, and vouchers for free wine tasting at certain wineries. . We also upgraded to the Wm Oliver Room which had a sitting area, a large bathroom with a jacuzzi and a fireplace which we used on the second night when the weather turned cold.

the owners were out of town during our stay and when they are not there they usually give a voucher for a local restaurant for breakfast but since we were the only ones there, Patti, the lady they left in charge decided to make our breakfast. What a goumet delight! Patti said it was her first time doing this but you would have thought she was a goumet chef. Guests are given a menu to fill out for their breqkfast the next morning and also indicate the time you would like. When we came down at 8:30, the talbe was set and there was hot coffee waiting. My husband ordered the Creme Brule French toast which was awesome. I ordered the Belgium waffle on the second moring and it could have fed four peple. Everything was done to perfection and the presentation was beautiful.

Patti was a lovely young lady who gave us the layof the land, recommended restaurants which were both very good. One reviewer complained of no one being there which was true but after breakfast we left to go wine tasting and did not come back until about 6:00. We had access to the Inn and had no problem with no one being there. Patti left a cell phone number if there were any problems, which there where not. The grounds of the Fox Inn were really outstadning and I wish we could have time to go out and sit on a bench in front of the fountain and enjoy a glass of wine but since we only stayed two nights we did not have time and on the second day the weather turned cold and drizzly.

Upon arrived there was a basket of "goodies" in the room, chips, peanuts, popcorn, several other and bottled water. Bathroom toilertries were of good quality also.

There was also an ice machine in the parlor as well as a coffee maker. I don't thik there was anything that we needed that was not provided.

Since we were the only ones there we got to take a peek in the other rooms and each one was very unique in its own way but I liked the Wm. Oliver Room the best and for the additional $50 to upgrade it was well worh it.

Our first day we stopped at Corning on the way to Penn-Yan where we toured the Corning Museum as well as the Rockwell Western Art Museum. We arrived at Penn-Yan at 5:00. After an dinner at the Red Rooster, which was practically in the back yard of the Inn we went to bed early. Woke up and had breakfast at 8:00 and started on our wine tour. Keuka Lake is 26 miles long with Penn-Yan at the top and Hammondsport at the bottom tim. We went to at least 6 wineries and madethe loop getting back to the Inn by about 6:00. Our second night we used the $40 gift voucher to eat at the Keuka Restaurant about three blocks from the Inn. the meal was excellent and we felt the prices at both restaurants for the quality of the food was a good value.

I will recommend the Inn to anyone wanating to visit that area. and I think for the price that we paid it was an excelelnt value.

Thank you Patti and the Fox Inn for a delightful two night visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skistwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed just last weekend for our Anniversary and her Birthday and we chose The Fox Inn from a long list of B&B's in the area. We made the right choice. We were greeted warmly by Cliff, the owner and were showed to our room, The Dorothy Fox Room. The room was very quaint, comfortable, and appropriately adorned with antiques. Bed was soft and comfy and the shower was refreshing. We did not see anyone else at the Inn during our stay so it felt like "our place." Breakfast in the AM was fantastic! Bring your appetite because you will need it. Fresh ingredients and made to order. We needed a nap after that breakfast. Cliff and Michele were there when we needed them and not there when we needed privacy. What more could you ask from a B&B? Our only regrets were not staying longer to enjoy the mansion, gardens, and billiards table at The Fox Inn. Location is right in the village of Penn Yan and very close to wineries, sights, and restaurants. We plan on staying again soon as wine touring never gets old, and The Fox Inn feels just like home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomn2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

My husband took me to the Finger Lakes for my birthday weekend. It was our first stay in Penn Yan and we liked the location of the Fox Inn and LOVED the property itself. It was a beautifully decorated, well-maintained home. Our room was equally as beautiful, cozy and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hosts, however, weren't really "hosts". They were accessible only if you rang a bell and waited for them to come to the door of their private residence. Input on local activities and restaurants was minimal and had to be pulled out of them even then. And every time we rang that bell we felt like we were inconveniencing them. To add to our frustration, one of the big draws of this B&B is the breakfast - apparently it's amazing. But, the day before we got there the Innkeepers decided to take a trip to FL. So instead of their amazing breakfast we got vouchers to a mediocre local diner for each morning and a fill-in hostess that wouldn't answer the bell (when we rang it we could hear her behind the door but she wouldn't answer). We are not high maintenance travelers by any means but this was taking "hands off" a bit too far. I think the B&B is up for sale and I'm guessing the owners have short-timers ....

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eplwv69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifforr, owner and Innkeepers at The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2010
We find these remarks misleading and disheartening.

What few times we will are absent from the Inn, we make it a point to personally contact every guest who have scheduled to stay,and/or advise guests who book with us when we know in advance that we will be away, that we will not be at the Inn.

We tell them we will have an Inn Sitter greet them and inform them that no breakfast will be served.

We offer them the option of taking a discounted rate per night or a breakfast voucher at our favorite diner in town for anything they want on their extensive menu.

Naturally, we always give our guests the option of cancelling their reservations and offer to help them find an alternate B & B to stay at.

Cliff & Michele
The Fox Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

Four of us stayed at the Fox Inn for a 3-day weekend. The home is huge and quite beautiful. We made use of the billiards table and the tv/living room. It is a very short walk to the very small town centre.

The best part of the inn were the breakfasts. You have a choice of 9 entrees. Between the 4 of us, we tried about 6 of them and all were excellent.

We didn't really see ths owners. Cliff showed us to our room and then said hello at breakfast, but that was it. His wife did not say hello or introduce herself the whole time we were there.

We booked the two-room suite, but this really is not a suite. It is just 2 bedrooms across the hall form each other with a shared bath. This was somewhat disappointing as we assumed a suite would have a common room where we could all spend time and relax together.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — "Suite" not a suite
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Fox Inn. We went to the Finger Lake area to visit wineries and just relax. Our room was cozy and clean. Our room was the Harry Fox room, which is downstairs with the door right next to the common room and TV, which might be noisy during a busier time. Being February, the Inn was very quiet. We had the place to ourselves Friday night! We were able to play pool and enjoy the common area with a big screen TV and a remote controlled fireplace. The breakfasts were great. Filling, elegant, and very good (had strawberry buckwheat pancakes and creme brulee french toast). It is about 15 minutes to Seneca Lake wineries from here, about 30 or less to the better Keuka Lake wineries. We got the winter package deal, which included a $40 gift certificate (good at any restaurant in the county) and a VIP wine tasting card.
We would recommend eating at the Ports Cafe, and visiting Dr. Frank and Bully Hill.
Overall we enjoyed ourselves and would go again.

  • Liked — The breakfasts, pool table, cozy rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Leia405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing