We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE FOX INN”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE FOX INN”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a wonderful B&B in the heart of Penn Yan at Kueka Lake, NY. Mike was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. Fantastic accomadations, great breakfast, and the location can't be beat....steps from downtown Penn Yan. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful place and surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
122
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My sister and I spent a night at the Fox Inn for a getaway and it fit the bill perfectly. We stayed in the two bedroom suite. Both rooms are wonderfully appointed and very comfortable and clean. Tanya and Mike are very accommodating hosts as is Renee who greeted us when we arrived. Mike even hooked up a DVD player so we could watch a movie at night. It's the first time I was given a choice for breakfast at a B&B. All the selections sounded so good it was difficult to make a choice. My sister and I chose the French toast which is sweet, filling and delicious. We were blessed with beautiful, fall weather and were able to walk along the main street of Penn Yan and check out the stores, museums and Arts Center. We also enjoyed a walk along the scenic Outlet Trail. One thing we would do differently is arrange our stay later in the week as some of the waterfront restaurants were not open, either for lunch or at all, until Wed. or the weekend. We were there from a Tuesday to Wednesday after the peak summer season (Sept.24 and 25).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the inn the past weekend ( September 21 & 22 ) as Keuka College celebrated Family weekend. The owners were very friendly and happy to share information and tips about the area. Our daughter who is in her sophomore year at Keuka joined us for breakfast on Sunday morning which Tanya & Mike graciously rolled with her joining us and even gave us a cookie for her. The inn is very comfortable with a TV room, Billards room, a spot to get hot and cold beverages. We have been to Penn Yan quite a few times over the last 2 years but staying at the Fox Inn made this weekend very special this will be our family weekend spot for the future. I would recommend it to anyone traveling to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dorothy Fox room which had a private bath with a jacuzzi tub and was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second stay at the Fox Inn and we shared it with friends from the Cleveland area who had also previously stayed there. It's under new ownership now and is just as charming as it was on our previous visits. The breakfast is outstanding as in the past and the Fox Inn continues to be a very welcoming place to stay in Penn Yan! All the extra touches that they provide are really wonderful and makes the difference between a nice place to stay and an incredible one! It's a great location near the Keuka and Seneca Lake wineries! The new owner also works at Heron Hill winery , so we checked it out this time and have added it to our list of favorite finger lake wineries. It's right next to the Dr Konstantine Frank winery, so made it easy to take in both. Exceptional wines and amazing views of Keuka Lake!!! And if you enjoy local history as well, be sure to stop at the Glenn Curtiss museum on the way out of Hammondsport. After a day of museum and winery tours plan to stop for an Italian dinner in Hammondsport. I would highly recommend stopping in at the Union Block Italian Bistro. Although seating is a bit tight the food is absolutely superb.

Finally, while in the area plan to stop at the Corning Glass museum. You could easily spend the entire day there as it has unending exhibits of glass art and technology. You should definitely sign up to make something in the glass shop as it is a wonderful experience that helps you better understand what it takes to produce glass pieces of art. A visit to Market st, especially lunch at the Old World Café & Ice Cream Parlor, is well worth the time. Although we didn't make it to the Rockwell Western art museum there we will check it out the next time we go back to the area and of course stay at the Fox Inn. I can't wait to have one of their Deee'icious cookies again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the inn last weekend (September 13-15) with my nephew and his wife. We had the rooms, Lucy Fox and Harry Fox. Both very nice rooms. The inn has cozy sitting rooms, one with a television, one with a pool table. We really felt at home here. We played pool, just sat and visited, very nice.

Their breakfast are to die for. I personally recommend the french toast. Delicious! Everything we had was very good.

Mike and Tanya are like old friends. Very friendly people.

The inn is walking distance to a lot of good restaurants. Penn Yan is a nice town. You're very close to all the wineries, as well.

We're making this an annual trip. Can't wait for next year.

Loraine Snell

Room Tip: We really liked the "Harry Fox".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Fox Inn while visiting the wineries along Keuka Lake in the Finger Lakes Region. We were four adults travelling together and we took the Double Bedroom Suite which included the Blue Room, Red Room and a bathroom shared between the two rooms. The stay was wonderful. The rooms were elegantly decorated and were spotless and the bathroom was spacious stocked with clean towels and basic toiletries. During our stay, we met Tanya and her mother, Renee who were warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast in the morning which was extremely good and they accommodated all our dietary restrictions. I would highly recommend Fox Inn to anyone visiting Penn Yan !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anj_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first trip to Keuka Lake and our first stay in a B & B. The Fox Inn was GREAT! Tanya and Mike are great hosts and the house is spectacular. We stayed in the Harry Fox room which was large enough for two people and very clean. Many dining choices are within walking distance of the B & B, which is nice after a long day of wine tasting! The breakfast choices are absolutely amazing! We tried a few but the best has to be the Creme Broulee French Toast! If we ever get back to Keuka Lake we will definitely stay at the Fox Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
19.8 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing