We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful "Mansion" located in the quaint little town of Penn Yan, NY. This was our first trip to the Finger Lakes and it certainly won't be our last. The Fox Inn is centrally located close to Lake Keuka and Seneca and lots of Wineries and attractions.

Cliff & Michelle have created an amazing oasis for one to begin their travels throughout this area it is close to many restaurants and other attractions. The 1820 period home is lovely throughout with fine antiques and little touches that make it a warm and inviting place to stay.

The rooms are large and inviting with high ceilings and lots of light. We stayed in the Lucy Fox room which we loved. It has a private bathroom, 4 poster bed and features hand cut wood plank floors. Although the Inn has the feeling of an 19th century home it still has all the modern conveniences such as great TV, AC, and wireless internet.

The AC was a bit noisy but we really needed it as the temps topped 90 throughout our stay.

My wife and I loved the Billiard Room which was the scene of our 3 day 2 person Tournament, (she beat me so badly). The room is stocked with beverages such as water, pop & beer all offered at a very nominal fee using a unique "honor" system which is in keeping with the "no locks" on the doors attitude throughout the property.

I really enjoyed challenging the totally restored antique "one armed bandit" slot machine in the billiard room. The common areas are large and very comfortable, perfect for watching TV, playing games or just relaxing with a good book.

The hosts are never in-your-face but are very attentive if you need anything and are glad to offer advice on points of interest or recommendations on restaurants, wineries etc.

The highlight of our stay for me was always the gourmet breakfast. This amazing food is served up in the formal dining room. My wife and I thought we were staying at the Savoy as the ambiance created by the wonderful antique furniture, two-tone wood flooring and soft music playing in the background made each morning something special.

The food was absolutely delicious and presented in such a unique and visually appealing way. They managed to make even simple bacon & eggs a thing of beauty or you could opt for the decadent Creme Brule French Toast or the savory French Fritata. Whichever option you choose the portions are large and I always left the table totally satisfied.

We had a wonderful time at this jewel of Penn Yan, we will certainly be back and happy to bring our friends and family. Thanks to Cliff & Michelle for making our stay an amazing experience, say hi to Emmy and Oz who are their tiny puppy dogs.

Cheers!

John & Kim Robinson

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigideas1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed for six nights. This was our second visit to the Finger Lakes, our first to Penn Yan. Our hosts, Cliff and Michelle were very hospitable and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms attractive and clean and the breakfast outstanding. The Inn itself is in a building built in the 1820's but updated with amenities such as wireless Internet connectivity, in-room TV's and coffee, tea hot chocolate and ice, and a comfortable living room. The area was quiet and within walking distance of a number of excellent restaurants. The B&B was less than a 30 minute drive to some excellent wineries on Lakes Keuka and Seneca. and close to two must-see museums.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifforr, Owner at The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

WOW! Thank you so much for all your kinf wors Sam and Lynette. We loved having you. We hope you come back soon.

Cliff 7 Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The room was charming and clean. Breakfast was very nice. They have a lot of board games and books in the living room, but we didn't take advantage of them. The Inn is in a nice location; not too busy but close enough to walk to the town. It is driving distance to activities on Keuka and Seneca Lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vareyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

the food was excellent, the staff was very friendly and informative of the area attractions, very close to many Wineries, the gounds were clean and the flowers were quite nice and the smell lovely, a very beautiful mansion that was within walking distance to the downtown shops and other establishment, quiet and comfortable, We would very much stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We celebrated our 45 Wedding Anniversary at the Fox Inn. We were surprised with a bottle of wine and a beautiful yellow rose. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was the best. We would definitely stay there again. The front porch was a beautiful place to sit and read or just relax, and the gardens were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Fox Inn Bed and Breakfast is delightful. It's a beautiful, over- a- century year old restored home which is owned and run by Cliff and Michele. The rooms are lovely and had air conditioners in the windows which kept the rooms very cool. (We had high 80,s) Our room was clean, bright and had original pine plank floors. The breakfasts are really unbelieveable. You fill out a "menu" the night before and the choices are varied and suited for anyone's pallet. On top of that, the table is set beautifully and the food is served to each person individually. Cliff and Michele are very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. We really enjoyed spending time on the front porch mornings and evenings with coffee which is always available and watching the Amish go by in their buggies. A truly wonderful place to stay and a great spot to leave from to many interesting and lovely spots on Keuka and Seneca Lakes.

Room Tip: We were in the "Lucy" room and it was light and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night at the Fox Inn and were delighted. It is a beautifully appointed mansion on Main Street. Our hosts have worked out all the details in their long history of running this establishment. We actually got a menu of an incredible variety of breakfast choices that proved to be at least as good as they sounded. The outside has sitting areas and a wonderful rose garden.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastorDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penn Yan hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Penn Yan
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range: $153 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing