We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Polk, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful Stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast for our honeymoon. Wine country was awesome, but the Inn is what made our stay. The bed and breakfast had beautiful grounds to walk around. It offered a nice big front proch to sit on, a nice patio, and a little garden tucked away in the back. The inside had everything you needed for a nice relaxing stay including books to read, board games to play, and even a pool table. Our room was very clean and cozy. We really enjoyed the homemade breakfast the most!! Unlike any other b&b, this one gives you several wonderful breakfast choices. So you are not stuck with one meal that you may or may not like. Cliff and Michele were friendly and very helpful. They are knowledgable about the finger lakes and gave us many suggestions on things to do. My husband and I could not have asked for a more pleasant stay or warmer atmosphere. It was the perfect honeymoon!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
122
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a great place to stay!! Rented the two bedroom suite for a four person girls' trip, and really enjoyed the comfort and luxury of staying in this lovely B & B. Our rooms were beautifully furnished and had all of the comforts of home; bathroom (across the hall but that presented no problem) was quite luxurious with a wonderful shower. Breakfast - absolutely delicious, cooked to order with a wide choice of entree options. Additional features not found in all B & B - coffee/tea, etc. available all day; snacks in our rooms; a lovely gift of fresh cookies given at checkout; and a spacious porch and living areas for relaxing. The town of Penn Yan is a treasure, as is the Fox Inn and its gracious hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

What a wonderful play to stay! I have stayed at The Fox Inn twice now and both times were exceptional! The hospitality, food, and facilities were just perfect!

Thanks to Cliff & MIchelle for being such wonderful hosts! I am sure to go back many times :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Seaville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A great atmosphere for relaxing and entertainment. The staff is very welcoming and pleasant. I found it to be very home like. I was in Penn Yan for business and thought the B&B would be a nice change of pace from a hotel, I was right! Breakfast and coffee was yummy! The grounds and interior were very clean and pleasing, visually. I enjoyed shooting pool, browsing through old books, and playing basketball outside. The location is central to Main Street, providing access to many restuarants and bars that were within walking distance. I also enjoyed my early morning runs through the town, and along a scenic pathway that followed a small brook winding through the village. I hope to come back soon with my wife and friends to enjoy the wine. See you there soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Harry Fox room. This is the only room on the first floor, providing direct access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifforr, Owner at The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thnaks Dave,

Michele & I are looking forward to greeting your wife and friends soon.

Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Fox Inn is beautifully restored and maintained. My friends and I enjoyed the many welcoming touches such as snacks in the room, beverages in the game room, and a variety of high end bath products in the updated bathroom. The breakfast was delicious as were the amazing cookies we were given when we checked out. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifforr, Owner at The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Imcderm,

I am glad you had a great experience with us and I am even happier you love my white chocolate chunk & cranbery cookies.

Please come again soon for another batch!

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

A friend andI spent a second trip to Fox Inn and will go again. We found the inn absolutely decorated perfectly while very comfortable and homey. The locations is right inthemiddle of the finger lakes which is gorgeous with lots to do including countless wineries to try.
In the morning you are greeted with a fabulous breakfast you chose thenightbeforeandall included inthecost of the rooms. I can't say enough about theFox Inn and the two wonderful stays we have had to date so hurry and book, they fill up quickly and then sit backand enjoy.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifforr, Owner at The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hi Susan,

Your decision to return with your friend is the best compliment we can receive.

Thank you for your continued patronage.

Can't wait to see you again.

Cliff & Michele,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

At the end of April, my wife and I enjoyed a great long weekend holiday from Philadelphia to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We stayed at the Fox Inn B&B in the William Oliver Room. It was relaxing and were treated really well. We took full advantage of the hot tub, even invested in Mr. Bubbles! The owners were very knowledgable about where to go for wine tasting and where to get a good dinner. The breakfast was delicious and filling! We hope to go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
21.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing