We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly stop”

Rooster Hill Vineyards
Ranked #10 of 29 things to do in Penn Yan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Rooster Hill Vineyards we set our sights high to grow the very best grapes to make the highest quality wines. We take special care in determining the processes we use to make our wines which have earned us high marks by publications including Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. On our Savine Estate, 4,000 feet of drainage tile is installed to ensure grapes have the best possible conditions to develop their root structure. From these techniques, we can harvest quality grapes that balance between flavor, texture, acid and tannin structure. We truly believe wine is made in the vineyard before it enters our state-of-the-art fermentation process and then control aged in our superlative French and American oak barrels. Enjoy our wines in a variety of ways by visiting our vineyards for tours and tasting room experiences, through our exclusive wine club, at our several events or through purchase on our website. After your visit or first taste, we think you'll know how exquisite our wines are and why we savor, favor and honor them.
Easton
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly stop”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Glad I decided to stop in. Was there during the week, only two other people there which was great. Good fast wine tasting. Pourer was friendly and knowledgable. Great place I would definitely visit again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shamokin Dam, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun stop!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

As part of our Wine & Cheese weekend we stopped at Rooster Hill for the first time, and all six of us agreed we'll come back here every other trip to Seneca Lake! Fun staff, great wine, beautiful place.....win.....win.....WIN!! Try it, you'll like it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great wine and workers!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were very happy we stopped at Rooster Hill. There was a bit of a wait because we went during a busy time of the day - but the employees were so accommodating and thanked us profusely for waiting five minutes (really - that's all - five minutes and we were thanked - it was wonderful!). Some of the wines were a little dry for my taste, but the sweet wines were great! Definitely worth a stop!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KGMB101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the tasting”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

was there yesterday for a tasting. Really liked the wine but the selection as compared to other wineries was not that great. Also, they charge for tasting even if you buy bottles.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Notch Winery”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very friendly staff and excellent wines. The tasting room is beautifully decorated and the outside area has a great view of the lake from the seating area

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Hill Vineyards also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rooster Hill Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing