We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service!”
Review of Colonial Motel

Colonial Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived without a reservation late at night on a Memorial Day wknd, after finding no vacancy anywhere else. Got lucky as this place had a cancellation.

Room was a suite with a fully equipped kitchenette, big renovated bathroom and a separate bedroom. Everything was great!

The owner was super nice and helped us out the next morning with a dead battery ( was an interesting wknd over all :) )

Would definitely return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Grand_Snorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

A step back in time, This place is charming in its own way..outdated in most every way, but clean and quiet. An old fasioned lake motel that is fine if you aren't real fussy. you get a bare bones bathroom with shower stall , but it is clean.
On a hill, with steps to manage...
Needs updated with fresh furniture and paint and a few screens, too...The musty smell is strong, but if the weather allows, you can let in fresh air.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank bbabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here for a night. I will say the room was clean, bed comfortable and lots of places to sit outside. BUT the room smelled old and it was dated, right down to the wood paneled walls.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank KJan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed here several times before but haven't stayed in the cottage efficiency for over 25 years. We stayed in the front part of the cottage (#23) over the memorial day weekend. We were thrilled. The front half of the cottage consists of a kitchenette with a stove, oven, microwave, full sized refrigerator, coffee maker and toaster and several cabinets stocked with dishes, pans, silverware, cooking utensils and glasses including wine glasses for the wine you may purchase while you're here in the heart of Finger Lakes Wine Country. There is a comfortable full size bed complete with a handmade quilt, and a full sized recliner sofa and upholstered rocker in the living area. There is a small table covered with a vintage cloth tablecloth with 2 wooden chairs right beside a large window that over looks the small porch outside the front door and large leafy trees by the porch where you can watch the birds perch and sing. It has a red, white and blue theme that is cottage charming. There are several large windows for letting the sun shine in. There is air conditioning and a large fan was available as well but we just used the air conditioner which kept the room comfortable, although the a/c was a little noisy so it might not be best for those who are light sleepers but we slept very soundly. Even though there is another suite on the other half of the cottage we never heard any noise from the other occupants. We absolutely enjoyed our stay there and would try to get this cottage suite again in the future if it is available. The owner explained that it get booked early so an early reservation would be necessary to snag this one. Everything was clean and fresh smelling. No smoking is allowed in any of their rooms although smokers can go outside to smoke if they choose to do so. The place is quiet and well maintained. It is an excellent choice for a relaxing and peaceful get away for a couple. There are many wineries in the area to visit as well as shopping, quaint shoppes, museums, the lakes and many other attractions.

Room Tip: I recommend the cottage for a lovely couples stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gogranny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We just returned from our annual family trip to Penn Yan to visit with family. Some of the group stayed with our family, but some of us stayed at the Colonial. We always have a good experience when staying there and it is literally across the street from our relatives, so the location is perfect.
Rooms are clean and while I would love to see things freshened up a bit, we love it there.
Thanks!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
5  Thank JMcVeigh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The location is great if you like bodies of water. The rooms were clean and are kept that way. It is a nice place but is worn and lost the crispiness of new things. Price is very reasonable. It is a big place for the small family to run. Like all people the owners have there days.
All things considered well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newstar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

What a great place, charming clean rooms, wonderful and helpful owners, and a great price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apmcpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
18.5 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Penn Yan
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 1756 W Lake Rd, Penn Yan, NY 14527-8905
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic motel with cozy, quaint charm. Located across from the shores of beautiful Keuka Lake. We provide a comfortable setting with kitchenettes, and beautiful views ! If you're looking for a place to stay that is beautiful, tranquil, and reasonably priced, a small family owned business, we're for you ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing