We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway for any occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loose Moose Lodge Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loose Moose Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great getaway for any occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This was a perfect place to stay for our one year wedding anniversary! Growing up in Vermont, log cabins are what everyone dreams of owning so it was great to stay in one. The owners are so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is my favorite meal ever and they did it wonderfully; waffles with REAL syrup (again, I'm from vermont) Greek yogurt with berries and granola, frittata and bacon, delicious! Definitely highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great place, great value, wonderful location and warm and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are simply amazing. The advice on local attractions and directions were most helpful. Dennis and Jennine go the extra mile to insure their guests are comfortable and cared for. They made the trip memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the Keuka in Bloom wine tour. Between the two of us, we didn't have much B&B experience but based on the reviews, decided to give The Loose Moose a try. We are so glad we did! From the friendly faces of the vineyards to our gregarious hosts, Jennine & Dennis, this past weekend was one we wont soon forget. We can't say enough about the Loose Moose. The only other place we've experienced such warm hospitality like that was in the south.

Before we left on Sunday, Jennine & Dennis made a huge, awesome breakfast that we shared family style around a nice big table with them and another couple. Conversation was great. We definitely felt like family when we left.

One of the biggest draws for us was Scout, the couples lab/husky mix. What a beautiful dog!! We just loved him.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Northwoods room and loved it. Seems to me that you really couldn't go wrong wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I'll start this with the caveat that these observations and review are more related to our personal choices and expectations, so that others with similar desires can make a informed choice; I apologize for the delay in posting this review. We usually stay at an Inn in the Hammondsport area, but wanted to try something new. Location is good, just outside Penn Yan, and booking process, communications were efficient. Upon our arrival, we followed the long driveway up to the property. First impressions are sometimes lasting ones, so we weren't sure what to make of the abandoned, clearly not running VW bug on the side of the driveway, overgrown with weeds. We were met by Dennis and Scout, the owners large and energetic dog. As we were led up to the front entrance, we again were a bit puzzled by all the "stuff" on the front porch...it looked like a garage sale or the entrance to one of the many local antique shops. Since this is the first thing guests see, maybe there could be a better place for it all. Interior of the home is beautiful, room was nicley finished with nice furnishings and large bathroom. After unpacking, we left to go to town. Dennis advised us to "watch out for the dog's cable, don't trip". Scout apparently spends a lot of time at the entrance to the front porch, and his tie out cable is draped across the porch and stairs, along with blankets and other dog stuff. Now, we are both dog lovers and owners, but how about moving Scout and all his stuff off the front porch so guests don't have to worry about tripping over everything? To summarize this, Dennis and Jennine are very nice people, the location and room were excellent, but there are a few things that one should know prior to making the choice to stay here. While this is a "Bed and Breakfast", you are really staying in someone's home, with the resulting lack of privacy. Our room was located on the second floor, directly across from the owner's bedroom, and coming out of our room in the evening, we could look down and had to pass the owners sitting in the open living room watching TV. Breakfast is served "family style" at a large table, with no choice for couples like ourselves to have a quiet table for two (at least we were not offered it), and since the table was already set for six, we can only assume this is the norm. I thing it's important to get out there that my girl and and I are by no means anti-social; we always try to stay at smaller, intimate lodgings, but this whole thing was a little too "hostel" like for us. We both like to have some "quiet time" in the morning with our first cup of coffee, which was hard to do while being asked where are you from and what do you do for a living. Again, this is our personal take on the Loose Moose, and by no means should take away from the positives I have mentioned. Personal issues of a serious nature at home required that we leave a night early, but we both agreed that this probably wasn't the place for us, and we'll be returning to our regular Inn this summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our first impression of the lodge was as we saw it online and more . Of course we were "announced' by Scout on our arrival. We were greeted warmly by our hosts Dennis and Jennine and led to our room. It wasn't long before we were deep in conversation with them as if we knew them for a long time. Prior to our arrival we had concerns on allergy issues and they were all addressed thoroughly. Being only our second B&B we've tried we were very impressed with their willingness to satisfy. It definitely served us well to be able to enjoy some relaxation. We also have to laud their honesty when we left without a couple of important items and were promptly called by Jennine who quickly sent them to us by mail. To Jennine and Dennis we owe a debt of gratitude. You will enjoy a stay here!!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with either room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed August 15th (sorry it took me so long to write this review!). From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed not as guests but as friends by Dennis and Scout, later to be joined by Jennine and her spot on recommendations of the local activities (sunset dinner by Lake Keuka!)

If you are initially hesitant to stay in a B&B, don't be when it comes to Loose Moose. We were initially a bit skeptical before we arrived about how this would compare to a hotel stay as this was our first B&B, but there was the perfect balance between friendliness and privacy. The rooms were immaculate, the beds comfy - we slept soundly! That is, after unwinding with some of the massive movie collection that Jennine collected on the DVR. Only regret was not having one of their cookies before bed as we heard they were outstanding.

The next morning, Dennis cooked up a delicious feast with as much bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, juice and coffee as you could handle. One of the other guests had a few food restrictions, but Dennis accommodated her and she seemed quite pleased as well.

When it came time to leave and explore the wineries, we were sad to leave our new friends and their home. Coming from New York City, this was such a peaceful and de-stressing environment. We had grown quite fond of Scout, the gentle giant of a dog who acts as the doorbell and first jolly greeter.

The rest of the weekend we stayed in a subpar hotel in Ithaca, and we missed the Loose Moose so much that we joked that maybe Scout would sense that we wanted rescuing, and that he would bring Dennis to come get us! Nostalgia is a good indicator of a great stay, I guess. Hope to see you again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Many thanks to Dennis & Jeanine for a beautiful retreat, sweet cookie treats, and a delicious breakfast! The accommodations were comfortable, cozy, & clean and the cabin they've built is beautiful. I highly recommend their gem of a bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
7.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
4.9 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
6.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
8.2 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loose Moose Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loose Moose Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Loose Moose Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2669 Sturdevant Rd, Penn Yan, NY 14527-9401
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log home in the heart of the Finger Lakes. We are minutes away from the Keuka Lake wine trail and the Windmill. We are only 20 minutes away from Watkins Glen and Hammondsport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loose Moose Lodge Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing