We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Homely B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“Wonderful and Homely B and B”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This B and B was the best we have ever stayed at. The attention to detail and the hospitality that Laurel and Llewelyn provided us from the moment we pulled into the driveway was unbelievable. The place is beautiful and so very comfortable. It is absolutely clean. The bedroom and the bathroom were spotless and the shower in our room was great. Laurel gave us a great recommendation for dinner at Ports Cafe. If you have a chance, grab dinner here. It was delicious. The breakfast spread that Laurel gave was incredible. The french toast was the best we have ever had. Overall the stay was truly wonderful. The owners are passionate about their place and go out of their way to make your stay there the very best. Thank you Laurel and Llewelyn. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSTN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
186
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

How much do we love La Belle Vie? Well, we just made our third visit to this outstanding bed and breakfast inn! My partner and I live about two hours away from the Finger Lakes region. Whenever we get a chance to do some wine-touring, we head to central New York State and the village of Penn Yan. Laurel and Llewellyn are the consummate B&B hosts. The inn is visually stunning, the guest rooms are well-appointed and very comfortable, and the breakfasts are the superb. We have been to many B&Bs throughout the U.S. and Canada (over fifty and counting), and we cannot recommend La Belle Vie too highly. The village of Penn Yan is charming, and we have enjoyed walking to nearby cafes (most recently a classic diner) in the evening. The location is absolutely central for exploring wineries on Keuka and Seneca Lakes and beyond. Laurel and Llewellyn are great storytellers and have much helpful information for guests. Rather than go on and on about the food, I am going to attach several photos from our recent visit, including some spectacular breakfast offerings. If you are considering a visit to the central Finger Lakes, look no further for an idyllic B&B inn - this is it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Woodland room at La Belle Vie in the winter. The accommodations were great - the room was clean, quiet, and warm and the bathroom had nice modern amenities. Laurel's breakfasts were excellent (and quite filling) each morning. You can tell that Laurel and Llewellyn really enjoy what they do - they were happy to talk with us each morning about what we'd done the previous day, provide recommendations on restaurants or things to do, share their own stories, etc. They were very accommodating and always made sure we had everything we needed. I felt as though I was staying with family instead of strangers. I'd absolutely recommend La Belle Vie for a quiet, relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: The Woodland room is farthest from the other rooms and would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Laurel and Liewellyn have created a paradise filled with beautiful historical architecture, gourmet food, lovely rooms, but most important to me and my husband, they are passionate about their bed and breakfast and providing their guests with a high quality experience.
This by far, in all the years that we have travelled, was the most incredible experience with a bed and breakfast. I have never seen my husband so relaxed and animated as he was with Laurel and Liewellyn.
To me, that is a testament to the friendly atmosphere they create for their guests. As the previous reviews have indicated, the breakfasts are scrumptious! Coffee was ready before breakfast (important to me) and extra baked cookies and sweet treats were available for guests as a snack before bedtime. My husband especially loved the baked goods.
We stayed in the Ridley room for the sole purpose of the beautiful balcony, and it was a perfect for for us- beautiful furnishings and a most beautiful bathroom- plenty of hot water and strong water pressure. I loved the wine coolers in the room. We also loved viewing the Amish ride their buggies up and down the street from our balcony, not to mention, it is a perfect place for a nightcap.
Laurel and Liewellyn took care of our reservations at The Union Block at Esperanza, printed our boarding passes, offered additonal suggestions for restaurants, wineries, and things to do in the area. Their personal service is incredible, and we truly appreciated their efforts in making our experience one of the best.

Room Tip: The Ridley Room with the Balcony is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkcole55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in mid-December. Everything about our experience -- from inquiring about the room through until we had to leave was excellent. Laurel and Llewellyn are wonderful hosts and great folks. We were the only guests there during our stay and were treated royally. Our two breakfasts were fantastic in presentation, taste and quantity, and we also enjoyed the conversations with our hosts.

We stayed in the Ridley room, and it was very nicely furnished, very clean, comfortable bed and chairs. The bathroom was newly remodeled I think and everything worked well. Plenty of closet and storage space. There was a small TV that worked well, and the free WIFI had a very strong signal.

We didn't spend any time downstairs, as there were no other guests to chat with, and by the time we got back from visiting several wineries we were kind of beat. But the architecture and decor was unique, and in excellent condition.

We were able to walk to dinner each night at a local restaurant, it's a very convenient location.

Our only regret was not being able to stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just had a great weekend at the La Belle Vie B&B. Our rooms were spacious, the breakfasts were incredible and our host were so pleasant. La Belle is only 2 blocks from "Downtown". We were are able to walk 10 minutes to dinner and take our morning walk around town. This was a great location to visit the Keuka Lake Wine Trail too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our kids and their spouses joined us for a stay at La Belle Vie. Terrific experience! Laurel and Llewelyn are top flight innkeepers...very personable and informative. The house is beautiful with great attention to detail. The food was well prepared and beautifully served. The stay really made our wine tour complete. We highly recommend La Belle Vie!

Room Tip: The McIntosh room is very comfortable with a nice private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
19.0 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
290 reviews
21.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Address: 208 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1714
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Vie B&B. Vintage 1865 Victorian in Historic District of village. All rooms feature period decor, antiques, queen bed, desk, and comfortable chairs. Also A/C, cable TV/DVD/CD player and Wi-Fi in every room. En suite bathrooms newly renovated. Beautiful private grounds with croquet and badminton available. Plenty of off-street parking and free Tesla charging stations! Five-minute walk along Main Street to village center including museums, shops, bookstores, restaurants, churches, and the Keuka Outlet Trail. Many wineries, antique shops, farms and lakes within a short, pleasant drive from this heart of the Finger Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing